Customer Reviews for

The Complaints (Malcolm Fox Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ian Rankin Is Back

No complaints about his latest novel, The Complaints. Since he stopped his John Rebus series, Rankin in my mind has struggled to find his footing. He gets it with this new novel involving detectives who investigate other cops who fall prey to Edinburgh's grimy underworl...
No complaints about his latest novel, The Complaints. Since he stopped his John Rebus series, Rankin in my mind has struggled to find his footing. He gets it with this new novel involving detectives who investigate other cops who fall prey to Edinburgh's grimy underworld.

posted by KenCady on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fox is good, but no Rebus

I read it and liked it well enough. If Fox is going to be in a series, I do hope that Ian Rankin gives him more depth than I think he has given Fox in this book. He certainly is the opposite of Rebus --- no drink, no dark thoughts, and something else is missing, I just ...
I read it and liked it well enough. If Fox is going to be in a series, I do hope that Ian Rankin gives him more depth than I think he has given Fox in this book. He certainly is the opposite of Rebus --- no drink, no dark thoughts, and something else is missing, I just can't put my finger on what it is. Perhaps I was just put off a bit by the department where he works as an inspector. It seems just a bit too different from the way Rebus operated, and unfortunately Fox is going to be compared with Rebus no matter what.

posted by AnonMI on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    REVIEWED: BARBARA LIPKIEN GERSHENBAUM Ian Rankin is best known for his Detective John Rebus procedurals. When several years ago he decided to retire his alcoholic, loner of a superb cop, fans were up in arms. How and with whom could Rankin replace this loveable-unlovable anti-hero? But as time went on and the writer offered a couple of stand-alone novels he finally found a new hero: Malcolm "Foxy" Fox. He never thought of him self as a fox. "'A bear of a man' . was the way one of his previous bosses had described him. Slow but steady, and only occasionally to be feared.'" He worked at "Lothian and Borders Police HQ" in the Conduct and Corrections department. In the US they are referred to as Internal Affairs. Whether in Scotland or America their colleagues do not trust this group and they are hated for being snoops and thought of as turncoats ratting on their own. Malcolm Fox has a lot to deal with. First is maintaining his five-year feat of beating his alcoholism. He lives alone and cannot forgive himself for hitting his wife before she walked out. His instincts are sharp and he is very intuitive. Also on his plate is also is father who is in a nursing home he pays for and a depressed alcoholic sister whose partner, Vince Faulkner, is a batterer he can't get her to leave. Then one night the guy doesn't come home. He's been murdered and the complex plot of THE CORRECTIONS moves into high gear. Faulkner was a construction worker on a site that lost its funding and was palling around with know hoodlums. He was found bludgeoned to death and stabbed on one of the deserted building sites. While it really is not Foxy's job to solve this crime he can't help but hear things and put the bits together which lead to cops involved in underhanded dealings. That's where he must work to solve the disparate crimes and find criminals even if they lead to cops he knows. Foxy starts an investigation of his own into the death and soon finds himself on suspension. This doesn't stop him. As a matter of fact, the Child Protection-Child Exploitation and Online Protection another unit buried deep within the corrections, targets another policeman. They are thought of as "the Chop Shop" or "the dark side" which is run by a woman Foxy has a passing friendly romantic interlude with. But when he finds out how she betrayed him he dismisses her. The target of her investigation is Detective Jamie Breck. They think he is involved in a child pornography ring located in Australia. Ironically he is teamed up with Foxy whose mission is to investigate him. But ironically he and Breck like each other and become a team operating on their own. He too is put on suspension so the two men spend a lot of time together. Rankin is a master at plots and characters. THE CORRECTIONS is a complex and challenging book with a strong storyline. The plot races and tension rises as readers are lured into that place where they just can't wait to turn the page. Foxy is a strong character that is well honed and can carry a series.In an interview Rankin said, "Malcolm Fox is the antithesis of Rebus." THE CORRECTIONS is a tightly woven story of good vs. evil but with a glance at the brighter side of life too.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Good Characters, lots of twists and turns

    I liked the characters. Story was good, but a bit too long with a couple too many twists and turns. I would read another by this author. Liked the Scottish setting and Scottish terms used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Worth Your Time

    I truly enjoyed the story and the characters. The best part was the skill with which the author kept the varios plotlines juggled without seeming to do so. KUDOS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good

    Good murder mystery book, keeps you guessing. Characters are engrossing and well developed. I'd recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Great new series by Ian Rankin. Although Malcolm Fox isn't as good as Inspector Rebus, he comes in at a pretty close second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1