Customer Reviews for

The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great collection :)

    This is a great handbook for aromatherapy! There are tons of recipes. The only problem I've found is that sometimes it'll state that a particular oil is good for a certain ailment but won't tell you how much to use or how to use it. Some do, but others are more general like that. But it definitely has the most information of any of my books and is a great beginner book as well as one for people who are familiar with aromatherapy already. It would be a great gift for anyone who is interested in it but doesn't know where to start.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Practical Aromatherapy

    Valerie Ann Woodward takes a practical approach in her informative book on aromatherapy. Being very educational, there is something for everyone at every level. She not only gives instruction on the essential oils themselves, but also the application of these oils. Included are easy-to-follow recipes formulas for a number of conditions. A great resource on the art of aromatherapy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book has changed my life!

    I love this book...without it I do not know how I would make my daily mixtures of essential oils to diffuse. They are so wonderful and this book has everything about them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Must Have

    This is an excellent book for the beginner and for the seasoned user of oils. It is easy to read and understand, well organized and excellent directions. No frills just absolutely excellent information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Wonderful Resource

    I purchased this edition of The Complete Book of Essential Oils & Aromatherapy to replace my worn out copy of a previous edition. I would not be without this wonderful resource and tool. It is well written and addresses most health and wellness issues that I have experienced. Thank you Ms. Wormwood for this great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I LOVE this book!

    I have owned this book for 13 years! I use it nearly every single day. It is helpful and easy to understand for beginners or hobbyist like me. It is excellent for every day use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must have for every household, from beginner to the every day user!

    Although I already have a ton of books, several on essential oils, my book addiction led me to buy yet another book, and oh, how happy I am that I did. This book will be my new refernce when ailments hit our house. She has very straight forward, easy to understand dosing recommendations and doesn't get too complicated. Her approach to health is also nice, while not too "earthy and granola" but not a supporter of eating fast food daily. Kind of 'East Meets West', which is what I personally follow. I think its particularly a good book for parents of little ones, ages 6 and under. Since medications for little children have been pulled off the shelf by the FDA, many parents might have been left feeling helpless and lost. Essential oils DO WORK and are safer than drugging them up. For a book that is shy of being 20 years old, its very up-to-date and timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    My #1 Go-To Resource

    This is the first resource I turn to when I want to change my mood, amp up or turn down my energy, prepare for an interview, etc. In fact, it even has a 'do and don't' list of oils for job interviews! Covering a wide range of emotional & physical states, environments, and situations, it's broad enough to cover any need I've had. It provides a list of essential oils for particular rooms, ailments, mental states, etc., usually 10 or so to allow you to create your own blends, as well as her own synergystic blends of 3-4 oils each. The details provided for the nature & effects of each oil have allowed me to create my own 'recipes' and to keep a record of their effects on me and on those I've made for others. This is the first book I'd recommend for anyone considering or already using essential oils.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2005

    Love It!!

    I LOVE this book! It has helped me so much with all the little stuff like stress relief and of course minor irritations. I started Aromatherapy as a hobby because it worked each time I used it and now I am looking to get certified. This is also great for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Wonderful Book on Aromatherapy

    I think this book is a great guide into the world of aromatherapy. It definatly convinced me of the benefits of essential oils. It contains many recipes. It not only discusses the oils, but actually is divided into sections on their uses, such as beauty, skin care, children and much more. A great reference book for the practitioner but also easy to understand for someone just starting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    Great Book!!!

    This is the first book I bought on Aromatherapy and it has recipes for just about anything you can think of, most of which use only a few of the basic oils so that way if you're a beginner you don't have to spend a fortune. It also has a small section on traveling which is very useful since I travel overseas quite frequently. I recommend this book to anyone who's into aromatherapy whether you're a beginner or a professional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    FIRST AND FAVORITE!

    THIS WAS THE FIRST BOOK I ACQUIRED ON AROMATHERAPY. I HAVE RECEIVED THREE MORE AS GIFTS, BUT I CONSTANTLY RETURN TO THIS ONE FOR THE ABUNDANCE OF INFORMATION IN IT. IT IS DEFINITLY WORTH PURCHASING IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN LEARNING ABOUT ESSENTIAL OILS AND AROMATHERAPY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1