Customer Reviews for

Complete Chronicles of Narnia

Average Rating 5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Some of my favorite books!

    I read The Chronicles of Narnia for the first time when I was nine and cried when I finished them because the books were so vivid, Narnia felt so real, that I didn't want the books to end. Since then, I've read them several more times---not always in order, and sometimes just for certain moments I want to relive---and I always find something new to enjoy.

    I will say, though, that as beautiful an edition of the series as this is, I prefer the original ordering to this new chronological-within-Narnia order. Not only does the original order allow readers to follow the Pevensie children's adventures before introducing them to Narnia's past and future, it places Aslan's sacrifice and resurrection---the essential point of the books' Christian allegory---in its proper spot: first and as the primary event around which all the other allegorical events revolve.

    That original order for anyone who might be interested: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; The Horse and His Boy; The Magician's Nephew; The Last Battle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Fantasy Tale

    The actual book itself is well put together. Good binding, even has a cloth page marker. The cover art is a nice map of Narnia and surrounding lands. Kids will like the art on nearly every page of the book to help them visualize the story.

    The Narnia series is one of the best fantasy stories ever written. There is a strong undercurrent of Christian beliefs in the storyline complete with a Messiah figure, a traitor, a sacrifice etc and that is just in the first story. This is a phenomenal read for children and adults alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    a must have for any book shelf!!!

    I COULDN'T WAIT TO GET THIS. WHEN IT CAME I WAS SO HAPPY! THE PICTURES ARE BEAUTIFUL. IT WAS WELL WRITTEN. AND IT ARRIVED IN PERFECT CONDITION!!! IT WAS SHIPPED IN A FAST MANNER AND I AM VERY GRATEFUL! LIKE I SAID THIS IS A MUST FOR ANY HOME LIBRARY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    There's A Reason This Book Is A Classic

    Unlike many, I did not read the Chronicles of Narnia when I was a child. I am almost 25 years old and I'm reading these delightful stories for the first time because my book club decided to read "The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe" for our next meeting. Lewis brings his captivating writing style to a child's level and engages children of every age into his story. There is wit, adventure and deep spiritual lessons sewn into these stories. I would recommend this for anyone!
    I'm also happy that I purchased the hardcover with the illustrations. It makes the book feel more magical than a regular old paper back book. I look forward to passing this book along to my children and grandchildren.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A beautiful edition of a classic

    I received this as a baptism gift for my son, and have used it for the same. C.S. Lewis' Narnia classics, bound together in a beautiful edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    If you like adventures, well this one is my favorite of all time!

    Takes you the world of narnia. Nania is a totally differnt world from ours it is desribed as perect compared to ours. This seris is considered one of the best ever next to lord of the rings! Gotta read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    best book series ever!!!

    this book was fabulous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    WICKED

    i RELLY ENJOID THIS BOOK EVERY TIME I REED THIS BOOK I NEVER GET BORED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    A Masterful Masterpiece, An Overwhelming Oeuvre, the Rapturing Read: Lewis' Gem for Humanity

    When I first read the Chronicles of Narnia, I was ravished by the masterful poetry of the words, which weaved together in simple prose aimed for any human, regardless of age. I was in the fourth grade, and never found out about any Chronicle other than the Magician's Nephew. Seeing it one day, I was instantly captivated by the title The Horse and His Boy. Another Chronicle?! The masterful Knight would take me yet again on a trip through Narnia, Archenland and even down as far as Calormen, yet again. But what took me by surprise was that there were seven books. Delighted by Lewis' theological discourse as seen through the eyes of fiction and young boys and girls, I skipped the obtaining of the individual novels, and bought this beautiful edition. I read through it at least twice, from book one to seven. As soon as I finished it the first time, I felt hurt at parting with all my beloved friends, and felt a deep relationship with them, no doubt due to C. S. Lewis' beautiful language. Reading it the second time was nevertheless an exciting experience, an one which I love to live over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    completly magical

    tells an awsom tale that will leave you wanting for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    A treasure

    The book is absolutly georgeous! The illistrations are extremly wonderful...and it's set up so it is a wonderful storytelling book to children. It's also nice that all of the books in the collection are in this one book. Would definitly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magicians Nephew

    The book I am reviewing is The Chronicles of Narnia: The Magicians Nephew. I thought the book was really good. The book is about a boy and girl. The boy's uncle sent them to a magical place with many portals to worlds using black magic. I liked this book because it is an adventure story with characters that are very strange. I also liked it because it kept me guessing for the big parts, it also had strange magical things happen a lot. One thin I didn't like was that the people were from London, so it was hard to understand them. Overall, I think this was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Perfect Gift!

    I was introduced to the world of Narnia in Middle School and although I only read one volume of the series I was always intrigued by the other books. 10 years have passed and I my brother surprised me this Christmas with this wonderful and enriching book. I couldn't believe it... This is the best way to not only read the complete chronicles of narnia but to preserve them. I highly recomend everyone to make it a must holiday gift... or birthday present for children and adults with an endless imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    These books are TOTALLY AWESOME

    I was surprised how good these books were, even my mom liked them! My favorites ones are probably The Magicians Nephew, and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Read the whole series!!!!!!!!!! And read them IN ORDER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    A World of Wonder for Young and Old Alike

    As a child, the Chronicles of Narnia were my favorite. As an adult, they are still my favorite. Step into the wardrobe, and you will enter a world of wonder, where animals can talk, trees can walk, mermaids swim in the seas, unicorns befriend kings, stars sing in the night skies, and where children are heroes. All of the enchantment of faerie tales and dragontails can be found here. Children, young and old alike, can step out of their homes and into another world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    Breathtaking!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    An enchanting series that just leaves you wanting more! You cannot close any of the books without being captivated by Lewis's genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    wow!

    this was the best book i've ever read. i love adventure stories so this book fit me very well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Outstanding, this book was great!!!!!

    Great!, I couldn'd put it down! C.S. Lewis has done an astonishing job with The Chronicles of Narnia, and I love the way that Harper Collins has made a colorful, one volume hardcover edition of these awsome books! I liked it so much that I read the whole thing in just 8 days! I plan to get another volume of this book because I used the other one so much thats its falling apart!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    It Is GREAT!!!

    All of these books (the Chronicles of Narnia) are soooo awesome! I love fantasy books, and these make you feel that they ARE real...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2002

    A classic

    This series takes the reader on a trip that surpasses the imagination. It forces us to leave our world and enter this inquisitive new that C.S. Lewis has created. It both entertains and baffles the mind and yet it is not too complex that even the youngest of minds can grasp. A must read and to be shared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4