Customer Reviews for

The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Collected Poems by Maya Angelou

    I gave this book as a Christmas gift book to my mom. She loves this authors writings and her Poems. Maya Angelou has a spirtial and southern type<BR/>of writing that gives the readers the feeling of being some place else in<BR/>time. These poems have a way of making you stop and reread what you read<BR/>and understand the individuality of each of our hearts and souls. It is <BR/>a great poem book written by a great author. My mom loved the Christmas gift and I would recommend it to any who loves poetry.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    An absolutely beautiful book

    Maya is truly one of the greatest poets of our time. Her work is brilliant. She has such a beautiful insight within her and a passion that literally shines through in all of her books. This book is fantastic. Thank you Maya, for sharing your amazing words.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    GREAT!

    i BELIEVE THAT Maya Angelou is a great poet. My favorite poem is 'still I rise' and I think shes amazing!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Real...Raw...Uncut

    Real...Raw...Uncut Maya Angelou is a very profound and perceptive writer, Through her poetry, For me she has done something that almost nobody has... She spoke the truth, She was real, raw, and uncut she tells she tells it like it is. She speaks about a lot of historical and cultural realities, things that African Americans should always be conscious of such as, slavery, segregation, torture, and discrimination. She also talks about striving from our past, encouraging us to go even farther, working harder, and becoming more. What impressed me the most is the fact that she is painfully and plainly honest. She is blunt with a pinch of brashness and I love it. This book inspired me to be the best ⿿Me⿝ that I can, by educating myself and bettering myself in honor of my ancestors, and to prove everybody wrong who judge African Americans inferior.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Maya Is The Person Inside Of Me

    I just have to say this book is overwhelming I love it. The poems are so great Maya writes with such passion and feeling. She can make you relate to everything she says and I just wanna thank her for that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Beautifullly Written

    I was hooked the first time I ever read Phenomenal Woman and have been very interested in her work ever since. I enjoy the poems most, and hope she continues to write.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Perfect - exactly what I wanted

    The book of poems is exactly what I wanted and it was delivered in good condition and very fast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    R.I.P.

    REST IN PEACE MS."ANGEL"OU

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    wonderful collection

    Absolutely wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Anonymous May 11,2013

    Maya Angelou is my most favorite poem writer and I loooooooooooooooooooove her inspirational advice.She has inspired me to do things I could never do and I hope she inspires you,too.Maya Angelou,YOU ARE A PHENOMANAL WOMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    P.S. I am your BIGEST fan!

    Love,
    I can't tell you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    I LOVE HER POETRY AND THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME REDEFINE'S BEAUTIFUL

    I am a fan of Maya Angelou and wish her good health and luck. I read this book countless times and i am still finding new things when i read it again i love it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    How was it?

    It was aight if you wanna know that badly.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Soul Filling!!!

    When my mom bought this book for me I couldn't put it down. I read some poems twice because they gave me inspiration to write. Her poems touched my life in an uplifting way. She is a very excellent writer. Go out and buy the book trust me it's worth it to have in your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    Amazing

    I have always been moved by her poetry, for it seems to flow with a life of its own. All of the poems here are nothing short of breathtaking and are highly recomended to anyone reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2000

    Th woman is a GOD!

    I have never in my life read such wonders. I am amazed beyond belief. If I ever had the opportunty to meet the author of such a outstanding collection of treasures it would be priceless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3