Customer Reviews for

Complete Greatest Hits

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best of the "hits" packages

    Gordon Lightfoot never made a bad album and each of them is worth owning but when it comes to a greatest hits CD, this is the one to own. This CD does have all his best known songs, but don't be surprised if you find yourself longing for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gordon Lightfoot, Complete Greatest Hits

    Wonderful! This was a Christmas present for my husband and he loves this CD. Everything about this CD is outstanding. Anyone who enjoys Gordon Lightfoot's music should own this CD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    This is Gordon Lightfoot at his finest. I have been a fringe-fan of his for many years, but listening to this compilation has made me appreciate his musical ability so much more. The songs "Beautiful" and "Canadian Railroad Trilogy" are awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow! :0)

    This collection has been my introduction into the musical realms of Gordon Lightfoot. Actually, I checked it out from the library recently, and hated taking it back! As soon as I sampled the very first few tracks (after skipping to "Sundown", which I believe is the first song of his I've ever heard), I immediately knew that I had found treasure. What a remarkable feeling, indeed! Tracks like: "For Lovin' Me", "The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald", "Carefree Highway", are all amazing songs that I've heard before, at the grocery store, on the radio, but I never knew who did them. I'm definitely looking forward to hearing more of Mr. Lightfoot. The songs on this cd are truly unforgettable! I even wake up with the words on my tongue. Being a Poet, I caught onto his lyrics real fast, and really dig the words and rhymes. But the music, Ah! the music...it's haunting, and beautiful, Lightfoot's vocals are both rugged and soothing...I'm just really glad I caught on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    At Last --- The Definitive Lightfoot Introduction!

    [Full disclosure: I produced this album (which is to say ''compiled from finished masters''; I didn't actually set foot in a studio) and wrote the liner notes, as well as having co-produced the Lightfoot 4-cd box set Songbook (which I recommend shamelessly). Please course-correct as you feel appropriate.] The inherent hazard in putting together a collection from as prolific and talented an artist as Gordon Lightfoot (not that one often has the chance, mind you --- there aren't many in his class out there) is that, invariably, something gets lost. With room for only 20 tracks on the record, I wasn't even able to pick one song for every year he's been performing; of course some very fine material got left off. I hate it when that happens. My natural inclination would have been to call the record ¿Gordon Lightfoot: An Overview,¿ but my inner marketing geek (as well as every other marketing geek at Rhino) told me it wasn't nearly as compelling a title. The thinking behind the disc was to assemble a single disc with all the Billboard charting hits from both the UA/EMI and WB/Reprise years, plus a smattering of the FM turntable hits and later work. Its purpose was to offer the casual fan something approaching one-stop shopping. Previously, one had to buy Gord's Gold, Gord's Gold 2 and one of the many EMI compilations to amass all the hits. Its second intended function was to serve as a point of entry for someone who has recently encountered Gordon's work for the first time and doesn't know exactly where to begin. I hope and believe it serves those two purposes admirably, or at the very least, adequately. The sound producer, Bill Inglot, worked his customary magic on the tracks that hadn't been upgraded for the Songbook box set; he has just completed similar magic on Shadows and Salute, which will make their belated CD debut in August 2002 (I just approved the refs last week). Whatever flaws reside in the disc can be attributed to me, and whatever is good about it can be laid at the feet of several people, not the least of whom is Mr. Lightfoot his own self. My greatest hope is that this disc will inspire you to dig deeper into the rich vein of Lightfoot's art and craft. He truly is a Canadian (and American, in the broadest sense of the word) treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1