Customer Reviews for

Complete Guide to Quilting (Better Homes and Gardens)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Everything You need to know about Quilting

    This is an excellent book for beginners. I have been quilting for some time and I still refer back to this book when I need help with some project. I have it in the hard cover with the spiral binding.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Great Book!

    Wonderful book. Covers everything you need to know about quilting -- tools needed, cutting, piecing 'machine and paper', blocks, applique, stitches, batting, backing, quilting, estimating fabric. I felt so knowledgeable when I was done. I have read other books but they pale in comparison to the comprehensive content in this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Fantastic Book

    I have this book and it covers everything you need to know about quilting. If this is all I had it would be enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Quilters Reference Guide

    A good reference guide for every quilter. A lot of beautiful photos, easy to follow directions, and tips in every section. There is a place for your notes at the end of each chapter. The book discusses everything you need, from pins and needles to setting up your workstation to finishing off the quilt. A chapter on hand-quiling as well as machine quilting is included. A great chapter on Applique'.

    I have sewn clothes, but never quilted. When I lost my job, one of my new goals (besides job hunting!) was to make a quilt. I am hand-quilting, and although a challenge (which I was looking for!), it is relaxing for me.

    Not included in the book are stencils for the quilting and/or border. As previously mentioned, I am doing ALL by hand, so was looking for a rope stencil pattern, a vine stencil pattern, and a flower stencil pattern.

    The chapters are color coded, unfortunately, the colors repeat (3 times!), so when I say how I can't wait to reach sage green chapter, I mean the finishing and the binding, not the planning stage of the quilt!

    That said, this book is a very good reference guide which I will have for a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Exceptional book for novice quilters and a great reference for seasoned quilters

    I can't recommend this book highly enough. I am lucky enough to have it in hard cover and wanted a copy to give as a gift to a friend who is just starting to quilt. The illustrations are beautiful and the instructions are easy to follow and can serve as a nice refresher when you haven't used a particular technique for a while.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book to be very helpful. It is written in layman's terms - easy to understand. I would recommend it to the first time quilter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Complete Guide to Quilting

    Handy book to have when learning how to quilt. Keep it by your sewing machine and you'll have the answer to your question in no time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    This is without a doubt the best quilting book I have ever used. The pictures are beautiful. The instructions are easy to follow. I liked this book so much that I gave my copy to my step-daughter and bought another for myself. My step-daughter

    showed the book to a friend of hers that had been quilting for 30+ years, and the friend agreed it was an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Just the reference book I needed

    I was looking for a complete, yet concise, quilting reference book to help me out of those tight jams when I got 'stuck' when trying to complete a project. This book not only met my needs, but surpassed my expectations. I highly recommend BH&G's Complete Guide to Quilting to anyone who needs their own personal expert when it's too late to call a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    Great book for beginners and long time quilters.

    I just began quilting Feb 2009. this is the first book I purchased. After I had a few lessons at a quilt store I began referring to this book. I would forget some steps and would find it in this book. Especially helpful when you buy quilt patterns that always assume you know everything about quilting. YOu can find out the missing parts in this book. A must for beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2