Customer Reviews for

The Complete Joy of Home Brewing

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for the first time brewer.

This book breaks down your first few batches of beer into easy to follow steps and gives you the confidence to take your beer to the next level. Charlie Papazian writes in an easy to understand style that is entertaining even when he gets into the technical aspects of h...
This book breaks down your first few batches of beer into easy to follow steps and gives you the confidence to take your beer to the next level. Charlie Papazian writes in an easy to understand style that is entertaining even when he gets into the technical aspects of homebrewing. This should be the first book you buy but will not last all the way through grain brewing. While it does introduce grain brewing, I do not feel that it can be your only resource on the matter. However, if you are committed to extract/kit/minimash brewing, this book will offer great recipes and ideas. RDWHAHB.

posted by ipcampbel on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not a very good book

I wouldn't waste your money on this book!

posted by 623298 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    A Standard For Homebrewers!

    This is at least the third copy of this book I have purchased, each time after a haitus in my homebrewing and an update to the book. If you only have one book on homebrewing this is the one to have - it is the best overall resource on techniques, process, and equipment, and it contains a lot of great recipes and tips, illustrated with great photographs. The most important message for homebrewers is repeated like a mantra throughout this book - "Relax, don't worry, have a homebrew." This is the single most important lesson for a beginning or experienced homebrewer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great for the first time brewer.

    This book breaks down your first few batches of beer into easy to follow steps and gives you the confidence to take your beer to the next level. Charlie Papazian writes in an easy to understand style that is entertaining even when he gets into the technical aspects of homebrewing. This should be the first book you buy but will not last all the way through grain brewing. While it does introduce grain brewing, I do not feel that it can be your only resource on the matter. However, if you are committed to extract/kit/minimash brewing, this book will offer great recipes and ideas. RDWHAHB.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    Not sure what the 1st reviewer was talking about, this is the homebrewers bible...

    Great book for anyone interested in getting started in homebrewing. The first review is totally off... With just this book, you can start brewing within hours of picking it up. Its not the be all end all as far as recipes go, but its the perfect book for entry level brewers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Very Well Written

    Charlie is a great writer making his points clear, and giving his hard earned knowledge to us novices. I also enjoy the way he interjects some good humor into the book as well, and by the way, Don't worry. Have a homebrew.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    The bible of homebrewing.

    The must have book for any homebrewer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Great Book...except

    A great book for the new homebrewer to understand what is happening in the beer making process. However, this book really lacks the actual mechanics of homebrewing that I wanted to know when starting out. I would've preferred an in-depth discussion of techniques of homebrewing. For example, the section describing the actual steps for intermediate homebrewing is 8 pages long. The section describing adjuncts alone is 23 pages long. Does the new homebrewer really need a whole page describing which fruits can be added? Additionally, the book's layout is poor. It seems to be arranged by level of skill (beginner, intermediate, then advanced) with a discussion of barley, water, hops and yeast in each section. I would've preferred a book that gave all the techniques for brewing upfront (beginner, intermediate and advanced), then recipes, then the chemistry of beer making. Please don't make me look in 3 different places to find info about yeast.

    Overall, I definitely would buy this book again, but would only use it as a tool to better understand brewing (not as a tool to use to actually brew beer).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Relax and have a homebrew

    Lots, I mean lots of information. A must have for any homebrewer. The last reviewer should relax and have a home brew.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Not a very good book

    I wouldn't waste your money on this book!

    1 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Must have

    Really helps in explaining the actual processes taking place when you brew. Also had many wonderful tips, and recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Good

    I like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    dont brew alone

    for some reason my last rating reduced itsself by 3 stars....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3