Customer Reviews for

The Complete Maus: A Survivor's Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Ap World History Review: An Excellent Novel!

    The Complete Maus was an amazing book to read! Art Spiegelman's description of his father's life during World War II gives the story a personal feel that completely draws you into the book. However, Spiegelman's somewhat blunt descriptions of the horrors that occurred in the Jewish ghettos and the concentration camps also make this a depressing read because Vladek, his father, witnessed so many tragic deaths. Additionally, Maus is filled with "present day" scenes in which Spiegelman shares his difficulties in extracting the story from his father and it also helps tie in aspects of WWII with current events. One of the most heartbreaking parts of Maus was the connection Vladek had with his first son, Richieu, who was killed when he was a very young child. Even after Vladek's wife, Anja, gave birth to Artie (the author of Maus) he still lamented the death of his first son, which is a key part of Maus and helps keep the reader engrossed with the story.
    One thing readers should be cautious about is the depth of the story. Although it is written as a comic book, Maus is filled with as much sadness and hope as any other Holocaust book. So, just make sure that if you pick up Maus, you don't begin reading it thinking it will be a "light read," because the truth behind Spiegelman's words will knock you over. Also, readers should know that there are brief references to suicide, hangings, and extreme violence within both Maus novels, so if you can't handle those topics, don't read Maus. However, The Complete Maus is also filled with Vladek's struggle for survival, and although it is over one of the most tragic periods of history, I highly recommend that you read it. I give The Complete Maus 5 out of 5 stars, easily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    Cat Nazis must die

    this book much like the first maus i could not put down the story boarding is very good. you won't find a better book that teaches both the horrors and hardships of the jews during the holocaust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    .....

    .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Extraordinary! he is a not biased author which I like a lot abou

    Extraordinary! he is a not biased author which I like a lot about Mr. Spiegelman. Maus is really touching. I would read this book over and over again because it is a graphic novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    Tired of NAZI Zombies.Try NAZI Cats.

    Beautiful edition.I sought to obtain original editions in hardcover but they were difficult to come by.This edition is the next best thing.A touching account of a Jewish survivor of NAZI occupied europe and his recounting of his experiences to his son.Great for a gift.All my children loved it as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A great story about surviving Nazi Poland

    This review contains some minor spoilers in an attempt to better describe this product. First of all, when I purchased The Complete Maus, I was expecting the story to mainly take place inside a Nazi concentration camp. This is not the case. The first book, My Father Bleeds History, slowly brings the Nazis in and has the main character on the run trying to escape them. The concentration-camp portion of the story starts with the second book, And Here My Troubles Began, and is only about 1/4 to 1/3 the overall story. Maus covers the concentration camps well, and I did learn additional facts about them, but I was really expecting to learn more than what was provided. For example, doctor Mengele was barely mentioned in the book. The reason behind this is probably because anyone who ever found out what he did likely died at the hands of him. Nonetheless, I was a bit disappointed to find out that I knew most of the facts about the camps already. I did learn a lot about how the Jews escaped the Nazis' grasp before going to the camps, though, and this made up for it. Also, the main character displays a brilliant knack for getting out of bad situations. I found his cleverness impressive and entertaining. I feel that Maus is on the whole more of a survival story and less of a concentration-camp history lesson, which is entirely supported by its subtitle, A Survivor's Tale. While the two books appear to paint an awfully broad stroke, the details are all there for the taking. If you know nothing or very little about the Holocaust, this is an excellent starting point. Even if you do know about the Holocaust, this should still be an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Great Book

    It is a great book! If you like reading about the Holocaust then you will really enjoy it. It is somewhat romantic; telling the story of how it happened during this horrible time and how he deals with what happened afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Maus: A Survivor's Tale by Art Spiegelman

    The strength of this story is the true account of the elder Spiegelman's struggles to survive the Holocaust as a Polish Jew in Warsaw. It is interspersed with the author's troubled relationship with his father and the strength of the two to tell the story. The father because he has never before spoken of his experiences and the son to understand the pain and suffering his father endured.

    All the characters in this work of art are represented as ethnological animals, an insightful and creative machination on the part of the artist. The Jews, for example, are depicted as scrawny mice (thus Maus, German for "mouse"), the Nazi's as plump over-fed cats, and the Polish military officers as prodigious pigs. The only humanistic renderings in the book take place during the back story of the suicide of the author's mother. But these graphic depictions do not distract from the powerful demonstrative story of the struggle to survive not only the worst war of our time but the worst moments in human history. In fact, they serve only to enhance it.

    Wonderful storytelling and exceptional art make this a must read for the historians as well as the emotionalists among us. This book is a unique combination of docu-drama, biography, and comic-strip all rolled into one and it works on a grand scale.

    5 out of 5 stars

    http://thealternativeone.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    AWESOME!!

    I have only read the first book... but it's amazing. I loved the comic book style, and the details were great. Plus the whole cat and mouse deal... genious!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read both volumes 1 & 2. And they were amazing. i have already recommended these books to all of my friends. I could not put them down!! I read both in a little under a day and they were wonderful. I love reading about the holocaust and this was some of the best i have ever read!! READ THESE BOOKS!!! they are amazing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    yeah

    this book is the best I ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    Great book!

    I have read a good number of books about the Holocaust, and I thought this one was one of the best, if not the best. Because of the comic strip style the book is written in, it is very easy to read and gives a new twist to the story of the Holocaust. Highly recommended to anyone interested in this topic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    About 'Maus'

    Perhaps one of the best books I've ever read. The author present the story of the Holocaus in a very unique way. The story is both sad and beautiful. A wondeful book about a moment in history that we should always think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Maus 1 and 2

    I have read the first Maus and i am in the middle of the second one. This is an excellent book and highly educating. BUY THIS BOOK AND READ IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2