Customer Reviews for

The Complete Persepolis

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Beautifully done! A fantastic read sure to bring out the rebel in all of us!

    The graphic novel memoir The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi is an excellent, well-written read. Every time I put it down, I found myself yearning to pick it up again. Marjane¿s entire life from growing up as a young child in Iran to the present day as a full grown adult in France is depicted through strange but beautiful drawings in the format of a very long cartoon, making it appealing to the eye and all the more interesting. In the book, as the rebelious Marjane Satrapi grows into an adult woman, you can see how through the many troubling bad times she has been through, she becomes proud of who she is and her background and culture. This deep and passionate story is recommended to all young adults and adults interested in lives of children growing up in revolutionary Iran. This unique and uplifting story of the struggles and achievements in the life of a courageous Iranian woman is sure to bring out the rebel in all who partake in reading it, ready to stand up for what is right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    A reviewer

    I was pleasantly surprised to have thoroughly enjoyed this book! I have given up looking down my nose at graphic novels. This was a fantastic and engaging depiction of the Iranian Revolution. Read all the news articles you want about this troubled country, but you will not get the insight that Ms. Satrapi conveys in Persepolis. This should make its way into the hands of every American with preconceptions of Iran and its people. I cannot wait to see the film!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    this is highly recommended you must check it out!!

    i was wondering if this complete persepolis included the first and second stories in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must read

    Marjane Satrapi's book Persepolis is phenomenal. She talks about the issues that so many people face. The fact that it is a graphic novel only adds to the amazement of this book. I am one who personally can not stand pictures in books, but this story was the exception. I recommend this book to everyone especially young girls intersted in seeing how other girls there age live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Required Reading

    This is such a moving memoir, it should be required reading. While the story offers a personal insight to the last 30 years of Iran's history, it really is a story that we can all relate to. It is about growing up, discovering who you are and being true to that person. For anybody who feels as though they have lost their way, Persepolis reminds us that it is never too late to return to our chosen path. It is Marjane Setrapi's brutal honesty in the recounting of her story that makes this graphic novel such a great read. I was unaware that a graphic novel could be so poignant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Wonderful BOOK!!!!!

    The book was very inspiring, with detail it retold her daily struggles.
    It brough out the truth about Terhan and their people, it gave another side of the story. Marjanes character brough exciment to the story. IT tells the story of marjanes life as a litttle girl and as shes growing up. You can rellate to what is happening in the book!! Its a must have for any age group!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A graphic novel that needs to be in everyone's library

    I did not read graphic novels for many years before this came out. I have since started to read the genre. This is a story of the life of an Iranian woman, mistakes and triumphs, joys and miseries. I would recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book!

    I loved this story and found it so insightful about the human condition. I learned so much about Iranian culture and history in a fun and engaging format. I feel like I better understand the complicated relationship America has with Iran today. I am an American falling in love with the Persian culture and people. This book is essential reading if you want to understand what is happening in Iran!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Graphic Novels Aren't Just For Children

    This book was assigned for my Classics of World Literature course in college. I was reluctant to open it once I realized it was a graphic novel. I forced myself to read it and found that not only was it compelling but it kept me engaged throughout the entire novel. Marjane Satrapi depicts herself as well as the others in the book in a way that makes it easy to relate to. My heart went out to her and I was deeply touched by her writing.

    I fully recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing autobiography...in the form of a comic strip!

    This book had a profound impact on my life. It truly gave me a new insight into the Middle Eastern situation, the diverse cultures and beliefs that were spawned in that regions, and on humanity in general. This book dispelled any bias that I once held against the Middle East and awakened my eyes to a misunderstood ethnic group. <BR/><BR/>Anyone who is looking for a first person account of the Iraqi Revolution and it affects on the men, women, and children who live in that area, should definitely pick up this book. This book was fascinating and tantalizing and I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2