Customer Reviews for

The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Poems of Emily Dickinson

This book has all of the poems from the famous poet. If you enjoy her poems than you should definitely buy the book. Her writing style is unique and she allows you to ponder over what she is talking about. Her poetry is ambiguous so you are able to read it without conne...
This book has all of the poems from the famous poet. If you enjoy her poems than you should definitely buy the book. Her writing style is unique and she allows you to ponder over what she is talking about. Her poetry is ambiguous so you are able to read it without connecting it to her time period.

posted by AnakinFanatic on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Beware

Book downloads to about 450 of the 500 pages. B & N support is
NOT helpful when you just want the whole book you paid for.
Plenty of employees to sell Nooks - not enough employees to
support problems like this. On the phone for one hour - they promised to resolve th...
Book downloads to about 450 of the 500 pages. B & N support is
NOT helpful when you just want the whole book you paid for.
Plenty of employees to sell Nooks - not enough employees to
support problems like this. On the phone for one hour - they promised to resolve the problem and get back to me in 24 or 48 hours. That was about 5 days ago.

posted by Triciawg on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Poems of Emily Dickinson

    This book has all of the poems from the famous poet. If you enjoy her poems than you should definitely buy the book. Her writing style is unique and she allows you to ponder over what she is talking about. Her poetry is ambiguous so you are able to read it without connecting it to her time period.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Not suitable for educational purposes

    If u simply want to read emilys poems this is a good book, but if using for educational purposes, it is not. Search engine and menu does not allow you to simply look up and locate a particular poem. It doesnt even give you access to the index of the poems which is the last section of the book. I was very frustrated and disappointed with this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Buyer Beware

    Book downloads to about 450 of the 500 pages. B & N support is
    NOT helpful when you just want the whole book you paid for.
    Plenty of employees to sell Nooks - not enough employees to
    support problems like this. On the phone for one hour - they promised to resolve the problem and get back to me in 24 or 48 hours. That was about 5 days ago.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Still the best

    Various collections of Emily Dickinson's sparkling and innovative poetry are available, but this edition by Thomas Johnson remains, hands-down, the best. If you are going to invest in a collection of Dickinson's poetry -- and you should! -- look no further than the unparalleled Johnson edition.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an Awesome Collection

    This is an awesome collection to have in one's own library.

    Everyone should own Emily D. works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Emily's Loss of Privacy Our Gain

    Though Emily never did intend for anyone to read her poems -- other than herself -- the book shares everyone of her poems ever written. If you like poetry or the lyrics of Alanis Morrissette you need this book. It's a wonderful collection.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Greats

    If you are an Emily Dickinson enthusiast or general poetry lover, this edition is the one to get.
    Emily Dickinson seems to appeal to a wide range of people, and this is only part of the charm in her surviving work.
    This collection is definitely worth having in your book collection to come back to time and time again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    10 STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is the best book that u can buy. i am a huge emily d. fan and i own lots of her books buf this is my fav.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Missing last 50 pages

    Index of first lines stops at A. I would like a refund please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Unorganized and undersupplied

    Emily Dickinson wrote over 1000 poems in her life; this collection and others like it have less than 500. Additionally, I'm used to searching for poems by number (poem 403, 212, 693, etc.), so the organization threw me completely off. At the very least, add a table of contents next time, or include the poem number.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I got this is a Christmas gift last year, and I could be more de

    I got this is a Christmas gift last year, and I could be more delighted with it! I've been reading the whole thing cover to cover. Her poems are so beautiful, I particularly enjoy the ones about nature. The book itself is very pleasing to the eye, so happy to have this copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly

    I have always loved the poems of Emily! Now I have it with me always!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Melody........bookseller

    it's true, several pages are missing including the index which I really wanted!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Bad copy

    It doesnt download all the way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    a reviewer

    THIS BOOK IS A GIRLS HARD WORK IN LIFE I HAVE THIS BOOK IT IS VERY GREAT WE HAD A POP QUIZ ON POETRY I STUDIED WITH EMILY DICKINSON'S BOOK AND GOT AN A THANKS EMILY

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Surpasses Frost, Cooleridge, Shakespeare

    Emily Dickinson wrote some of the most beautiful poetry in any century. Even Shakespeare's repetitive love sonets don't compare.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3