BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Complete Sherlock Holmes

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Version - Complete Works - Must Have for Holmes Enthusiasts

    I bought my copy of this publication 35 years ago. In that time I have enjoyed reading through the many adventures numerous times.<BR/><BR/>This publication is the most complete, and most authentic compilation of the original works of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle that I have seen. No frills, no pretensive illustrations or pictures, no clever attempts to interpret or explain the content. It is the written work, as it was originally written by the Master Story-Teller. The printed page is all that is needed to spark the imagination and stimulate the mind. And Boy-O-Boy does it deliver!!<BR/><BR/>So effective are Conan Doyle's literary methods that many people, at one time or another, thought of Sherlock Holmes as a historical figure, a real person. In fact, the master of "Deductive Reasoning", as presented by the author, established methodology that was previously unheard of. Eventually these ideas became the basis for much of modern day detective work.<BR/><BR/>The stories are captivating, stimulating and exciting. Visual images and "What-If" mental paradoxes jump from the page to the mind with seamless interface. So convincing are the arguments and conclusions of Mr. Holmes, these tails, filled with pure, indisputable logic and deductive reasoning leave one in a frame of mind to question everything that fails to fit into a logical realistic pattern or solution. I'm telling you, this is powerful stuff and if you're not careful it can change your way of looking at things. It surely has done that to me. For me, this is a positive thing. You will need to decide for yourself.<BR/><BR/>The publication is well made, although not truly archival in quality. Overall product quality is mediocre at best. The paper is average quality, but heavier than most. The print it durable and well done, although font size is on the small side. No doubt necessary for including the entire, unabridged compilation into a single volume. The cover is stout and durable, although the binding on mine has partially parted in a few places. None-the-less, it is still very much intact, and very much one of my favorites.<BR/><BR/>My copy is thirty-five years old, read through several times, and yet, after all of these years is is still in good condition. The page ends were left un-trimmed, giving it a unique, vintage look. Makes it more special to me. Newer additions are much more neatly put together and finished. I paid $8.95 for it 35 years ago. At under $30 today, this publication is a great bargain. I highly recommend it to any true Sherlock Holmes officianado, or any one who may like to become one.<BR/><BR/>No where in the collective adventures of Sherlock Holmes did he ever say, "Elementary My Dear Watson". That was an erroneous tag foisted on the worlds greatest "Consulting Detective" by the money grubbing movie moguls of Hollywierd.<BR/><BR/>He did, however, say, (and I parraphrase): "When you remove all other possibilities, whatever remains, no matter how unlikely it may seem, must be the truth". Words to live by if I ever heard them. Today they say, "It Is What It Is".<BR/><BR/>This a great collection for any fan of the Master Detective, Mr. Holmes, or for any lover of classic mystey writing. I highly recommend this, above all other publications of these classic works of the great Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. One of the greatest mystery writers of all times.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Love!

    I recently started watching the BBC series Sherlock, and reading the books has been a joy. #SherlockLives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a big big book, but it's actually a pretty fast read. I

    This is a big big book, but it's actually a pretty fast read. I love mysteries, and there is none better than Holmes. I will definitely be reading this one again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Recommended

    A bargain book for those who desire a complete listing of all of Conan Doyle's Sherlock stories. I was well satisfied. I read many I did not know existed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    ?

    Wanna get it but don't know if it is a good copy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Frustrating

    Maybe it' s just a fluke but this book locked up my Nook! The only solution was to delete the book and purge it from my library. I'm out $0.99 but at least my Nook is running again.
    CAUTION is what I recommend, folks!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Real story?

    Is this the actual real sherlock holmes or just an adaption?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Excellent read, but pricey edition

    What is there not to like about Sherlock Holmes !! However there are much less expensive anthologies for the Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    A must read!

    All the original stories by Conan Doyle, kicking off with A Study In Scarlet, prepare yourself to read for hours

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Awesome!

    I love Sherlock Holmes! Its a very good series. At first I thought mystery was boring, and uninteresting. But then I read Case Closed, and I thought, if Case Closed is this good, maybe I should try Sherlock Holmes. I loved it after the 1st page! I love it to death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    My FAVORITE mystery series!!!

    I read the entire collection of Sherlock Holmes (1400 pg. book) in 8th grade and loved it! These mysteries are exciting and fun, but written in good taste (unlike most mysteries written now days) and Sir Aurthur Conan Doyle sure knows how to capture his readers! :) I recommend it for anyone over 9 yrs. old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book and it's wierd because I usualy don't like mysteries all that much but I like the Sherlock Holmes series a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    just brilliant!

    #1 detective series! these books are awsome! highly recomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    Complete Sherlock Holmes

    After reading 'The Complete Sherlock Holmes' I am entirely convinced that Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a genius. On his worst day, he could have outwritten any other writer of escape literature. These stories are completely indescribable. You just have to read them to truly know why Sherlock Holmes has remained well known and popular for more than a century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2002

    Complete Sherlock Holmes

    I don't usually like detective stories because most of the ones I have read/seen are built entirely on the mystery and detective work and don't have the well developed and complex characters that I like to see in fiction. Well, to my complete amazement I discovered that Sherlock Holmes is most definitely an exception to this rule of mine. I won't bother to give a detailed description of Holmes because I could never make him sound as interesting in this review as he is in the stories. I'll just say that no writer ever created a character who was as realistic, complex, and intriguing as Sherlock Holmes and no writer ever will--period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Three Heroes.

    Thank God for Sir Arthur Conan Doyle! In these days of uncertainty and the crooked it is nice to know that some pages will always contain stories pure enough to give us hope that,yes,good will triumph.There lies the magic of Sherlock Holmes and Dr.John Watson.That for a flitting moment in a certain time and space everything is just right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    Killer Book For Mystery Lovers of all Ages!

    I'm a 16 year old guy who never really liked to read novels for 'fun'. However, One day in my school library, while browsing, I found a Book titled ' The Complete Sherlock Holmes', me being a lover of mysteries picked the book up and checked it out. Days later I couldn't beleive it this book had me HOOKED! Mr. Doyle did a superbulous job on his fictional character Mr. Holmes and I recommend this whole set to all Mystery lovers of all ages, Trust me you won't be dissappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    The ultimate super sleuth collection

    Doyle wrote several novel-length books, but is particularly famous for his 56 short stories, starring Sherlock Holmes. This collection contains all of Doyle's works, but is especially worth purchasing because it contains the complete collection of the adventures of the world's most famous super sleuth, Sherlock Holmes. Although written in the early 20th century, Holmes' incredible deductions and brilliant detective work is timeless, and will continue to amaze and entertain readers well into the 21st century. One of my favorites! A worthy addition to any personal library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    A Highly Captivating Book!

    This book is great! It really captures your imagination. With this book younot only read it, but have a certain involvement in trying to reveal the outcome to the reader. I checked this out from the library just to read a mystery book, but liked the book so much that I decided to buy it. doyle really put a great plot in the sherlock holmes story, making holmes a character that is still recognized today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Mystery!

    This is the greatest book! It has many short stories that are thrilling to read. It also has 'The Hound of the Baskersville' a spine-chilling narrative about a killer hound... It is a great book and I enjoyed it immensely. Sherlock Holmes amazed me by solving all of the mysteries. This book is a definate MUST!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2