BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Volume I (Barnes & Noble Signature Editions)

Average Rating 4
( 1432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(839)

4 Star

(276)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(68)

1 Star

(98)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The Best Book I've Ever Read

I have read a lot of books in my life, but nothing even comes close to Sherlock Holmes. It is without a doubt the best book I have ever read. The way Sherlock's mind works blows me away. When he makes his deductions, I can't figure out how he could have possibly gotten ...
I have read a lot of books in my life, but nothing even comes close to Sherlock Holmes. It is without a doubt the best book I have ever read. The way Sherlock's mind works blows me away. When he makes his deductions, I can't figure out how he could have possibly gotten all of that information just from that little piece of evidence. But then, he explains it all and it makes perfect sense and I don't know how I didn't see that in the first place. Sherlock has a very good sense of humor, too. He's sarcastic, like myself, and I always find myself laughing out loud. The cases he works on are sometimes very dark, so without his humor to lighten things up, it would be very dreary indeed. The mysteries he gets involved in are very dramatic and thrilling. It's so suspenseful and fun to read, I can't put it down. Sherlock and Watson have a funny relationship, too. The two of them together crack me up. They are very different, but they are the perfect team when they work together. I saw the movie and I loved it. Afterwards, I instantly wanted to read the books. I hope they make more movies, because Robert Downey Jr. was amazing in it, and same with Jude Law. If you haven't seen the movie, you have to go see it right now. And after, pick up a copy of Sherlock Holmes and start reading. You won't regret it!

posted by sherlock201 on February 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Classic reading

The writings of Sir Doyle are classic. Sherlock Homes is a great character for his time. What I liked best about this volume was the history of Sir Doyle. I also like at the end of the volume the extra information about the book from a variety of people. Very interestin...
The writings of Sir Doyle are classic. Sherlock Homes is a great character for his time. What I liked best about this volume was the history of Sir Doyle. I also like at the end of the volume the extra information about the book from a variety of people. Very interesting book. You have to like classics to read this one, there are many dry spots. whats great is to see what people were reading long before I was born and how different writing was from todays novels. Download and read.

posted by seniorchief on November 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 73
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Book I've Ever Read

    I have read a lot of books in my life, but nothing even comes close to Sherlock Holmes. It is without a doubt the best book I have ever read. The way Sherlock's mind works blows me away. When he makes his deductions, I can't figure out how he could have possibly gotten all of that information just from that little piece of evidence. But then, he explains it all and it makes perfect sense and I don't know how I didn't see that in the first place. Sherlock has a very good sense of humor, too. He's sarcastic, like myself, and I always find myself laughing out loud. The cases he works on are sometimes very dark, so without his humor to lighten things up, it would be very dreary indeed. The mysteries he gets involved in are very dramatic and thrilling. It's so suspenseful and fun to read, I can't put it down. Sherlock and Watson have a funny relationship, too. The two of them together crack me up. They are very different, but they are the perfect team when they work together. I saw the movie and I loved it. Afterwards, I instantly wanted to read the books. I hope they make more movies, because Robert Downey Jr. was amazing in it, and same with Jude Law. If you haven't seen the movie, you have to go see it right now. And after, pick up a copy of Sherlock Holmes and start reading. You won't regret it!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    outstanding and educational

    If you have not yet read the complete works of Sherlock Holmes then you are truely ignorant to the influence Holmes' character has had over so many different things. I cannot even begin to surmize this book in under 500 words so I won't begin to try more than this read this book as well as vol. II. Your mind will thank you.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love it but ..

    Love the tales, the author, the genre, the character, such fantastic writing and a true legendary image within that of Literature and such genre itself. What i want to point out, excuse me if i am seeming rather foolish, in said publication i bought, i couldn't help but notice (and this is probably not the only one but it caught my eye)that on page X of The World of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Sherlock Holmes, under the year 1897, Bram Stoker, for the fact that his first publication of Dracula has come forth, Mr. Stoker is written wrong, as Brain Stoker, has anyone else noticed such mistypes and such? Just got to me is all, but other then that, a fantastic collection of this author's marvelous talents and mind.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The One and Only Sherlock Holmes

    No fictional character has been portrayed more on film, television, and literature than A. Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes. This 2-volume edition is an excecllent bargain, and contains all of Doyle's short stories and novels.

    For those who are not familiar with the original Holmes stories, the B&N editions are an excellent way to start. "A Scandal in Bohemia", "The Speckled Band", and "The Red-Headed League" are some of the most well-known stories.

    I would like to add that Dr. John Watson, the narrator of Holmes's adventures, is portrayed entirely different that in some film adaptations. In the original stories, Watson was a capable doctor and loyal friend to Holmes, who never failed to chastise his friend when he felt that Holmes had gone too far. Watson repeatedly demonstrated his loyalty and worth as a partner to Holmes, particulary in "The Hound of the Baskervilles." Indeed, Holmes often commented that he held Watson in the highest regard, and trusted him completely.

    Also included in the B&N edition is an introduction that gives more information on Victorian England and the events that shaped Doyle's stories.

    Give it a try- you won't regret it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Classic reading

    The writings of Sir Doyle are classic. Sherlock Homes is a great character for his time. What I liked best about this volume was the history of Sir Doyle. I also like at the end of the volume the extra information about the book from a variety of people. Very interesting book. You have to like classics to read this one, there are many dry spots. whats great is to see what people were reading long before I was born and how different writing was from todays novels. Download and read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Started watching the Jeremy Brett TV series of Sherlock Holmes o

    Started watching the Jeremy Brett TV series of Sherlock Holmes on PBS. When I was twelve, I read The Readers Digest, A Study in Scarlet and The Hounds of the Baskervilles edition. Fell in love with Sherlock Holmes, and though it took a while, found a sale and was able to begin my dream of reading everything Sherlock Holmes. A quirky, talented, highly intelligent, skilled detective and his chronicler a former army surgeon and practicing doctor, a classic is born. Most of these mysteries are short so you don't have to make a big commitment into the cases, if you don't usually read mysteries.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic and Brilliant

    Sherlock Holmes stories are AMAZING!!!! Just don't read them if you have a short attention span as they can be a bit dry at times, due to the time period in which they were written. The full-length stories aren't AS good as the short ones, with the exception of Hound of the Baskervilles, because they go into a lot of background information with no Holmes-Watson-deduction action going on whatsoever. But other than that they are fantastic! This edition was really great, besides being really fat. I didn't have to worry about which story came chronologically next, and there were interesting little footnotes that tell you things that you wouldn't have otherwise found out unless you are an expert on Holmes and Watson.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Interesting

    This book was extremly good if you are a big mystery fan

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    honestly...

    I dont understand why some people have found this boring. Obviously some people cant appriciate good books and classics. I have read a lot of classics in my lifetime but never, NEVER have i found one as easy to ready and enjoyable as sherlock holmes. Doyle keeps you interested in the clues to the cases and keeps you wondering what will happen and who will be the culpret. Sherlock holmes is a fantastic read and you will never regret reading the brilliance that is john watson and sherlock holmes. +kayley holtom

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Good book, BUT----

    It REALLY p's me off that my "reward" for buying a Nook over a Kindle is paying $4 AND TAXES for the same book I could have read for free if I'd bought a Kindle instead.

    There is no copyright on this book anymore. Not a penny of the money we pay for it goes to the Doyle heirs. It disappears somewhere in or around the pockets of some B&N exec that unwisely decided this was a good idea.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent Content;Book Construction Questionable

    Sherlock Holmes is Sherlock Holmes, if you enjoy these classic stories, you will enjoy this collection. However, the book itself looks strange. The pages are cut roughly and don't really line up. Maybe that's standard on B&N classics but I didn't like that feature

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Wonderful.

    This is a great collection of stories. Most of the tales are short and quick, but are not lacking in plot, or details. They are quick reads, and tough to set down. I can't wait to start on Volume 2.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Elementary my dear readers !

    These are amazing stories that deserve to be perserved thoughout history.By far the best stories I've ever read and I will be picking up the second volume.The plots of the stories,the characters of Holmes and Watson,Holmes' deduction abilitys are all amazing.I would personally reconmend this to anybody whos loves literature.As I said in the title(even though that famous line is never said in any of the stories)there is no reason you should not pick this book up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent way to spend quality time with the world's most famous consulting detective!

    Who hasn't heard of Sherlock Holmes nowadays? The 221B Baker street most famous resident has solved many seemingly impossible cases, and is one of the greatest influences on modern detective characters. This in a complete work, with great introductions, a Conan Doyle short biography, endnotes and even two parodies and essays about one of England's greatest literary works. Recommended!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How did I miss this?

    I can't believe I had never picked up a Sherlock Holmes story before, but I truly enjoyed this collection!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Wonderfully bound book

    I looked hard to find this edition of the Sherlock Holmes Volume 1. The hardbound detail is very nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Better than expected!

    I got the paper book for Christmas and really loved reading through the stories. The added notes on the bottom are helpful and not excessive at all. A definate five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    This book really lived up to my expectations of the casebook of

    This book really lived up to my expectations of the casebook of the world's greatest detective

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    I very much enjoyed this book. The Sherlock Holmes stories are f

    I very much enjoyed this book. The Sherlock Holmes stories are for sure classics. I really enjoyed the links in the story that explained what certain items or references were or meant. It is by no means a fast read but it was definitely a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    iLuVmOoStAcHeS

    I am eleven year old girl and so far i love this book! You have to buy it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 73