Customer Reviews for

The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Volume II (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 622 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(363)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good, solid mysteries

I suppose I started reading this collection for the same reason I watch regular TV shows every week. I wanted consistently interesting short stories, and that's exactly what I got. However I made a mistake reading them all straight through in this convenient collection,...
I suppose I started reading this collection for the same reason I watch regular TV shows every week. I wanted consistently interesting short stories, and that's exactly what I got. However I made a mistake reading them all straight through in this convenient collection, and the formulaic plots bothered me more than they would have otherwise.

I did notice an improvement in terms of the mystery complexity, which I appreciated. No where is this more evident than in "The Valley of Fear", which uses an extremely similar set-up to "A Study in Scarlet". Both stories have two parts, the first of which takes place in 1890's England and the second some years previous in America. However everything else about "The Valley of Fear" is a vast improvement! The murder mystery is much more clever, the action is better paced, and the second part was well-introduced as well as being a mystery story in it's own right! Clearly Sir. Doyle had come into his own as an author by this point, and his skills greatly improved with practice.

I also enjoyed the change in Watson's "voice" over time. Sir Doyle seems much more comfortable in his writing abilities by "The Valley of Fear", and I felt there was less awkward prose. I noticed Sir Doyle has a very fanciful way of describing the scene, which appeals to me greatly. I shall always imagine a foggy London day as John Watson saw it.

posted by Kaydern on March 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

To All

Requests in the second result please, sorry bout that. The results keep moving! I gtg but I will take care of any requests as soon as I get back!

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 363 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Forget what you THINK you know!

    So you think you know Sherlock Holmes. Be prepared to get the details of Holmes' life and thought processes. He lives for the chase and does not know what to do with himself without one. Many stories are told by Dr. Watson as the keeper of the case records. You'll learn about Watson as well and how he and Holmes ended up living together.

    Mostly short readings for one evening with some longer stories included. Classics like The Hound of the Baskervilles and more.

    A real opportunity to get inside Holmes' head. Highly recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    When i first had to read this book, i had the notion that it was some old boring book but it is NOT!!! The adventures in the book are captivating. This book is truly worth the read. It is so awesome! Be not afraid of the length because it is composed of only short stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Part one and 2?

    Is it worth buying both volumes?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    The Complete Sherlock Holmes Volume II

    Fantastic! I've been a Sherlock fan since a little girl and to have all his stories in one collection is good. I try to draw my conclusion as I read the stories and see if I'm as good as he is. It is great reading. He's the most fascinating character ever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Could I get a signiture please?

    My current one is Time&star . I just want something unique. Thank you! ~Time&star

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Dawnwillow

    I need a signature please

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    This edition is superb.

    This B & N Classics edition is well organized and has the benefit of a thoughtful and illuminating introduction by Kyle Freeman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    BRILLIANT

    Well, you wish to know whether you ought to buy it? Well, it's elementary, my dear Watson.
    Of course.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Simply the greatest detective stories ever written

    B&N version is perfect!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Dog

    Hu.m.ps the human girl harder & harder, ignoring the other dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    The hose

    Mounted hef and began pumping in and out of her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Shep

    Looked at the horse

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    BIOS

    Farmer Dayle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I NEED A SIGNATURE

    I need a signature. My name is Raven, and I would like is to look all creepy and gothic. Any symbols you use, teach me. And how to you skip lines? I can't for some reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    To below

    To skip one line, you do < br > no spaces. To skip multiple you do that then go to the next line and do < p > no spaces. Like this:<br>
    And this:<br>
    <p>
    Hope this helped!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Brokenpaw

    Shes not here now.....join my lab rp at subject result 2 ....&#24315

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I dont know if i should by it every on says its good and i watch sherlock homes on bbc

    I love sherlock so i say read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    love Sherlock

    love Sherlock

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    There should be a book three

    Cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Only vol 2 + Highly recommended for Sherlock BBC fans

    Highly entertaining as well as a cliff hanger

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 363 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19