Customer Reviews for

The Complete Works of Charles Dickens

Average Rating 3
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Avoid this! iT'S A RIP OFF!

    This so-called collection of the "complete works" of Dickens is just fine, so long as you believe that he only wrote "A Christmas Carol". because that's all you're going to get here. No "Oliver Twist", no "Tale of Two Cities", no "Great Expectations". Hey, Barnes & Noble! Any chance of refunds for the customers who fell for this?

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    ripoff

    did not contain anything other than christmas carol

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    the worst. only downloaded one of the boks. rest are not there

    dont buy only one of the books is there a complete ripoff

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Ripoff!

    Do not buy this! It only contains the first chapter of one book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Don't buy!

    This includes ONLY A Christmas Carol. VERY misleading title. What a waste of money!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    A little difficult

    All the works are there-- it' s just getting to them that's a little tricky. There is a table of contents, but it isn't labeled which book you're opening, only a listing of chapter 1-55, then chapter 1-78, etc. If you open the first chapter of a book, then back up a page, then there's the title. I just put in notes on the first chapter pages and bookmarks for myself, and then I'm fine. Or you can type in "david copperfield" in the search option of your menu panel, and it will bring up the book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Rip off for sure

    This is a terrible rip off. It only downloads the first 215 pages, not even one complete novel. I ended up deleting it from my library after I bought it. Go with the $2.99 version.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Only Includes a Christmas Carol

    This ebook doesn't have any of the books. It only has the first chapel of A Christmas Carol. I called BN customer service and talked with a gentleman who said they would contact the publisher, but the publisher didn't fix the problem. Steer clear!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    NOT a Complete anything!

    BEWARE!!! This ebook does not even have A Christmas Carol complete.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Not complete

    All you get is the Christmas Carol.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Don't buy

    This book got crappy reviews from 2010! Why is B&N still offering it? Dishonest- getting bad vibes about the quality of their service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Navigatio is good. Very nearly complete.

    No need to review the writing. The navigation works well but could be improved since it has such vast content. I was disappointed that the book I was interested was not included even though it was listed in the description (The Life of Our Lord). Nonetheless, it is very nearly complete. Not a scanned and converted text whicch often contain errors. It is a clean version free of errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    This is NOT a "complete" collection but it's close.

    I noticed that Barnaby Rudge, Martin Chuzzlewit, Dombey and Son were not included in this collection. Finding all of the books was a challenge. The "Table of Contents" is close to worthless. If you take the time you can find all of the works, but it's not easy. This is what I ended up doing to find all the books: I started with "A Christmas Carol" and then jumped ahead about 200 pages to find the next book (A Tale of Two Cities)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    :(

    Not very happy with it. Lots of errors. Am trying to find a good one. I will let you know if i find a good one. Bummer....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    It's all there

    After reading some other reviews I was worried about getting this collection, but with 14,000 pages and easy access using the nook contents button I'm happy I spent the three bucks.
    The text appears to be very clean and readable. The contents are divided by chapter on the novels which is nice,but makes for a very long list.
    I'm using the nook tablet so I don't know how it looks on other devices. On this tablet it is very good buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Incomplete Mess

    Did receive several books, hopefully the stories are complete. If they are then I suppose it's worth the few bucks. Formatting is a mess. Had to make own table of contents. Wish I read the reviews before I bought. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Full Content Not Available

    Even though I purchased the book, I still cannot get beyond a small portion of A Christmas Carol. The rest of the book simply doesn't show up. It is as if I only had downloaded only the sample. Another minor complaint: the default font size is way too big.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Anon

    Will not load!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Do not buy.

    What a disappointment. Contains only one chapter of one book. How to I get my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do not throw away your Dollar on this ebook

    I would not recomend this book. I dowonloaded the book and only got one story A Christmas Carol. Charles Dickenes is one of the greatest authors of all times but this format good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6