Customer Reviews for

The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe

Average Rating 4
( 592 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(128)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Working as intended

I'm currently reading this on my nook color with NO ISSUES. Full navigation of all items, no random characters, and none of the issues reported in previous reviews. If you had a "faulty" version, I suggest archiving then unarchiving the title to get the most recent ve...
I'm currently reading this on my nook color with NO ISSUES. Full navigation of all items, no random characters, and none of the issues reported in previous reviews. If you had a "faulty" version, I suggest archiving then unarchiving the title to get the most recent version of this.

posted by 2157995 on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Where's the poetry?

Title says "complete", however, it does not contain his poetry. His "complete" body of "work" includes his poetry, and various nonfiction pieces as well. The title is misleading.

posted by 4841977 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Where's the poetry?

    Title says "complete", however, it does not contain his poetry. His "complete" body of "work" includes his poetry, and various nonfiction pieces as well. The title is misleading.

    40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Extremely dissatisfied with this purchase

    Index does not work properly. Only index contains four links, and the "Stories" link does not work. Sure, it's only $0.99, but it's free from Project Gutenberg (as a collection of five volumes) and has better indices. Also has DRM.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Complete Junk

    I can't make heads or tails of the mess of text in this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Definitely not what it says it it

    There is no table of contents like the description indicates and this appears to be one of a set of books. There are also a SIGNIFICANT number of random characters mixed in with the text so it's a mess. Even for free, it's not worth the download.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    INCOMPLETE "Complete" Works of Edgar Allen Poe

    What's in this volume is fine, but it is only ONE VOLUME of a TEN VOLUME SET. You cannot tell from the description of the selection which volume you are getting. When I saw "COMPLETE" Works of Edgar Allen Poe, I assumed it would be the COMPLETE works. There is nothing in the Overview to tell you that it is only one volume in the set you'll be downloading or which of the 10 volumes you might be obtaining. VERY DISAPPOINTING!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    NONSENCE

    This iS UNREADABLE DO NOT GET!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Who ever transferred this to a ebook ought to be ashamed of themselves u cant read a thing this one sucks

    Sucks cant read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    This crap

    Do not buy this book!! It is suh a waste of space! All the letters are so jacked up i cant even read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Anon

    Worse than terrible.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Aweful!

    Look, when I got it, it was free, so I ignored the previous reviews. Something went horribly wrong and everything looks like gibberish though. If it costs something, trust me, its not worth it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    hmm

    it does not work...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Rainfall to firesteel

    "Firesteel?" She aked as he padded away. No, to late. He was gone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Cant read it

    Was very hard to inderstand

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    What a Disappointment

    The book locked up my Nook. When I finally got it rebooted, I deleted the book. However, it affected all of the other books in my Nook. When I tried to read them, they came up blank pages. I rebooted my Nook, then tried to read the book on my phone. Only a select few pages game up with words on them. After 20 min on live chat, nothing was fixed and I got a refund. The book did/does not even work online. 40 min I can't get back over a .99 book. And I was really wanting to read some Poe today.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Do. Not. Buy.

    Highly dissatisfied with this product! My nook itself, and my desktop nook reader shut down and have to reboot every time I simply open the book. I can't even read it.

    Do not buy this product.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Seriously couldn't read it... sadly

    Couldn't read it what-so-ever there were to many random symbols and such and most of the poems ran straight off rhe page! which sucks because i love edgar allan poe....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Horribly formatted. Unreadable on the Nook.

    I will now spend what should have been a pleasant Sunday trying to get my $3 back just on the principle. I do not understand how this can be sold for the Nook with such outrageously poor formatting on the Nook. The Raven runs off the right side of the screen. Quoth the raven, nevermore. Quoth me, do not buy this if you are planning on reading this on the Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Do not get!!!!

    This sucks. Even though it is free it just takes up room in your library. Just get a different copy of his works. It is hard to find acertain story annd there letters skipped in words. IT IS JUST A HOT MESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Why is his name spelled incorrectly?

    Why is his name spelled incorrectly?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No links to individual stories = FAIL, DO NOT BUY

    The table of contents has only four entries: Novels, Essays, Stories, and Poems. That's it. Good luck finding your favorite Poe works by mindlessly scanning through the pages until you find it. You could try to use the search function, but it's so cumbersome and frustrating when most other collections have a basic and working table of contents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5