Customer Reviews for

The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft ~ 93 Stories and 7 Essays

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow

I have a nook color and this loaded great! One of my all time favorite authors, and having his complete works is a geeking out moment for me.

posted by 18267429 on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The are all here, but prepared to wait and wait and wait to open...

It is all here. More Lovecraft than you can handle. In a beautiful font and easy to find.
My only problem... the take FOREVER to open. For instance, I found "The Terrible Old Man" and started opening it when I began this review. It is still not open.
This gould be d...
It is all here. More Lovecraft than you can handle. In a beautiful font and easy to find.
My only problem... the take FOREVER to open. For instance, I found "The Terrible Old Man" and started opening it when I began this review. It is still not open.
This gould be due to having to search over 6000 pages to find the correct story, but still, it is a long time to wait and I have others "Complete Collections" that don't take nearly as long, but if you are willing to wait, Lovecraft will certainly delight...or scare!

Ok, the story has now opened. It took nearly a minute.

posted by Count_Orlok on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    The are all here, but prepared to wait and wait and wait to open...

    It is all here. More Lovecraft than you can handle. In a beautiful font and easy to find.
    My only problem... the take FOREVER to open. For instance, I found "The Terrible Old Man" and started opening it when I began this review. It is still not open.
    This gould be due to having to search over 6000 pages to find the correct story, but still, it is a long time to wait and I have others "Complete Collections" that don't take nearly as long, but if you are willing to wait, Lovecraft will certainly delight...or scare!

    Ok, the story has now opened. It took nearly a minute.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What you look for in H. P. Lovecraft in a BIG package

    This eBook edition has all the published works of Howard Lovecraft, with enough creep and grue and shambling Things Man Was Not Meant To Know to satisfy anyone. The writing style is clearly period for Lovecraft's life, and he appears to suffer from the common biases of his era toward non-WASP types; if you can work past that, you will find interesting tales of the horrific that have influenced authors for years. The big down side to this edition is that it is 6,000 pages long in an original Nook. (I cannot say how long it will take in a nook Color, or on a PC.) It *will* take a while to open or to flip to a chapter; and I suspect a search for a specific word or phrase will have you wondering if Great R'lyeh will rise from the ocean depths before you get to the point you're looking for. If you want everything Lovecraft aside from his personal correspondence, though, this is the route to go.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Apparently creating .epub files wasn't in the Necronomicon

    This is a review of the ebook, not the actual content. As a previous reviewer noted, the book takes a long time to load, and navigating it is often painful. I looked inside the file (.epub is .zip compressed) and saw it has a 4mb .html file inside, along with 8 normal sized ones. Long story short, if you use Calibre to convert from .epub to .epub, by default it should be set to split large content files into smaller (<260k) ones. Inside the .epub, it went from 9 content files to 35, and the book now performs like any other. The publisher should fix this. This appears to be an issue with several large compilations, BTW.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Fantastic read.

    The most striking thing about reading HP Lovecraft is his vivid and detailed writing style. He makes wonderful use of tension and hints at larger, more sinister forces in the universe. As opposed to one of my other favorite authors, Ray Bradbury, who can describe whole paragraphs with one well written sentence, Lovecraft uses an expansive, elaborate method to covey the narrative. His stories give the feeling there are forces outside the normal understanding of rational thought, and the consequencs of attracting their attention. His Cthulu stories in particular are fascinating, culminating in some truly suspenseful tales of horror and dread. My favorites are The Dunwich Horror, The Coulor out of Space, The Shadow over Innsmouth, and The Call of Cthulu. Cannot recommend this enough, especially during the Autumn season when the wind is blowing and the dark, strange clouds pass overhead, daring the reader to follow HP Lovecraft into a universe where man is not the ruler of the Earth, but the playthings of the elder forces that lay outside the fabric of reality.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Wow

    I have a nook color and this loaded great! One of my all time favorite authors, and having his complete works is a geeking out moment for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Excellent, but...

    I enjoy Lovecraft's stories, and was very excited to get the complete works... until I was less than halfway through it and it crashed my Nook. Granted, I have a first gen Nook, but now I can only read it on my computer, which is very awkward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Force closes everytime.

    I purchased this book but unfortunately I'm not able to read it. Everytime Ive attempted to begin reading my Nook says the file can not be opened. Please fix NOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Too long to load

    I'm a fan but the Old Ones could take over the world in the time it takes to load. Same prob with the Robert E Howard collection. Suggest looking elsewhere for your Lovecraft fix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    A Hefty and Impressive Collection.

    Almost perfect and in the end most people will be satisfied with this purchase, it makes a great intoduction to the superb fiction of HPL, but the fabled "Complete Tales and Poems of H.P. Lovecraft" has yet to be published. Here's to hoping it someday will be....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Excellent Book Excellent Value

    As advertised. I'm quite satisfied, thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2