BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare ~ 197 Plays, Poems & Sonnets

Average Rating 2.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(168)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A truly Complete Works for less than a dollar!

It's Shakespeare's Complete Works and it's only 99 cents! The Sonnets are in a different, lighter font than the rest of the works but hey! it's only 99 cents! I'm glad to have the complete works in one file, since I've already got each play and sonnet in My Documents f...
It's Shakespeare's Complete Works and it's only 99 cents! The Sonnets are in a different, lighter font than the rest of the works but hey! it's only 99 cents! I'm glad to have the complete works in one file, since I've already got each play and sonnet in My Documents folder, now I can remove them from my nook and open only one document to read the Bard. It's better than wading through all the other allegedly "Complete" editions out there and it's a better value than some that cost more. My personal favorite is the Pelican Shakespeare series but I'm waiting for the complete works edition. Until then, I'm set!

posted by Michael_the_Writer on October 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

:(

Also having trouble opening the book and getting to the work I want to read. 4 out of 5 times it will not open. Bummer because I love Shakespeare and want to read it on my nook.

posted by BDN on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    :(

    Also having trouble opening the book and getting to the work I want to read. 4 out of 5 times it will not open. Bummer because I love Shakespeare and want to read it on my nook.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Freezes up my Nook

    This book may be as wonderful as it should be, but it freezes up my Nook and you can't search for content in any organized way. They need to get the bugs out of this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No stars, but not an option

    This took forever to open, both on NOOK and iPAD, then you could not use the links on the first few pages to go to a specific play. When trying to use "go to" or "contents," only half of the contents were listed, ande you could not even use that to go to the specific play. Stay away from "complete collections!"

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    Corrupt file. Crashed my Nook

    Upon opening it suspends the screen indefinitely then the Reader shuts down and I need to reboot.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    Not compatible with the Nook

    My brand new Nook with 6 books on it will not open the file I just bought.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Crashed My Nook :(

    I thought I was getting a deal but I've tried to open this on my Nook SEVERAL times and it crashed it each and every time. Don't waste your 99 cents.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Don't download to the nook!!!!

    I have downloaded this work twice to my nookcolor and both times resulted in complete dissapointment. I got ripped off even if it only costs $0.99. i had to delete the book from my nookcolor in order for me to use my nookcolor again. it made it my nookcolor incapable of displaying any graffics for book covers and i could not view content of any of my books. it wasn't till i removed it completely from my nookcolor that the problem was fixed. i'm really dissapointed.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    I want my money!!

    This is public domain, and yet I paid.... I thought that paying would ensure a better product; however, by Nook (built for this) cannot open the file. Also, it is divided into so many chapters it takes longer to find the play or poem that it would to read his entire works!!

    DO NOT PAY FOR THIS!! Save your cash and just get the public domain FREE versions.

    I have been robbed by a bookstore.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Please do not download!!

    This NOOKbook does not open, and will force close!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    Too big for the Nook?

    Opening the book on the Nook appears to lock up the reader and you will not be able to open other books even if you go back to the home screen and try from there...you must turn the Nook off and back on again to reset it. This book will eventually open in NookStudy (Mac), but it takes a long time to turn pages and navigate, to the point that I'm unsure it's really usable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    As everyone says

    This does not work, and interferes with everything else. Do not purchase, and if you have purchased, complain so BN feels pressured to do something.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Old Bill is lucky he isn't alive to witness this!

    If I could give this a negative rating, I would. As I've read other reviews, I realize I'm not the only one that got the shaft by buying this! The part that ticks me off the most is that after realizing it was a piece and wouldn't open, I ordered another eBook with a different cover and got screwed that time too! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    couldn't download

    Got my nook for christmas and even got an update in the two weeks since then and I still can't open this book. Really disappointed. I think if the book is too large, which I have the hardback at home and it's huge--then they should split the e book up into two or three ebooks so you could at least be able to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    no recommendation

    Until I can OPEN it and LOOK at it I can give no review worth anything!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Doesn't work well in Nook

    I have a print copy of Shakespeare's complete works, but wanted to have it on the Nook. It's just too long to be workable. I tried to search for the sonnets, and the search didn't work, either by searching for the sonnet number or by lines I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Incomplete. DO NOT BUY

    There are not 197 plays here. Defective product. BN gave me a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    !

    Why is itt disapointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Disappointing

    I should have read the reviews first, as I usually do, but I thought i couldn't go wrong with Shakespeare so why bother? Because then I wouldn't have been so disappointed when it wouldn't open! Had to uninstall/ delete it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Anyone else?

    This is the only book in my library that has given me any trouble, it won't open and on that rare case it does, it freezes my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Do not buy this version. It takes forever to load and the navig

    Do not buy this version. It takes forever to load and the navigation does not work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9