Customer Reviews for

Complications: A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a great read from a very respected surgeon. As a physic

This is a great read from a very respected surgeon. As a physician myself, I've always enjoyed reading books by physicians. Dr. Gawande has emerged as quite possibly the most reasonable, insightful, and even poetic of all physician writers. This book is a great read ...
This is a great read from a very respected surgeon. As a physician myself, I've always enjoyed reading books by physicians. Dr. Gawande has emerged as quite possibly the most reasonable, insightful, and even poetic of all physician writers. This book is a great read for anyone interested in the ethics of being a surgeon. Dr. Gawande's other books are also interesting reads, especially for doctors.
Other books by surgeons I highly recommend are Dr. Anthony Youn's "In Stitches," which is his absolutely hilarious and heartwarming story of becoming a doctor, and "Hot Lights Cold Steel" by orthopedic surgeon Dr. Michael Collins. These are geared towards a general audience and very worthwhile reads.

posted by 7970514 on March 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Overly hyped and I fell for it

Although eager to learn something from this physician's account, I found I was willing to leave the book after 50 pages. I did not, I did read it entirely but it was a waste of time. Some physicians can write, some cannot. This is a "not".

posted by LifeExamined on December 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Grey's Anatomy

    I loved this book. At times, it felt like I was reading an episode of my favorite T.V. program, Grey's Anatomy. I am not in the medical profession but Dr. Gawande writes so well that his explanations and storytelling are easy to read and follow.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great literary analysis of the art of surgery

    Written very well, not quite as good as his other book 'Better', but still very good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great book

    Very good book. Not boring like some books in this genre can be. All of his books are good. I only posted 2 reviews thus far, in 9mo, this book is worth a positive review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    Fantastic book for anyone interested in medicine (doctors and patients)

    As a second year medical student I read this book as part of a class, but if I had known how much I would enjoy it I would have read it long ago. The book is a collection of short stories that show the joys as well as challenges of medicine. The stories are not only very interesting medical cases, but also stories that show the humanity of medicine. I think Gawande¿s ability to show that despite the many miracles of medicine all doctors are still human and therefore inevitably flawed. I highly recommend this book to anyone especially anyone interested in a career in medicine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    From a Young Woman entering Med school

    This book was so good that I read it in less than a week. This book is like being in the mind of a surgen. Gawande tells about how doctors are humans too and they don't always have all of the answers. He gives different settings where there is a difficult decision to make and the conclusions of both choices. I feel better prepared for medical school since I have read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    My eyes would have to be surgically removed from the pages.

    This book gives the taget audience knowledge that has nothing to do with medicine or doctors, and you do not have to be a medical student to understand it. It tells you the history of some medical methods and historical figures. I felt smarter every time I turned the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Great read!

    Did Complications a Surgeon¿s Notes on an Imperfect Science 'cut it'? This book shows the darker side of Surgery, it sheds a whole new light on the current state of the medical field. It changed my view on medicine and medicines role in society. Reading about the harsh circumstances that some doctors have to work in, gave me even more respect for surgeons and doctors in today¿s medical field. I recommend this book to anyone that has an interest in the true life of a surgeon, and also anyone that is considering being a surgeon as his or her profession. This book will make the reader think twice about having surgery and who is going to be holding the cutting knife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Great reading for all, but especially for physicians and aspiring physicians.

    As "The House of God" embraces and allows us to laugh at those undesirable aspects of practicing medicine, "Complications" reminds those in the field why they were drawn to it while also offering the author's insights on successes and failures--both of individuals and the profession as a whole--to which any physician can relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3