Customer Reviews for

The Compound

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

allnighter!!!

I just couldnt put this one down. Looking for something to quench my insatiable thirst after the hunger games trilogy, the maze runner and ender's game--this one did it! Very well written. Short enough and quick enough in plot development to keep any reader's attention...
I just couldnt put this one down. Looking for something to quench my insatiable thirst after the hunger games trilogy, the maze runner and ender's game--this one did it! Very well written. Short enough and quick enough in plot development to keep any reader's attention at all times, and yet chock full of enough detail to paint a full and everlasting picture without getting bogged down in it. A satisfying quick fix for a newly addicted sci-fi/fantasy/future dystopic society junkie!

posted by 9041297 on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

worst book of my LIFE!

okay so ive read a LOT of books in my life. not to brag or anything. and ill take a lot of odd ideas and diction. But this book here... its honestly the second worst book ive read in my life. the grammar was terrible to the point i rarely knew what the author was trying...
okay so ive read a LOT of books in my life. not to brag or anything. and ill take a lot of odd ideas and diction. But this book here... its honestly the second worst book ive read in my life. the grammar was terrible to the point i rarely knew what the author was trying to convey, and many of the ideas weren't explained like the "supplements". Also i dont know about the rest of ya'll but i like when the main character is half-way decent. I mean faults are okay, but dang! All the children have cringworthy attitudes! When i first got it i was excited. By the third chapter i was confused. Bodeen has a lot of work to do as an author. Do not waste your money on this book.

posted by booknerdette123 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    highly recommended - you must check it out!!

    when i went to the liberary this summer i was really indecisive picking a book. when i saw this book the story was detailed and very well written. you learn that the father of a very rich family builds a nuclear bomb shelter to fit his family for 15 years after the explosion. he predicts a nuclear war and gets his loved ones into the compound. most of them.out of dad, mom, lexie, eddy, gram, the narrater eli, and his sister, eddy and gram dont make it. the rest will live in the compound for 15 years. what will it be like when they get out? will there be any survivors? how does eli occasionally get a signal on his laptop? read "the compound" by S.A Boden to find out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Great book

    What would you be willing to do to survive? This is what Eli must face in The Compound as he decides when to draw the line between survival and insanity. Eli, the son of a billionaire who has prepared for nuclear war by building a fallout shelter to ensure his family's safety. Has Eli's dad gone too far? Is Eli safe or sorry? I would rate this book as an 8/10. It does have a bit of a slow start, but after that it is a gripping novel you can't put down. Could you mistake a father's love for insanity? It's jaw dropping ideas like that keeps the reader engaged. These are some of the reasons why I think this book will be successful. There are some controversial issues that some might find inappropriate. There is a possible reference to cannibalism; which some might find unsettling. This book is not for the faint of heart, but if you enjoy action, suspense and mystery this is the book for you. If I were to compare this book to another adventure twisting story it would be The Twilight Zone. It is very unpredictable and out there, much like the show. This book was a great read. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time you read it! This is why I would recommend this book to action/suspense loving readers everywhere.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    Amazing book!

    The book "The Compound", by S.A. Bodeen was published in 2009, and is intended for t for teens, between 12 and 15 years of age. "The Compound" is about a boy who's family is currently living in a nuclear bomb shelter. The boy Eli, misses what life used to be like, and he secretly blames his father for what has happened to his world. When Eli decides that he needs something more then what he is getting, he discovers a dark secret about the past, something that could change his future.
    The first thing I would like to say about "The Compound" is I definitely recommend reading it. It's a short read, only a couple hundred pages, and very enjoyable. My only regret about the book was that it was so short. I felt like the author could have put more detail and depth into the storyline, but as the book is for ages 12-15 I can also see why she kept it short.
    Another thing that I love about "The Compound" is the character depth. I have read quite a few books, in which the characters are shallow, and don't change at all throughout the story. In this book , however, that is not the case. As the main character, Eli, grows, the reader discovers more about the other characters, and how they have and are changing. Although the book is fiction, the characters seem almost real, each one with a different personality and little quirks that help make the reader come to love them, or hate them depending on who it is. Bodeen is exceptionally good at taking the faults of the character's and using them to help make them seem like real people.
    In conclusion, if you are searching for a good book right now, or just need something to read, then I definitely recommend "The Compound" by S.A. Bodeen. I expected this to be just another quick read, and only read it because I was bored. It was far from being boring, I had a hard time putting it down when I needed too. Everyone enjoys a good book, and I would classify the "The Compound " as a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo.com

    Eli has been living with his parents in The Compound for six years. The Compound is an elaborate nuclear bomb shelter his father spent an enormous amount of money to build in order to keep his family safe from nuclear fallout. The plan is to stay underground for fifteen years until the radiation danger has passed.

    Eli has had the hardest time adjusting to life in The Compound. In his six years there he has steadily distanced himself from everyone in the family. He maintains a strict schedule of exercise, studying, chores, and reading.

    His loneliness comes from the fact that not everyone made it to The Compound. During the nuclear attack that led his family there, Eddy, his identical twin, was accidentally left behind. Eddy snuck away with their Grandma without his parents knowing when their father chose to take the family underground. Their father had already locked the door when he realized Eddy and Grandma didn't make it.

    The locks were set for fifteen years and there wasn't any way to go back for them. Eli feels a hole in his life that no one or nothing can fill.

    Eli starts to take a hard look at what is going on in The Compound - and he doesn't have a good feeling. Food is running low, supplies are being depleted, and his father's behavior is changing. Eli suspects there is more going on than his father leads them to believe.

    Shocking surprises are about to be uncovered. Secrets never meant to be revealed are exposed. Eli is left with the job of saving his family. He will have to break the shell he has created around himself and build connections with the people he has tried to keep away in order to find the truth and survive.

    THE COMPOUND will remind you of the movie Blast from the Past, just without all the quirky, fun-loving humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2015

    Great Book

    I liked it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Pretty good.

    I loved the book. The plot was amazing and it really grabbed my attention. However, the flow of dialoge was hard to get through at certain points because I didn't know who was talking. Actually, it was more like someone said something but then a different person starts talking but its all in one line. Confusing. Then I didn't fully grasp why Eli would not let people touch him. It did not make sense to me and frankly kind of annoyed me. He was one of those characters that is really stubborn and you just want to slap him. Though, eventually I did grow to like him in a less "I want to frickin slap you" way. So even if certain things annoyed me, I still recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    I loved this book. Our teachers read this book to us and we were

    I loved this book. Our teachers read this book to us and we were begging for more. I thought it was great. It is a little hard to understand but its really good to read. you might have to reread some things but really good. when our teachers first read the summary/ blurb i thought i wouldn't enjoy it, but i did. you really have to be a dedicated reader or else you will be wasting your time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Gearing up for a different read, I pick up this book because th

    Gearing up for a different read, I pick up this book because the synopsis intrigued me. Being trapped in a compound for years captures me. I want to know what happen down there and most of all, I want to know how it all started.

    Plot: This story is really well written in dialogue and back round history. Learning how they got down there in the first place, really puts the reader in the characters shoes. How they live, eat and the things they do to keep themselves busy makes me wonder what is going on topside. Each chapter brings forth new details in which you can't help but follow. It's like a trail of bread crumbs leading up to some truth that you never see coming.

    Family: One thing this story does focus on is on family. It's all about trusting the father and being loyal to each other. But when things come to question, where does your loyalty lye then? What do you do? Do you trust your father or do you investigate? Well, this is where things get very tricky. I like that these questions posed for some great action and some heart-pounding sneaking around.

    Ending: Over the course of the story, parts are revealed that help the reader piece together the story beautifully. Once the reader learned the truth, it raised the hair on the back of my neck. Not only what this father did was brilliant but it was down right freaky!

    After concluding the story, I want to continue it. I think the ending gives the story another base to jump onto. There are still many unanswered questions and I'm hoping that the second book will give more answers. Nicely written and intriguing, The Compound is an excellent unfolding tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    J

    To the idiot who couldnt determine whether the main charcter was a boy or a girl, hes a boy. By the 12th page it already made two references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Nice

    Thought provoking and overall a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Z

    It was good. Not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Anoymous

    Okay, this story is about a rich family who get stranded underground by their dad. It was a pretty good book. I reccommend it for anyone 12 or older :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Hihihihihihihihiihhohihihhhihihihiyih

    Penutbutter jelly time ya i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Very Interesting Concept

    The only thing that I wish was revealed was the real reason the family was hidden away for six years. Otherwise is was a good story and anyone who likes this genre will enjoy it. There is an obvious set-up for a sequel, so will be on the lookout for it in the neaer future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great book

    Absolutly great. I loved the clasterphobic feeling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Answer

    It is appropiate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Awesome

    Kept me turning the "pages" great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    A book for the ages

    It is suspensive and has a huge twist. Kind of disturbing for young readers. Read it again and again it will never get old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Wow!

    A compelling read in young billoinaire/apocolypse survivor Eli's mind as he struggles to find a way back into normal life and out of his personal,luxurious prison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    I Good book

    I actualy got this book right before i got my nook. it was great. I liked it a lot definatly would recomend to almost any one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4