Customer Reviews for

The Compound

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

allnighter!!!

I just couldnt put this one down. Looking for something to quench my insatiable thirst after the hunger games trilogy, the maze runner and ender's game--this one did it! Very well written. Short enough and quick enough in plot development to keep any reader's attention...
I just couldnt put this one down. Looking for something to quench my insatiable thirst after the hunger games trilogy, the maze runner and ender's game--this one did it! Very well written. Short enough and quick enough in plot development to keep any reader's attention at all times, and yet chock full of enough detail to paint a full and everlasting picture without getting bogged down in it. A satisfying quick fix for a newly addicted sci-fi/fantasy/future dystopic society junkie!

posted by 9041297 on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

worst book of my LIFE!

okay so ive read a LOT of books in my life. not to brag or anything. and ill take a lot of odd ideas and diction. But this book here... its honestly the second worst book ive read in my life. the grammar was terrible to the point i rarely knew what the author was trying...
okay so ive read a LOT of books in my life. not to brag or anything. and ill take a lot of odd ideas and diction. But this book here... its honestly the second worst book ive read in my life. the grammar was terrible to the point i rarely knew what the author was trying to convey, and many of the ideas weren't explained like the "supplements". Also i dont know about the rest of ya'll but i like when the main character is half-way decent. I mean faults are okay, but dang! All the children have cringworthy attitudes! When i first got it i was excited. By the third chapter i was confused. Bodeen has a lot of work to do as an author. Do not waste your money on this book.

posted by booknerdette123 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    allnighter!!!

    I just couldnt put this one down. Looking for something to quench my insatiable thirst after the hunger games trilogy, the maze runner and ender's game--this one did it! Very well written. Short enough and quick enough in plot development to keep any reader's attention at all times, and yet chock full of enough detail to paint a full and everlasting picture without getting bogged down in it. A satisfying quick fix for a newly addicted sci-fi/fantasy/future dystopic society junkie!

    37 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good, good book...

    I don't know what to say about this book. Read the synopsis of the book on B&N and then dive in! A little bit of a cliche, but with some unexpected turns thrown in!

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Awesome plot!

    It's an excellent book. Very read-able if you're into incredible plot twists, confinement, rich guys, nuclear fallout, cliffhangers, and inhuman experiments. I was flippin' papers all night. I'd recommend it for ages 13+.

    -Michael McBride
    Timber Creek High School Class of 2012

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Definitely a Great Book

    I have recently read "The Compound" for a certain project. It was a good, mysterious book about a boy named Eli. At the beginning of the novel, he is nine years old. There was 'apparently' a disaster going on with nuclear explosions, so his dad took his family to escape to a secret compound. The compound is very safe, and no one can open it without a secret code, although no one even knows about it. Eli's brother, Eddy, and their grandma are left behind, so they are seemingly dead.
    In my opinion, "The Compound" is a great story. It gives you an intense image while reading. As more secrets are discovered, the reader would want to keep reading. There are many twists and turns to the story, as well as many unexpected outcomes.
    This is a great story to try out. "The Compound" will entertain almost all readers with its mysterious nature and excitement. Here is one little spoiler: everything is a total lie. Given that, and the plot summary above, you'd really be wondering how things could work out. I'll tell you only one thing, just read the story.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Crazy in luv with this book

    I dont care if im a girl and luv these kind of books its the ONLY ones ill read and they r the BEST!!!

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Anonymous

    This book is one of the best books i have ever read. It is amazingly well-written, with a cliffhanger at the end of every chapter. I read this book in a matter of hours! This book will appeal to all!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    An easy read.

    This book was definitely an easy read. Some say it is slow in the beginning, however I don't completely agree. Sure there isn't much action, but it was still interesting and necessary for the plot. I do agree that everything felt a bit rushed once Eli began questioning his father and investigating. The end sequence was also rushed and left me wishing the plot was more suspenseful. Overall though, a great read and supremely interesting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    highly recommended

    I have recently read the book The Compound, by S.A. Bodeen. I thought the book was great! It was about a boy named Eli and his family, and how they are trapped in a compound with their father. About half way through the story, which is about six years that they were trapped in the compound, Eli realizes that they need to get out. He has to go through many different "obstacles".
    Throughout the story, all the characters faced many problems. Eli faces the most problems because he is trying the hardest to get out. He punched his dad then had to take care of him, AND his mother who is feeling ill due to the baby coming. Eli also has to overcome his fear to touch the other children to help them escape. Yes, that's right. I said fear of touching other human beings. Eli has to step up and become the savior of the family and help them get out. I cannot really relate to this story because I have never been shoved into an underground world to live for sixteen years. Also, I don't have any sisters, but I do have two brothers.
    My favorite part of the book was when Eli got on the computer and got in touch with Eddy. That's when it occurred to Eli that they had to get out. He put his mind to get out and he did. He helped try to give coordinates to the compound. He figured out the code with the help of his sisters and they got out of the compound. Eli and Eddy were reunited and they could never be happier. I would definitely recommend this book to another person. The person that likes action, adventure, and surprise would like this book.
    If I get the chance I will read this book a hundred more times. This is a great book and it will always be one of the greats.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    absolutely love it

    when I first read this, my mind totally exploded. this book is the best I have read out of all the other ones. you have to check this out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    OMG A MUST REAS

    I WANT TO GIVE THIS BOOK A MILLON STARS!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    A great nail-biting mystery that can assure yourself that this book is a wonderful page turner.

    This book is a heart-pumping experience that will keep you on the edge of your seat for the whole ride. There are many twists and turns as young adult Eli's world is abruptly stopped from living the rich and easy life style. He must now learn to adapt to his new lifestyle, trust family, and enter the compound to escape a nuclear fallout. He must now find out is he safe, or sorry?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Good Book

    I give this book two thumbs up!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    you will be up till 5 in the morn' readin this book!!!

    This book defines the word secret. I just finished this book last night I tried to put it down but howerver could not... I loooovvvee to read and it hurt that this book ended. The passion and heart put in this book is amazing. The journey you take with Eli and his family is quite shocking and even disturbing, but my praise for this book never will stop...If you pick up this book you will not have any regrets TRUST ME! I wish there could be a sequel to this amazing novel.I HIGHLY reccommend this book!!! 'Love it like I did' You'll love page 190 btw...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    MUST READ"!!!"!!!

    this is an awesome book its mysterious and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The only time i wasnt reading it was when i was sleeping. If you know whats good for u youll read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This was an awsome book. Its mysterious and leaves you on the ed

    This was an awsome book. Its mysterious and leaves you on the edge of your seat. You wont want to stop reading it. You wont know whats coming next. Its easy to read, Recommended for teens.

    Bianca J.
    Timber Creek High School Class of 2014

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    This is an awesome book!!

    This book is a suspensful novel about a trillionaire family who builds a compound to prepare for the worst. Then the worst happens a "bomb" supposebly drops so they are locked in the compound. The kids soon findout that there was no bomb dropped and that there dad was crazy. The dad and mom secretly had a baby that whenhe got big enough they would eat him. When the kids find this out they get out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    The Compound

    If the whole world you used to know vanished in the blink of an eye and you had to live in a bunker for 15 years on spam and warm water. With no one but your annoying and literally psychotic family. How would you make it for 15 long years? This is what Eli has to go through. His father made the compound in case of a nuclear attack and that very so happened to the city of Seattle. Now he has been in the compound for 6 years now, wanting a way out. Will he be able to escape? Will he be killed? Or suffer from radiation poisoning?
    In the book, The Compound, there are parts where people might eat other people and cloning also may occur which may be offensive to some people. Mainly teens and young adults would probably like this book along with people who like realistic fiction books. This book reminds me of how the United States nuked Hiroshima, Japan. As well, to me it was great hearing about the things Eli must go through without beef jerky and a sane family. The Compound teaches us how we take so many things for granted. Sure he has a gym and a TV but no meat and fresh chocolate. This book is breath taking; Tons of people are fans of The Compound. I'd rate this book a five out of five.
    Will Eli survive in The Compound? If he can how on earth can you get out of a door that's opened by punching in 1,000,000,000 numbers anyway? Who knows, he is a quite bright kid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2015

    best ever

    Best book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2015

    ??

    Ive read the raft and loved it ...how my pages if thiz book..would apperciate it if someone would gt back to me thanks.:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    10 and up

    My son LOVES this book! He cant get enough of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11