Customer Reviews for

Concealed in Death (In Death Series #38)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love this series.   It is one of my top auto-buys and 38 books

I love this series.   It is one of my top auto-buys and 38 books later it is still going strong.  Eve seems to be getting better, more comfortable in her own skin.  A lot of that has to do with her support system and her competence on the job.  Eve will always stand for...
I love this series.   It is one of my top auto-buys and 38 books later it is still going strong.  Eve seems to be getting better, more comfortable in her own skin.  A lot of that has to do with her support system and her competence on the job.  Eve will always stand for the dead but when the dead are children it makes it that much tougher.  I devoured this book and await the next action packed entry into this incredible series.

posted by 1_trouble on February 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Review

Im a huge fan of this series, but last few books just havent been as good as others. Its like she is just trying to get the book written and out to the masses. She use to have alittle more humor involved with her characters. Feeney wasnt even mentioned in this book. I...
Im a huge fan of this series, but last few books just havent been as good as others. Its like she is just trying to get the book written and out to the masses. She use to have alittle more humor involved with her characters. Feeney wasnt even mentioned in this book. I was glad to see a new character in the mix but still like hearing more about sommerset, feeney, mcnab, mavis and leonardo, mira and dennis. Dallas and peabody are key of course, and you can never get enough of roarke, but she is losing about 6 of us due to this lack luster writing in the last several books in this series.

posted by 906755 on February 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Review

    Im a huge fan of this series, but last few books just havent been as good as others. Its like she is just trying to get the book written and out to the masses. She use to have alittle more humor involved with her characters. Feeney wasnt even mentioned in this book. I was glad to see a new character in the mix but still like hearing more about sommerset, feeney, mcnab, mavis and leonardo, mira and dennis. Dallas and peabody are key of course, and you can never get enough of roarke, but she is losing about 6 of us due to this lack luster writing in the last several books in this series.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series.   It is one of my top auto-buys and 38 books

    I love this series.   It is one of my top auto-buys and 38 books later it is still going strong.  Eve seems to be getting better, more comfortable in her own skin.  A lot of that has to do with her support system and her competence on the job.  Eve will always stand for the dead but when the dead are children it makes it that much tougher.  I devoured this book and await the next action packed entry into this incredible series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Did Nora Roberts aka j.d. robb really write this book. The writ

    Did Nora Roberts aka j.d. robb really write this book. The writing style, the dialogue was so not what one would expect in the characters. Eve's snappy repartee was not so snappy. It was as though stand-ins were playing their parts. I have read every book in the death series and I felt cheated with book. One more like this one and the next title could be "written in death."

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Who does your proof reading?

    The coat she wore during the first meet with Roarke was black, not grey. The ugly suit she wore was grey. The black coat was on loan from Mavis.
    There were a number of other errors, but the one mentioned above was major. I really enjoy the characters, but I would like some background family for Dallas. Also Eve needs to get over her phobia regarding children.
    Overall, the book held my interest, so I gave it 3 stars.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    I have read all the "In death books" at least 3 times.

    I have read all the "In death books" at least 3 times. I was really disappointed in the newest one "Concealed in Death" Not up to her normal writing style. I didn't care for the plot and especially the ending.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Thistlefang

    Here?

    4 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    I love the series. However this book was very lacking in spunk c

    I love the series. However this book was very lacking in spunk compared to the others. I actually got bored with it so much that I skipped pages just to get to the end. Something really was amiss here and I do hope that it's gone and it's back to writing great books that we love to read. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    This episode of the "In Death" series was far quieter

    This episode of the "In Death" series was far quieter than any of the others. It doesn't have Eve kicking butt like she usually does. She is still working to solve the deaths of the victims, but because they have been dead for 15 years, it seems more detached. Concealed in Death is much sadder than the earlier books. Probably because the victims were children, who for the most part didn't have good lives to begin with. I did enjoy Eve's relationship with the Mira's. Dennis Mira, is such a sweet character, and his fatherly personality is so charming. I am a big fan of J. D. Robb's work and look forward to the more from Eve and Roarke. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Meh. I like mysteries, I like science fiction, and I like strong

    Meh. I like mysteries, I like science fiction, and I like strong female leads. This book was adequate in all of the above, but just did not have that "sparkle" that I expect from the series. Maybe Nora/J.D. is getting tired of the characters. Maybe, as some have suggested, somebody ghost-wrote it. The writing was competent, but somebody let the air out of the characters - they were all kind of flat. Plus, most of the secondary characters merely made an appearance, they weren't really involved in the story in any substantive way. All in all, it was still better than many of the self-published books I've read (I read a lot of those, because they're cheap and my reading appetite doesn't allow me to feast exclusively on professionally edited & published books). But it was in no way as outstanding as some of the other books in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    I love this series but this book is not as good as the previous

    I love this series but this book is not as good as the previous ones. I can't believe I am saying this about an Eve Dallas book but it was boring. Another reviewer suggested that someone other than JD Robb might haven't it and I think they are on to something there. I hope the next book is not boring as this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    Nora Roberts (JD Robb) does it again. Excellent book with a lot

    Nora Roberts (JD Robb) does it again. Excellent book with a lot of police work and 12 dead teenagers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    A little sad, a little mad

    Although this story remains true to Eve and Roarke and all the In Death crew, it isn't as engaging or fun as many of them are. A very cold case, a connection that feels half hearted and almost no action make this a weak addition to a wonderful series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    They just keep getting better. Love Eve and Roake they are my fa

    They just keep getting better. Love Eve and Roake they are my favorite couple. Mira and Dennis added there special brand of humor love and calm and Mavis and Leonardo and baby Bella add some serious and fun spots to the story which kept me guessing almost to the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    I love this series!  This is not my favorite book in the series,

    I love this series!  This is not my favorite book in the series, but it still very vood.  A change of pace as Eve and the gang are working a cold case.  
    The error regarding where the button Roarke keeps bothered me, it's been part of rhe story line throughout the series.  Someone should have caught it before 
    The book was published.  In contrast the scene with Roarke and Leonardo where Leonardo talks about not being able to imagine his life without Mavis was the perfect  echo of a conversation Roarke had with
    Summerset about Eve.  All in all another fine installment of a fabulous series.          

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    This was my favorite series, I have read them over many time but

    This was my favorite series, I have read them over many time but this one was a disappointment. You could tell that someone else wrote it.
    I can only guess that Nora(J.D.Robb) my have outline the story and then handed it off to a ghost writer. The characters that we know and love were not themselves.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Predictable

    I have read every one of the In Death series and usually enjoy the story line and the sarcasm. This book was not bad but it wasn't that good either. You pretty much figured most of it out by chapter 5. This won't keep me from reading upcoming books in the series, it was just disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    A Little Off

    Her characters are still Eve and Roarke but plot felt a little rushed, espcially the ending. Story had a good surprise but just needed something more. Roarke didn't have enough envolvement and when he did, he just kind of jumped like a trained dog. I love this series and can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Disappointing

    I am a big fan of the death series, but the writing style in this book was disappointing. It was so unlike the JD Robb I have come to admire I feel cheated and even wonder if she didn't put her name on another writers work. The change of writing style was so distracting from page one I couldn't enjoy the story. If I had purchased a hard back I would have returned it before the end of the first chapter. JD shame on you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me spellbound. I thought I had it figured out but got a nic

    Kept me spellbound. I thought I had it figured out but got a nice surprise in the end. Also we get a bit of Mavis's background. I like how the In Death series just continues on. Can't wait until the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    One of her best

    I wait for J.D. Robb - can't get enough of her stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9