Customer Reviews for

The Concrete Blonde (Harry Bosch Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 304 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Concrete Blonde

Before I read this book (I decided to read all of Connelly's books in order, which I would advice to do to anyone who is interested in reading Connelly, which you should), I stopped halfway through two books that were by no means bad books, but I just wasn't in the mood...
Before I read this book (I decided to read all of Connelly's books in order, which I would advice to do to anyone who is interested in reading Connelly, which you should), I stopped halfway through two books that were by no means bad books, but I just wasn't in the mood to read them. However, I think Connelly's writing hooks you in so it doesn't matter what mood your in, his plot and his amazing character Harry Bosch, one of the greatest detectives in modern crime literature, maybe in the history of the genre, will lure you in. I never like to reveal plot, because you could just read that in the synopsis. I would definitely recommend this book and all of Michael Connelly's books, in the order of publication. I would also like to recommend my other favorite crime novelists, George Pelecanos, Dennis Lehane, and Richard Price. Also watch The Wire, the greatest television show ever made, the three writers I just mentioned write for the show and I always felt that Connelly should have as well.

posted by McCarthy92 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very Highly Recommended

Michael Connelly is one of the (if not the) smoothest writers I have ever read. His stories are so captivating, fast-paced and believable they are like "mind movies." No wonder people had to stand on line for 5 hours in the Hamptons recently to get his autograph! I c...
Michael Connelly is one of the (if not the) smoothest writers I have ever read. His stories are so captivating, fast-paced and believable they are like "mind movies." No wonder people had to stand on line for 5 hours in the Hamptons recently to get his autograph! I cannot give him enough praise. And Harry Bosch is just SO WAY COOL. MC's books are great for anyone who wants a good time on a rollercoaster of emotions. I can't wait to get to my next book. If you have not checked out Michael Connelly's books yet, don't deprive yourself of a great experience any longer. Start with "The Black Echo" which is the beginning of the Harry Bosch story. Enjoy!

I gave a 1 star rating because I object to publishers' high prices for ebooks.

posted by miss_dobie on September 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Concrete Blonde

    Before I read this book (I decided to read all of Connelly's books in order, which I would advice to do to anyone who is interested in reading Connelly, which you should), I stopped halfway through two books that were by no means bad books, but I just wasn't in the mood to read them. However, I think Connelly's writing hooks you in so it doesn't matter what mood your in, his plot and his amazing character Harry Bosch, one of the greatest detectives in modern crime literature, maybe in the history of the genre, will lure you in. I never like to reveal plot, because you could just read that in the synopsis. I would definitely recommend this book and all of Michael Connelly's books, in the order of publication. I would also like to recommend my other favorite crime novelists, George Pelecanos, Dennis Lehane, and Richard Price. Also watch The Wire, the greatest television show ever made, the three writers I just mentioned write for the show and I always felt that Connelly should have as well.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    A wonderful read

    The first two in the series were good books and moved along fairly well but the third in the series was a 'can't put it down no sleep book' Read this in a weekend. This is turning out to be as good a series as Sandford's Prey novels.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    WOW!!!

    Great read always some twist to the plot at the end, always leaving you on the edge wanting to read more and more. Connelly at his finest. Great book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Another winner

    After reading several Harry Bosch books out of order I am going back and starting from the beginning. Tweists and turns abound I could not put this down! Loved it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Highly Recommended

    Michael Connelly is one of the (if not the) smoothest writers I have ever read. His stories are so captivating, fast-paced and believable they are like "mind movies." No wonder people had to stand on line for 5 hours in the Hamptons recently to get his autograph! I cannot give him enough praise. And Harry Bosch is just SO WAY COOL. MC's books are great for anyone who wants a good time on a rollercoaster of emotions. I can't wait to get to my next book. If you have not checked out Michael Connelly's books yet, don't deprive yourself of a great experience any longer. Start with "The Black Echo" which is the beginning of the Harry Bosch story. Enjoy!

    I gave a 1 star rating because I object to publishers' high prices for ebooks.

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2000

    The Concrete Blond

    Harry Bosch has grown on me. I was obsessed with Robert Crais's Elvis Cole but Harry Bosch has stolen me away. He lives on the edge and fears nothing. And he is clever. This book keeps you guessing and delivers in the end. I can't wait for his newest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vintage Harry Bosch with great thrills and twists!

    This one kept me guessing until the very end. On one occasion I really thought I had figured it out. In my own defense, I think Connelly steered us in that direction and when the characters in the book announced my belief I thought YES! I was right.. and then No! I wasn't. This book has an incredible twist ending.

    This book was also equal parts legal thriller as police procedural. This book takes place while Harry and the LAPD are on trial for the supposed wrongful death of an innocent man. The man’s widow says that her husband was not the Dollmaker, as Harry and the LAPD had determined.

    The Dollmaker trial is a nice bit of continuity since we heard about the Dollmaker killing in at least one of the previous two books.

    Harry and the LAPD are convinced they have the right man until another letter from the Dollmaker and a new body surfaces with all of the murderer’s characteristics. Has a serial killer been allowed to roam free while an innocent man took the blame? Did Harry kill the wrong man? All will be revealed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Harry Bosch so far.

    Harry Bosch is back and doesn't disappoint. The grit and reality that Connelly is famous for. I can't wait to read number four.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Great who done it!

    Great who done it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    DIRTY BOSCH

    Detective Bosch is as real a fictional character I can imagine. He is an intelligent force. And he brings it to bear solving The Concrete Blonde. The book is a steady read that you love. I won't tell you more. I hate people telling me about a book I am about to read. Get a copy and enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Excellent Read

    Talk about muti tasking! here we have Harry Bosch answering for events that occured 4 years ealier... at the same time there is another series of murders happening.... between court finding the "follower" and tryin to make is girlfriend happy u would think harry has his hands full but not so! he pulls it off with the style that makes harry how he is. lol
    dont want to give away too much but you have a lawyer you want to hate a great parnter who betrays harry and nosey reporter and a new found friendship with the assistant chief irving.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Very enjoyable read.

    Well written and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch ser

    I am currently reading all of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch series in order, and I LOVE them. I am a big mystery/detective story fan, and I have tried so many different series from different authors, but I finally found the one for me! What can I say? I often find myself not really liking the main characters in novels, but I truly like Harry; he is a good guy - not perfect, but he works hard, isn't a womanizer, and isn't overly macho. All of the stories are well-written, realistic, contain surprises and twists, and keep me hooked until the very end. My favorites have been The Black Echo (#1), The Concrete Blonde (#3), Trunk Music (#5), City of Bones (#8), The Narrows (#10), although again - I enjoyed all of them. If you like detective mystery novels, you won't be disappointed with Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Great book-Check it out!

    Very easy read. I had read this series a little out of order (didnt know it was a series at first) so this is the 4th in the series that I have read thus far. And this is my favorite to date. Would suggest the series to everyone and defiantly this one in particular.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    AWESOME

    I love this series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    OTHER GODS' AND GODDESSES' CABIN

    Leader- Benny Williams.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Benny

    I call a top bunk!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Hush

    Let me send you the texts? Maybe if you recieved those from the person you like, you'd cry too. I was a slut. I'm not now. Haven't had sex in the past couple of weeks. I have lots of problems, but l don't see anybody but myself solving them. At least l can tell a guy to his face that l don't want him, but want another person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Remove f words would shorten the f ing story

    Cheapens any story as did use of slang nothing dates a book more than trying to make it fit the era remember dialect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16