Customer Reviews for

A Confederacy of Dunces

Average Rating 4
( 363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

What can I say? It's the best.

Ignatius J. Reilly, Toole's main character in this hilarious tour de force, stands alone atop the heap of modern anti-heroes. After reading Confederacy, one never encounters the wackiness of life without asking, "What would Ignatius do?" This book, testimony to Toole'...
Ignatius J. Reilly, Toole's main character in this hilarious tour de force, stands alone atop the heap of modern anti-heroes. After reading Confederacy, one never encounters the wackiness of life without asking, "What would Ignatius do?" This book, testimony to Toole's brave genius, takes aim at the twin inanities of multiculturalism and political correctness, years before they fouled our national consciousness. Don't get me wrong. Toole is absolutely fair and even-handed: everybody gets theirs in this fearless and funny book. The plot is tight. The action is fast-paced. The characters are memorable. The ending is madly happy. And along the way, every page is crammed with humor, insight and deeply appreciative humanity. Long live JK Toole! Long live Ignatius!

posted by bossbaggs on October 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Big Letdown

I find it very difficult to dislike books but this one has achieved a rare distinction. It's probably the first book I've read that didn't have a single positive. I failed to relate to the characters and the plot was mundane, writing banal.

I love authors like Wodeh...
I find it very difficult to dislike books but this one has achieved a rare distinction. It's probably the first book I've read that didn't have a single positive. I failed to relate to the characters and the plot was mundane, writing banal.

I love authors like Wodehouse and Vonnegut. Catch-22 and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy are the kind of books that make me laugh every time I read them. In contrast, Confederacy of Dunces was torturous and mind numbing.

Think of the cheapest slapstick you've seen and imagine a prosaic literary version of the same or think of time when a joke that was funny in your head fell flat when you said it and imagine stretching it into a book.

I guess many people appreciate this book so there must be something in it that I've missed. My advice is - Check out the reviews in detail before spending some hard earned cash on this one.

posted by 3600798 on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Really, there is nothing quite like it -

    I read this book a few years ago and it still makes me laugh when I think of it. I can't wait to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Loved it

    A whirlwind of witticism!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Got it from a friend. Pretty awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Must read!

    One of my all time favorite books. It is hilarious and poignant and should be mandatory reading for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Dreadful...

    Absolutely horrid book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Describes me well

    I am loathe to admit that I love this book so much because I truly identify with Iggy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Fav

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Funniest Book Ever

    This book is so true to the culture of New Orleans, LA. the characters the language every aspect. It is a classic because even though this was written in the 60's it plays like it is today. This book is so funny that when I try to tell people about it I just break out laughing. It's like reading a Richard Pryor movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    ? Adofe Adored this fabulous book

    A family favorite

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Classic

    My only regret after reading this insane and wonderful book was knowing there wouldnt be another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Should have been no stars but apparently B&N doesn¿t allow t

    Should have been no stars but apparently B&N doesn’t allow that. This story is not funny, intelligent nor humorous....Ignatius J. Reilly is just an annoying character and the plotline is bores after the first chapter or so. Don’t waste your money on this, I’m sorry I did.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Underrated Unknown Genius

    How could I love such an unlovable character?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Those who know, know the best of the best cannot be beat!

    Those who know, know the best of the best cannot be beat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    straight to the paper recycling bin

    not funny, not charming, amusing, absorbing, I read the first half, skimmed the last half looking for some redeeming quality, then threw into the recycling bin so no one else would have to suffer reading this piece of trash
    would give it zero stars if possible!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    A hilarious obnoxious masterpiece! A Confederacy

    A hilarious obnoxious masterpiece!

    A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole is a hilarious story of a 30 yr. old, arrogant perverted oaf Ignatius J. Riley whose mother is getting sick of him laying around the house doing nothing with his “highly educated” life. Ignatius’s job experiences will leave you being humiliated for him, with his overbearing personality. Besides of the main character, there are many other original characters whose odd, awkward situations adds to the humor of the novel.
    If there was a main plot in this book, the plot would be seeing Ignatius go through his pathetic life trying to get a job and try to become one with society, along with him trying to write his horrendous “book”. Yet there is many other stories going on in this book, besides the “main plot” making it hard to summarize the book in its entirety beginning, from odd sexual situations to hilarious events that take place with hot dogs; there will never be a dull moment during this book.
    Throughout the book though you get a sense that Ignatius will never really go anywhere in life and he will be stuck living with his mother and working the abnormal jobs nobody wants.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to LOL and just have a good time, it was well written book with innovative fresh characters with an underlying sense of hopelessness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole is a humorous no


    A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole is a humorous novel of a thirty year old man named Ignatius J. Riley who believes that he is superior to the rest of the world’s population. It starts off with him close to being arrested while waiting for his mother whom is in the store. He starts a riot and escapes to a bar where he complains about everything. He brings up his valve constantly in the novel. Every other sentence he was complaining about his “valve”. He blames his mother and other people around him on things he did. Nothing is his fault. He cannot keep a job, and loses his job in a humorous way. He is cruel and unusual to people who try to help him and writes very nasty letters.
    Throughout the whole book, his mother complains about how Ignatius is wasting his life and his education. She complains constantly but does not do a thing about it. This goes on throughout the whole novel and even her friends get tired of it. Ignatius may be the main character in this novel, but it brings up many other characters perspectives and stories, which tends to make it hard to follow. This book is has a very pessimistic point of view and for people who believe in looking for the good in everything, may be a hard, or aggravating book to read. The main point of this book is to show how Ignatius has a twisted, abnormal and arrogant way of living.
    This book was very well written, and very comical. Although, it is hard to read at times, overall it was a thrilling and comical, well-written novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Best book i ever read

    Funny and witty! The characters were mesmerising. I highly recommend this book plus it is Billy Bob Thorton's favorite book. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I purchased this book when it was first in print. Since that time I had lent it out and did not get it back. I enjoyed the book so much that it was worth buying a second time. If you are from New Orleans, you will love the settings of times gone buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Hilarious

    This is a perennial favorite of mine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19