Customer Reviews for

The Confederacy of Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!! Why is it free???

This is easily the BEST free ebook I've read. I wasn't really sold based on the synopsis given here; but hey, it was free, so I gave it a try anyway. Within a couple of chapters I had decided that if I had paid for the book, it would have been totally worth it. The w...
This is easily the BEST free ebook I've read. I wasn't really sold based on the synopsis given here; but hey, it was free, so I gave it a try anyway. Within a couple of chapters I had decided that if I had paid for the book, it would have been totally worth it. The writing style, main character, and even some elements of the plot remind me a bit of The Hunger Games (which was obviously a hugely popular book), so if you liked that one, definitely give this one a try. The main character is a 17-year-old girl but this book will definitely appeal to a wide audience, young and old. The plot and characters are compelling (I couldn't put it down) and it is, refreshingly, REALLY well written. I get really distracted and annoyed by bad grammar/sentence structure or when authors obviously don't really understand all of the words they try to use... but there was NONE of that in this book. I think I noticed two typos in the whole thing. That's better than a lot of ebooks you have to pay for!! The only possible reason for this book being free is that the author never tried to sell it... because it would definitely sell. Keep writing, Ms. Taylor, and I'll be first in line to buy your next book!

posted by elweiser on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing world that will make you think.

This is one of the most difficult books around i have tried to review. First of all, while being basically a heroes journey, the world it is set in is one of the most creative i have ever read about. For that reason alone, you should check this book out. It has good plo...
This is one of the most difficult books around i have tried to review. First of all, while being basically a heroes journey, the world it is set in is one of the most creative i have ever read about. For that reason alone, you should check this book out. It has good plot progression and character development, but seems to be choppy in parts. Its almost as though parts of it were written in haste, trying to get these ideas on paper, and others didnt have much thought put into them. The romantic aspect seemed rushed, as well as the ending. All said, seeing the premise fleshed out is worth the time spent reading.

posted by 9329713 on December 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Fantastic!! Why is it free???

    This is easily the BEST free ebook I've read. I wasn't really sold based on the synopsis given here; but hey, it was free, so I gave it a try anyway. Within a couple of chapters I had decided that if I had paid for the book, it would have been totally worth it. The writing style, main character, and even some elements of the plot remind me a bit of The Hunger Games (which was obviously a hugely popular book), so if you liked that one, definitely give this one a try. The main character is a 17-year-old girl but this book will definitely appeal to a wide audience, young and old. The plot and characters are compelling (I couldn't put it down) and it is, refreshingly, REALLY well written. I get really distracted and annoyed by bad grammar/sentence structure or when authors obviously don't really understand all of the words they try to use... but there was NONE of that in this book. I think I noticed two typos in the whole thing. That's better than a lot of ebooks you have to pay for!! The only possible reason for this book being free is that the author never tried to sell it... because it would definitely sell. Keep writing, Ms. Taylor, and I'll be first in line to buy your next book!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Compelling

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well paced, intriguing, three-dimensional and complex characters. It was hard to put down.
    It may seem like a small matter, but I REALLY appreciated that this book had been well-edited and proof-read. There were no distracting errors, or wrong use of words because the author had allowed spell check to make all her decisions for her. I have high praise for Margaret Taylor, and will look forward to reading more of her work.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Amazing world that will make you think.

    This is one of the most difficult books around i have tried to review. First of all, while being basically a heroes journey, the world it is set in is one of the most creative i have ever read about. For that reason alone, you should check this book out. It has good plot progression and character development, but seems to be choppy in parts. Its almost as though parts of it were written in haste, trying to get these ideas on paper, and others didnt have much thought put into them. The romantic aspect seemed rushed, as well as the ending. All said, seeing the premise fleshed out is worth the time spent reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    good even for a free book

    i really like this book. it took a while to get into but once i did there was still a good amount of the book left for a good read. i finally found a good free book the was actually a full book. READ IT!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Great Read

    It's a little slow at the beginning, and then it'll pick up pace as you read. But it's a wonderful story, and could use only a little polish in order to bring it to a shining gem. Some of the fast-moving parts could use a little more details, for example.

    But Taylor builds an amazing world and culture, one that can capture the imagination if you give it a chance to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    awesome!

    for a free book this is awesome! its a full book with a cool plot and good charaters. im glad i downloaded it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Avidfantasyreader

    This book is a great blend of science fiction and fantasy. Could not put this book down. I cant describe this book. It does take place on earth in the future. The gods hav punished man for their arrogance and technolical wars. The heroin unbeknownst to her, is picked as the second representative convince the stars (gods) to take back their punishment. The punishment had been no rain for 200 years an releasing man eating pteradactlys and a few demons on earth, which has the effect of turning the population back to the dark ages, but living among the deserted and mostly unusable wreckage of th modern age. Great book. Follow the heroins story a become a huge fan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Amazing!

    I downloaded this book with few expectations, and I was pleasantly surprised. I loved it. I would suggest this book to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Amazing

    If i were sure i was spelling phenomonal right i would have put that. While there are some parts of the story that could use a little reworking to bring it up to par with the rest of the story, this was an amazing read. The author has a lot of talent and even more potential. I would and will recommend this story to everyone. It's real, asks pertinent questions that make you think, and most of all... it tells a great story. Thank you Ms. Taylor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Great read!

    I normally don't care for post-apocalyptic stories, but this one was really good. I couldn't stop reading it! It's a full length novel, which is my preference. The main character is believable and full of faults, rather than the super-human lead that so many books have. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    Recommend

    I absolutely LOVED this book, the different trials and tribulations Nasan is thrown into takes you on a journey and u feel as though your right there with her. I couldn't stand to put the Nook down, in fear I'd miss something. I only gave it four stars because I felt as though the ending was rushed and didn't allow me enough closure to Nissan's journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    A Different Type of Confederacy

    This was a spectacular novel. The basic story is very different from what you would expect, especially because of the word "confederacy." The characters were well rounded, and the story flowed, making me not to want to put the novel down until I finished it (Unfortunately I had to do so a couple times, though.) Not only did I fall in love with the main character, that actually happened with some of the "bad" guys. If you like a good apocolyptic story that yells "I am different from all the others" throughout, then pick up this book. You will be glad you did so!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Great

    Story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Tedious

    Skipped pages-something l haven't done since i was ten years old-63 years ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    This kinda like warriors. By the way i love that series and im only ten. So get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Nice read

    Very sad this had to end. Not my normal historical read but I loved it from cover to cover. I write this because I read so many reviews that seem to be jaded. This is a quality story well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Great for all ages, characters where engaging, plot was awesome, and the end was.satisfing and left me want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Help

    How many pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Dry and uninspiring

    I had to struggle through this and only finished it because of morbid curiosity. I'm tempted to go back and read reviews to see how it is ranked so high. I have 147 pages left to read and I keep telling myself just finish it so you can move on to a new and better book! It is much like eating a horrible meal as a child the ones you had to suffer through so you didn't get a spanking lol... maybe you'll find some merit in it if you choose to read it. Good luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Pleasntly surprised

    Original fun read couldnt stop once i started highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5