Customer Reviews for

Confession

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Corrupt

    I can not believe how corrupt the state of NJ really is. Other than that political lesson, if McGreevey is honest and sincere I find it incredible sad for him to have lived most of his life feeling he had deny himself who he really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Way to compartmentalize...

    When I was young, I envied gay married men that could keep their gay life separate from their straight life. It was as if they put their gay feelings on a shelf. I envied how they lived their straight lives fully functional with little or no struggle. I so much wanted to be like them. I stopped envying them a long time ago. Now I only feel sorry for them. But it wasn't until I read McGreevey's autobiography that I realized how great a price these men paid for compartmentalizing. Keep working at getting to know the real you, McGreevey, it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Political Brokeback Mountain

    This is a political Brokeback Mountain played out against the buildings and politics of 9/11. McGreevy's story betrays gay Americans and himself. At times this book is pageturner. At other times this is near-sticky romance novel filled with oblated and failed heterosexual and homosexual relationships. Only a gay technocrat may write so completely, a non-fiction work so wonkishly completely. The typical service and sacrifice platitudes typical in most politicians' memoirs are written by McGreevy. McGreevy's novel fails to reveal the true self beyond the politically superficial. McGreevy needs to add U.S. gays to the list of people he makes amends to in his 12-step addiction meetings, as spoken of in the non-fiction work of fiction. McGreevy admits in the book that he used anti-gay rhetoric to sway New Jersey voters, while being a member of the brotherhood himself. McGreevy stood against gay marriage and only for a very limited form of civil unions (if you were over 65-years-old). McGreevy defended marriage so much, he had two failed heterosexual marriages. Read this book while holding your nose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2006

    Another Contrived Confession

    As a New Jersey resident, I give the book two stars for Disappointing. While it's a page turner, I felt like I was only seeing one very spinned side of his story. The details of his political and personal dealings were sensational and salacious, yet he seems to give himself a pass for his actions. Insight is not often found on these pages. Personally, I don't care if he's gay or Republican, I found his behavior towards women - both those he married and used to fool others about his sexuality - bordering on sociopathic. It made me sad New Jersey had such a morally corrupt Govenor. The state deserved better. I bought this book because I had a great deal of sympathy for Jim since his August 2004 relevation, I completed this book feeling sick that this self-centered, self-absorped, person, could actually achieve the office of executive of our state. Careless, corrupt and incompetent for this leadership position, it's a relief he banished himself from Trenton. Like many other New Jerseyans, I wonder still what the real reason for this departure was, certainly, NJ would have embraced an openly gay governor. What does Jim still need to confess?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Not an easy task........

    The reality is that a lot of men and women suffer the same dilema as Mcgreevy did, hiding and then coming out in the closet(others actually remain hiding). I know it is not easy for a lot of people to understand that and you don't expect it either. There are a few people like jim who has gone that far and has the courage to do so esp considering his complicated situation. If I were him, I would probably have no guts to write a book (guesting in oprah, etc)about these 'struggles' and I admire him for doing that, such a feat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    A reviewer

    James McGreevey gives a transparent and bold look into his life. The book is suspenseful but it appears to have an agenda. There is more justification than sorrow. The author carefully uses words to move the reader from the profound mistakes of the former governor to pity. It seems that society, religion and ethics were on trial, without having a chance to even take the stand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    How to be an incompetent boob, screw up, and blame it on being gay

    Poor little fella. Couldn't run the most corrupt state in the union. Got in too deep and rather than saying, 'I've done you folks in New Jersey a terrible wrong' he bails out and blames it on being a Gay American. The Gay community should be in an uproar and shun McGreevy and his book. Imagine blaming his failure on being gay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    How to come out of the closet and find the man of your dreams and live happily ever after in a mansion

    This is a deeply troubling, and also an altogether spell-binding book. Nevertheless, I think that had James McGreevey himself written ¿The Confession¿, using his own heart-felt words, instead of asking the ghost writer David France to write it, this book would have made a much stronger impact on the readers because, heart-felt words have enough intrinsic power to not only penetrate the reader¿s mind, but also to occupy it and stay there ingrained for a very long time. Ghost writing is akin to drawing a portrait using a pencil and then asking the ghost writer to fill-in the colors. I remember that day vividly- August 12, 2004, when James McGreevey, with his lovely wife Dina Matos and his parents by his side, and surrounded by a few friends and well-wishers also, in a strong and clear voice announced to the world: ¿At a point in every person's life one has to look deeply into the mirror of one's soul and decide one's unique truth in the world. Not as we may want to see it or hope to see it, but as it is. And so my truth is that I am a gay American ¿.¿ This book is not just a ¿coming out of the closet¿ kind of memoir. It has a great deal of information about the corruption rampant in our two-party system. And it has a lot to say about homophobia in general, and how our society treats homosexuals in particular and drives them into dark closets well hidden from sight. ¿I lived not in one closet but in many,¿ James McGreevey has written. This book is full of surprises. There are passages that state stark realities about our political parties: ¿You can¿t take large sums of money from people without making them specific and personal promises in return. People weren¿t shy about saying what they expected for their ¿investments¿ ¿ board appointments to the Sports Authority or the New Jersey Economic Development Authority, for example, which were coveted not just for their prestige but because they offered control over tremendously potent economic engines, with discretionary budgets in the tens of millions.¿ And there are passages that caused me a great deal of shock and also pain: ¿I visited bookstores in New York and New Jersey and had sex in the small booths there until I became too famous to risk discovery. I lurked around parkway rest stops, exchanging false names and intimacies with strangers. But there never was an emotional meaning to these trysts, even the few that were repeat engagements.¿ Many a times I also smiled at the purple prose: ¿Moonlight squinted through the stained-glass windows into our garden, catching an inviting eye or a face stretched in ecstasy.¿ There are passages that caused me horror and disbelief also, as there are lyrical passages that gave me a great deal of joy. And there are passages galore that jump at you from the pages like gazelles with the galloping force of stunning truth: ¿Every night, rain or shine, this hidden pocket of Washington filled with men just like me ¿ almost all of them wearing business suits and, on most of their left hands, proof that they¿d made the same compromises I had. We were the power brokers and backroom operatives and future leaders of America. We just happened to be gay.¿ In this book McGreevey has asked quite a few profound questions: ¿How do you live with such shame? How do you accommodate your own revulsion with whom you have become?¿ And he has answered them also: ¿You do it by splitting in two.¿ While reading the book I experienced the whole gamut of emotions: I was astonished, stunned and horrified, and I felt dejected and profoundly sad also. I admired his courage in coming out of his closet ¿ although I also thought at times that he was driven, quite literally, out of it by Golan Cipel, the man of his dreams, who threatened to file a law suit claiming sexual harassment. Also, several times I stopped to ponder : What would a boy aged sixteen, who goes to the local library (as James McGreevey did) to read about homosexuality, to try to understand his i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1