Customer Reviews for

The Confession

Average Rating 4
( 5103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1865)

4 Star

(1420)

3 Star

(956)

2 Star

(454)

1 Star

(408)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I have read all John Grisham books, and this one didn't disappoint. Loved it.

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A Grigham DUD

I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to...
I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to my rector & stay with writing like you did in the begining. So many of my favorite authors have stooped to tearful whining, that I may have to find someone new to read. I will give Mr. Grisham one more chance, then I'm done.

posted by biff on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5155 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 258
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Emotion-filled read

    Wow! If you're looking for a book that generates a variety of emotions... this is it. No doubt this story is influenced by Grisham's personal views but the strong characters and page turning race against time is engrossing. Viewed from the lens of a "non-lawyer", the frustration of the justice system becomes even more pronounced. Hope, anger, sadness, redemption. Great story-telling from Grisham as long as you don't get caught up trying to read into his political viewpoints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What what!!!

    Bobert I see you doing your thing. Man keep it up. I just copped that Grisham book, and the homie is doing it mad big. This book was more entertaining than Janet Jackson's super bowl performance. I'll be promoting this book to all of the homies . One love...Richard Wellner

    #dat

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Slow read.

    The story was a page turner at the start. Then the book began recapping the prior chapters on numerous occasions . I found it boring and predictable from that point until the finish. I had to force myself to finish the book. The story has been told the same way numerous times. I do not recommend this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Not His Best Work

    A good enough story, but somewhat predictable, and definitely not up to the quality of other books by this author. He should stick to quality and not worry about quantity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    I could not put it down!!!

    Honestly this book was heartbreaking to me from the very beginning. I was up late at night reading. Up early in the morning reading. I was walking down the street in NYC reading. I LOVED this book!!!!

    It kind of broke me heart, but I LOVED it!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Not that good,

    it is obvious he is trying to push his own ideas about capitol punishment. The book is tedious in many parts and not a easy read.
    If you feel you have to read it I would go to the library and not invest in the book.
    I really liked his early stories a lot better then recent offerings.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    A terrific read - quite a page turner!

    Those expecting the usual young hotshot lawyer protagonist from a Grisham legal novel might be surprised to find a middle-aged Lutheran minister at the center of this book, but the character provides a fine lens to view the story through. Personally, I find the best characters to be drawn in shades of gray. The characters here are not all good or all evil, but have very human failings which makes them all that much more interesting.

    The story definitely grabs your attention early on and keeps you engaged - it's a terrific premise, and very well-executed in Grisham's lean, effective style. I recommend setting aside some time when you begin reading it, because you won't want to put it down once you start. The novel is very much a race-against-the-clock story where the main villain is really the overly-bureaucratic and inflexible justice system, run by fallible people. Regardless of your opinion regarding capital punishment, this book is recommended. For those familiar with Grisham's non-fiction book, The Innocent Man, you can see how that work inspires this new novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    I'm wondering why the B&N email said 50% off but

    when I go to their website it's not 50% off?

    Isn't there a name for that kind of thing?

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    waste of time; and i read all his other books

    starts off good. But about half way through it becomes a party line political primer. After I realized this, I had to force myself to finish. Grisham has a "hollywood view" of the death penalty and he stuffs it in your face. His characters that portray the other side are all made out to look like bigoted, ignorant, idiots. I'm done reading any more Grisham.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!!!

    Very good book! Always been a huge John Grisham fan. Was not very impressed with his last book (Ford County) but he has indeed redeemed himself with this one. Really makes one pause and consider the "death penalty" it means to all involved. Will be waiting for his next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Too much preaching.........

    Definitely an 'anti-death penalty' storyline. I guess I am way too naive to believe that this really goes on.....keeping crucial information from the Governor at minutes before execution;closing appeals office 'on time' when it is called ahead that vital information is forthcoming, etc. If Grisham wanted to write about being against the death penalty he should have written something more compelling. No twists in this book. Yes; an easy read if you skim a lot of the pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Grisham is falling fast.

    John Grisham holds a special place in my heart as his book The Firm is the book responsible for my love of reading. The last few books have not held my attention very well and I would say this is the worst book yet. There is no suspense, no surprise, no twist. This book would not even be good if it was a true story but as a novel it makes you wonder why the writer even wrote it. I say a sad farewell to my once favorite author as this will be the last book of his I will waste money on. I get more out of watching paint dry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Bother

    I consider myself a true John Grisham fan. I've read every book he's published, buy them the day they come out, and have even read one or two of his early novels more than once. While lately his work hasn't been as appealing as some of his early books, they still had their moments and were a worthwhile read. While it is blatantly obvious, I don't care about the fact that Mr. Grisham took this opportunity to voice his opinion on the death penalty. That is his right. What was missing for me was any sort of suspense. This book was not a page turner. It did not have a central character that you rooted for or against. There was no in depth character analysis or description of those involved. It pains me to say so, but this book was just bad. I found myself skimming the pages towards the end, just so I could complete and move on to something else. That is something I've never done with some of the more recent sub-par efforts from Mr. Grisham. Will I read the next one when it comes out? Of course. I'll get it on the first day it's released like I always do. However, one or two more books like this and I'll start waiting for the paperbacks. Do yourself a favor and do that for this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Boring to the end!!!

    Grisham's novels over the past few years have been disappointing but this one is in my opinion his worst. This book is very boring and nothing really exciting happens. I really struggled to get through it, when normally one of his books take a few days to read. It is clear that this is a very anti-death penalty book. I would not recommend this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    Very Disappointing

    Rambling, unfocused tirade against the death penalty and the Texas system of justice. I did not like this book, not because of my views on the death penalty, but because the story is thinly developed and does little to maintain the readers interest perhaps beyond some morbid curiosity around details of an execution.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    REading it now and hating it!!

    I'm having to force myself to read it, only because I have a personal policy against not finishing books! Normally I read a JG in about 2 - 3 days, and think about it when I'm not reading.

    This one - moving far too slowly, and I find the plot a little incredible. I can see that a forced confession would get a conviction, but I really feel that other things that happened would have surely been overturned in appellate court.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No mystries, intrigue, or surprises

    I thought this story was very predictable. It seemed like I was reading a book I had already read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    Obviously John Grisham doesn't like Texas

    I just finished The Confession and as a Texan for the last 30 years, I have to say it really angered me and I'll never read another Grisham book. Yes, Texas has the death penalty and yes, we do execute criminals here. And yes, there have been some wrongful convictions--in fact, a guy on death row was just exonerated and released. But the idea that all Texas police are corrupt and just want to convict the black guy for murder with absolutely no evidence and no body while the prosecutor has an affair with the judge AND all appeals are turned down by the Texas Supreme Court because they have no problem with any of this is ridiculously far-fetched. The story has no basis in reality at all, was sloppily written, and even Grisham says not to bother him with the procedural errors because he doesn't like doing research. It boils down to this...John Grisham doesn't like the death penalty and he doesn't like the "right" (conservatives are portrayed as right-wing nut jobs). He needed a bully pulpit and Texas was the victim.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    do NOT buy this book

    having read virtually every book he's written, i was sorely disappointed with the workmanship of john grisham's latest novel, "the confession"... i had to force myself to plow through to the end... every plot twist was evident long before it occurred, and his biases showed through in his handling of the death penalty... the protagonists were all liberal, put upon, squeaky clean, the "murderer" was innocent, the cops were evil, the parents of the murdered child were fat, slovenly, morally and dna weakened morons, while all the actors on the side of the death row inmate were holy, with right on their sides, and God standing in the wings to lift them up... the story read like it was written by a ghost writer straight out of high school or college... how bad was it?... with just 40 pages to go i laid the book - a john grisham book - down for 4 days before coming back to it... that has NEVER happened before... sorry, john, this one bites the bag... you could have REALLY hit it out of the park, but you let your personal beliefs take control of the story early on and never let up... you couldn't see the forest for the trees... the premise could have been a strong one, but you pounced on the death penalty position and never let it go...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    I'm sorry - Disappointed

    Some authors are reliable and consistent. Mr Grisham surprised me here. I have long defended his books when they've been accused of being "junk food reading". Here, however, I found nothing intriquing with the characters. There were no surprises, no twists, no turns. I felt the plot was so over dramatized (over 300 pages worth) that I was being set up for a stunning shock. But no, just an over-hyped over-done anti-death penalty story that could have been condensed to under 50 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5155 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 258