Customer Reviews for

The Confession

Average Rating 4
( 5112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1869)

4 Star

(1424)

3 Star

(956)

2 Star

(454)

1 Star

(409)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I have read all John Grisham books, and this one didn't disappoint. Loved it.

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

A Grigham DUD

I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to...
I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to my rector & stay with writing like you did in the begining. So many of my favorite authors have stooped to tearful whining, that I may have to find someone new to read. I will give Mr. Grisham one more chance, then I'm done.

posted by biff on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 259
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    A Grigham DUD

    I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to my rector & stay with writing like you did in the begining. So many of my favorite authors have stooped to tearful whining, that I may have to find someone new to read. I will give Mr. Grisham one more chance, then I'm done.

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anti-death penalty rant

    An obvious rant against the death penalty and the criminal justice system in Texas, disguised as a fiction thriller. It is a Grisham quality story but there is too much preachiness. This was covered in his nonfiction book.

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Save Your Money

    I anxiously waited John Grisham's latest release. I just finished it and was very disappointed. The writing was okay, the characters, predictible and the underlying political anti-detah penalty message, sappy and overdone. Mr. Grisham has now been added to the same list that James Patterson is on - an author who used to be compelling but who now is adequate, at best. I'll wait for the paperback the next time.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I have read all John Grisham books, and this one didn't disappoint. Loved it.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Your money will not be wasted.

    I would tell anyone who likes John Grisham novels to buy this or to anyone who want to start to read his stuff to start here. From the second you pick it up you are sucked in and can't wait to see what happens. Just like The Firm you can't put it down. Buy the book, ebook, or cd.

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Mr. Grisham has lost the ability to write a great book

    I admit that I am only half way through this book. I would stop now but I hate that I paid for the book so I will finish it. There is no story. There is no drama. There is Mr. Grisham's diatribe against the death penalty and nothing of interest to the reader. Isn't there an editor out there helping him write...someone who can tell him that the book lacks a story, lacks drama, lacks interesting characters, lacks movement? His earlier works were terrific and will always be among my favorite books. Lately, he has lost it.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You will taste every emotion a human can endure.

    This one will arouse many emotions as the peek into how the system works and could very well not work and put a lot of innocent people away or allow a guilty person to go free. This is a frustrating look into human nature at its best and at its worst. This can be a frightening book for some to swallow but that's not to say that the reader will not be totally entertained and totally enlightened to things he may not have been exposed to before. The reader will taste every human emotion, a lot of ugly ones, but I guarantee that this book won't be put down for very long. Very well done! Well worth the time!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Plodding, boring book

    Not a hint of suspense in this book, not a hint of plot twist. It read like a treatise against the death penalty, not like a novel. Very disappointing.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    good read

    You have to be a Grisham fan to appreciate this book. I thought it was wonderful and an easy read. Could not put it down always wanted to see what happends next. I would say buy it, nothing negative about it. Read for pleasure don't over read and you will enjoy. Would make a good movie. It's a good travel book.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Below Average

    Sadly, this was another below average book by John Grisham. No new ground was broken. Sometimes the book/plot strayed or stayed in place. I was hoping for a page turner, and I guess I got one. Except that when I was rapidly turning the pages it was because I could easily figure out what he was going to say without me having to read it. I wouldn't recommend this book at all.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    OK

    This book was okay but definitely served to expound the personal views of John Grisham. He kind of already did this story with his nonfiction work. Overall it was okay, but totally predictable while repeating the same things over and over.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    Good Book - Still Quality Grisham - But A little Disappointed

    I am a huge John Grisham fan and I have loved everything he has written. This book, though it flowed well was a little tedious but I can understand, given the storyline, that it had it be. I was expecting a different ending, especially since Grisham has already touched on death row in The Chamber and you expected that ending. This story left me a little dissatisfied, well more than a little, I wanted all the hope I carried via the 'good guys' to not have been in vain...I guess in today's times I just wanted a happy ending...

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Makes a Texan think!

    I am a born and bred Texan who applauded the "express lane" headed in to death row. However, in this novel I recognized the murder plot which actually happened near the Red River several years ago, I believe, and the irony of an innocent black man was not lost here. John Grisham ALWAYS has a way of making me take a step back to re-evaluate my opinions. I can argue both sides of the death penalty so well with my students they don't know which side I am on, but after reading An Innocent Man and now this novel, I really don't know where I stand. Thank goodness for updated technology, but is it really enough?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Made me think

    I really enjoyed the eBook and had a hard time putting it down. The story flowed very well and didn't slow down at all. This story made me reevaluate my own views about the death penalty. Yes this is fiction but it is easy to see how this could happen in the real world.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham does it again...

    I am counting down the days until the confession comes out. Grisham's powerful and descriptive writings have satisfied me for many years and I am sure that this book will continue the streak. The price change is unexpected but does not take away from the books quality or hype. I can't wait for another ride with Mr. Grisham

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Great Follow Up To The Chamber

    Anybody who read The Chamber it was a great legal thriller about Death Row. Now almost twenty years later John Grisham follows about another story about Death Row with The Confession.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    Chamber part II

    I have read EVERY J Grisham book and enjoyed them. This is just a lazy cash out D- book . The death row story is in the Chamber and is hard to get interested in again. I can normally pick up a J G book on Friday and finish over the same weekend. Not the Confession I have to force myself to pick it up. PASS ON THIS 1.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get out the kleenex!

    This was definitely a page turner. This is the most emotional book John Grisham has written since A TIME TO KILL. The story line touched me in a way that I never expected. I've never been a proponent for execution and I hate it even more so after reading this book. What this fictional family went through hide me in bouncing around from anger issues to tears. If you think you believe in the death penalty, read this book. You may very well change your mind. I applaud the fact that John Grisham wrote a book on such a hot issue.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Could not put it down!!

    I thought this was John Grisham at his best!! Haven't read any of his books in a while and was totally engrossed in the characters. Was moved to tears on several occasions.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    Buyer Beware

    Like the person before me who wrote a review - I pre-ordered this book at the 15.92 price. I looked on the web site and it was on sale for 9.99. No wonder B&N is going under. If I could I would take my business else where. I spoke with customer service they also said can't do anything for you. It went on sale??????? On Sale the day it is published????? Can't believe that one. How could it go on sale the first day?????? Are they anticiapting poor sales??? I don't think so. I am looking forward to reading this book even if I was ripped off.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 259