Customer Reviews for

The Confession

Average Rating 4
( 5101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1864)

4 Star

(1420)

3 Star

(956)

2 Star

(453)

1 Star

(408)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good read

I have read all John Grisham books, and this one didn't disappoint. Loved it.

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

A Grigham DUD

I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to...
I have read all of Grisham's previous books. I love the Firm & Pelican Brief. The Confession is not one of my favorites books. The build up to the coda was just ok, but the preachie, liberal ending is too much, even for a avid reader of all genre. Leave the preaching to my rector & stay with writing like you did in the begining. So many of my favorite authors have stooped to tearful whining, that I may have to find someone new to read. I will give Mr. Grisham one more chance, then I'm done.

posted by biff on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 408 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Thank goodness for the public library!

    I was thrilled that I did not pay for the Nook book, but rather rented the e-book from the public library. I didn't feel the need to finish it and was happy to skip through the endless preaching and get to the ending. I am an avid reader and NEVER skip through a book, but I just couldn't complete this one. I'm done with Grisham....at least I'm done paying for Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Do not waste your money

    I normally do not write a book review but felt very compelled with this Grisham book. This book is absolutely horrible with no story or plot line. I have read a majority of Grisham books but I can tell you this is my last

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Author's politics and cause in a book.

    Do not waste your money; The Confession was predictable and boring. John Grisham used his writing talent to further his cause and political beliefs. If you are going to make it up at least make it good and well researched. Writing a disclaimer at the end that you do not like research is an excuse for not putting in the effort before churning out a book for cause and cash. Disappointing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    A long drag

    As a long time Grisham fan I was enormously disappointed in his latest production. The Confession crawls along at snail's progress and so predicably that your mind wraps it up half way through. I couldn't finished it. I just scanned the last few chapters for the BIG wrap. Don't waste your time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    The Confession

    $9.99boycott

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Very Dissapointing

    Lacking in story. Mostly about death penalty and the justice system workings. Always enjoyed his books in the past, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    giving up

    I have tried to stay with Grisham as his books have gotten more cliched and less well-plotted.But this is the last. The characters are one-dimensional and totally unlikeable. The book drags. Don't waste your money. Go with one of Richard Patterson's or Michael Connelly's instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    is this the best BN can DO ?

    Well, I would love to write a review of this book, IF it would ever download...I have been waiting two hours so far, and I can tell you that my bank account has been emptied of the cost of the book, and yet I have no book downloaded. Gee, ain't NOOK a wonderful deal ?!?!? And that is my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Worst Grisham book yet.

    Grisham's delusional story of a corrupt judicial system is so far-fetched, even for Tough Love Texas; it resulted in a terrible read. When Grisham would write stories that were remotely believable, they were great books to read. Unfortunately, Mr. Grisham has not developed a quality story in a novel in quite some time. Can't say I'll be reading many more of his novels unless someone can convince me he's back to his good old ways. And I certainly can't recommend The Confession to anyone of sane mind and reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Could not finish

    So slow..... I thought I was almost finished with the book when really I was only on page 82! I had been excited to read it but I got bored quickly, and have not been able to bring my self to read any further. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    NOT recommended - very disappointed

    A co-worker suggested this book and though it was not on sale I bought it anyway. What a WASTE of money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Boring

    What a simple story based on the most ridiculous generalizations. it was a terrible read.

    I can say that this is his worst book yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Gag me preachiness - every cliche in the book

    You'll love this book if you're a liberal. There was too much that was completely unbelievable to keep me reading. I tried to ignore the implausibility to be entertained as usual by Grisham but had to give up not even half way through. I don't know how it ends and I don't care.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Not good

    Grisham has let his politics influence his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Awful

    political spin -- not worth reading unless you want to waste many hours reading a "novel" about the death penalty. An article about how the death penalty is cruel and unusual punishment and how horribly costly it is would be much more constructive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Terrible book

    This was the worst book that I have read in a very long time. The plot has been used a million times and on top of that the author repeats everything a million times. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Unsettling

    I must admit I skipped through a great deal of this book. I found it depressing and most unsettling. It spotlights the evil of man overtly within one of the main characters and evil in its suttle form with the others. Justice and goodness ever provails. I regret reading it and would not recommend. ls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Skip this one

    This book was so predictable and boring. I kept waiting for the story to get better. The book just dragged on and on. It hinted at things to try and hold your interest but never delivered. Mr. Grisham has become a second rate author letting his previous hits carry him. Sorry but I am tired of good writers delivering second rate work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review Deleted by reviewer

    Review Deleted by reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Boring

    The Chamber II. Books about executions usually end one way and this one did too. Don't waste your money----it's a chore to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 408 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21