Customer Reviews for

Confessions from an Arranged Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Readers of Miranda Neville's previous adventures might recall Di

Readers of Miranda Neville's previous adventures might recall Diana's little sister Minerva Montrose. Here, the young woman is all grown up and has set her sights on marrying a man who might help her realize her own political dreams, except... The fates intervene and so...
Readers of Miranda Neville's previous adventures might recall Diana's little sister Minerva Montrose. Here, the young woman is all grown up and has set her sights on marrying a man who might help her realize her own political dreams, except... The fates intervene and somehow the drunken Lord Blakeney, ex-fiance of her sister and curlish son of a duke, mistakes a sleeping Miranda for someone else and crawls up her skirts as a joke. That's when too many people walk in and there's no way out for either Minerva or Blake but marriage. Watching this seemingly mismatched couple stumble through making the best of a horrible situation, the reader also encounters the sweetness of two people falling in love without their realizing it. This is Miranda Neville's best in the series yet.

posted by JudiRohrig on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

AKA--The Girl Who Knew Everything...............................

I so liked The Amorous Seduction of Celia I was looking forward to Minerva's story. Sad disappointment. Miranda at 20 thought she knew how the government should run. She was a country girl without much formal education ---but she read a lot . That gave her opinio...
I so liked The Amorous Seduction of Celia I was looking forward to Minerva's story. Sad disappointment. Miranda at 20 thought she knew how the government should run. She was a country girl without much formal education ---but she read a lot . That gave her opinions to spare. And she spared no one. Not unusual in a 20 year old but that she was considered so clever was astounding. Of course her poor dolt of a husband had insecurity to spare so he was an easy bullying victim. And to me that's how it came across. At the end she was writing his speeches for parliment for him. Happy to be the power behind. A most unlikable character. If the writer thought she was supposed to come across as supportive like the Queen in The King's Speech she missed by a mile. Loved the first story hated the second---don't know if I'll finish the series.

posted by kronan1 on December 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    AKA--The Girl Who Knew Everything...............................

    I so liked The Amorous Seduction of Celia I was looking forward to Minerva's story. Sad disappointment. Miranda at 20 thought she knew how the government should run. She was a country girl without much formal education ---but she read a lot . That gave her opinions to spare. And she spared no one. Not unusual in a 20 year old but that she was considered so clever was astounding. Of course her poor dolt of a husband had insecurity to spare so he was an easy bullying victim. And to me that's how it came across. At the end she was writing his speeches for parliment for him. Happy to be the power behind. A most unlikable character. If the writer thought she was supposed to come across as supportive like the Queen in The King's Speech she missed by a mile. Loved the first story hated the second---don't know if I'll finish the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    The heroine was too much of a snob for my taste. I had no probl

    The heroine was too much of a snob for my taste. I had no problems with the author's writing I just didn't like the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Readers of Miranda Neville's previous adventures might recall Di

    Readers of Miranda Neville's previous adventures might recall Diana's little sister Minerva Montrose. Here, the young woman is all grown up and has set her sights on marrying a man who might help her realize her own political dreams, except... The fates intervene and somehow the drunken Lord Blakeney, ex-fiance of her sister and curlish son of a duke, mistakes a sleeping Miranda for someone else and crawls up her skirts as a joke. That's when too many people walk in and there's no way out for either Minerva or Blake but marriage. Watching this seemingly mismatched couple stumble through making the best of a horrible situation, the reader also encounters the sweetness of two people falling in love without their realizing it. This is Miranda Neville's best in the series yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Could not get into this book. I liked the idea that this duke wa

    Could not get into this book. I liked the idea that this duke was not quiet perfect and the lady was "normal". But for some reason these two could never mesh together. I felt like I was almost reading two bad stories. I kept finding myself skimming over pages hoping it would get better and by about just over 1/2 way through I finally said enough! I gave it 2 instead of one star because it is an interesting idea for a story just these's charaters personalities did not pull it off. Which is a shame because I normally love MN books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Top notch

    Very good story and entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great Store

    Great book. The initial scandal was a little contrived, but without it the rest of the story would not take place. The secret is not the norm for Regency romances and I liked that. The heroine is also different, not the title chaser, ugly duckling, bluestocking or on the shelf maide; another like about this book. She was however a little naive, but based on her age that could be expected. It was a great, easy quick romantic read. Just perfect for a day at the pool or beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Enk

    Amazing- I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    it was fun

    it was fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet, Steamy, and Surprisingly Funny

    This is my first Miranda Neville book, but it will not be my last. Full of chemistry, a surprising amount of humor, and some very sweet romance, I loved the dynamic between Minerva and Blake. Blake's "secret" combined with the animosity between him and Minerva in the beginning sets the stage for some lively adventure as well as a well-paced romance, and I appreciated the fact that it worked well as a standalone despite being part of a previously established series.

    Highly recommended for fans of historical couples forced into marriage to avoid scandal, of enemies to lovers, and of sweetly steamy romance with a generous dash of humor.

    4.5/5 Stars

    {I received this title free of charge via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Full review available on The Romanceaholic}

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Recommend

    It wa a fast read and very entertaining. I like this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    A Happy Meeting of Intelligence and Entertainment

    While many Regency novels concentrate on Drinking and fist fights, this well crafted story brings more. The political system of the time, although superior to any of the European contries, did leave much to be desired. We follow a couple brought together by the limitaions of the times on a lively journey to happy ever after. The book is interesting. A good example of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Review1334753890422

    This is a really nice book!1334753890422

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    An unexpected surprise - I will be returning to The Burgundy Clu

    An unexpected surprise - I will be returning to The Burgundy Club series in the future ...

    For full review including excerpt and dialogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at:
    readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com ~~~

    Review:

    Blake and Minerva – a couple that, against all odds, actually ends up making sense. A couple those, if first impressions are to be believed, were a phenomenal example of opposites. I have to admit, I initially did not hold very high hopes for this couple. They seemed so mismatched that I had trouble seeing them as a couple, let alone a powerful couple in the ton with vast amounts of influence. Minerva seemed too intelligent for Blake and he didn’t seem to stand a chance of being able to manage such a spirited woman with near unattainable dreams for her future. But first impressions, in this case, were completely off the mark. Blake ends up an entirely different individual than the reader is introduced to. Minerva as well, seems somewhat cold and standoffish as a female MC, but ends up exhibiting raging passion within many aspects of her life – specifically anything she sets her mind to and anyone she cares for. ~~~

    This is the first book I have read from Ms. Neville and the fourth in this series (The Burgundy Club). While I believe reading the preceding books would have helped endear me to the characters sooner, I also believe that I was granted a favor in reading this book first with these particular characters. I read a review recently of this book in which the reader was concerned about the characters because of their descriptions in previous books. Good point. Given this bit of information, I may not have been interested in these characters enough to read their story. I suppose it all depends of the type of character you prefer. For me, skeptical as I was as I began this book, I am glad that I read it first. This is actually saying quite a lot coming from a person who, whenever possible, is anal about reading in order. ~~~

    I have to say that I was slightly disappointed with the intimate scenes. Rather strong language was presented fairly early in the book, making me believe that the scenes would be steamy and somewhat dirty (dirty in the “my cheeks are burning, but I am loving every minute of it” kind of way). Sadly, they were not. Don’t get me wrong. The scenes were well written and entertaining. And I very much enjoyed “watching” the passion grow between Blake and Minerva, but I felt they could have been just a bit steamier. ~~~

    Overall, I enjoyed my time spent with Confessions From An Arranged Marriage. I liked the secondary characters enough to further explore their stories and have added them to my TBR list. Minerva, while initially perceived as overly intelligent and mismatched to Blake ends up being quite a lot of fun in her escapades. And Blake, with his sense of humor and points of weakness that shake his confidence, which he effectively shields everyone from – everyone except the astute Minerva – makes him a much more likeable character once the reader understands his motivations. And while these characters are not my preferred type, I found that I enjoyed the transformation from first impressions to the essence that truly was Blake and Minerva. ~~~

    (Digital ARC provided by author for review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Funny

    This was #4 in the Burgundy Club series. Blake the jerk cousin to Iverley gets his own book. It does not take too long to forgive poor Blake and love him anyway.

    Minerva the little sister of Diana marrys her sisters exfiance. Minerva is smart and sassy and very unconventional. I loved her as the female lead.

    The book had me laughing aloud and telling my husband the story. A bit of the political piece was dry, the humor and romance and sizzle made the book enjoyable. I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3