BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Confessions Of A Catholic Cop

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read!

"Confessions of a Catholic Cop" is fast moving, engaging, and entertaining. It's a good read. The characters are easy to relate to and I found myself caring about what happened to them as I turned each page. Thomas Fitzsimmons is a good story teller. This tale is about ...
"Confessions of a Catholic Cop" is fast moving, engaging, and entertaining. It's a good read. The characters are easy to relate to and I found myself caring about what happened to them as I turned each page. Thomas Fitzsimmons is a good story teller. This tale is about a New York City street cop, his partner, and their workplace. You don't have to be a New York native like me to appreciate the action in the Big Apple as the main character's zoom along in their patrol car taking care of business. "Confessions" has good guys and bad guys, ethical conflicts, cruelty, sensitivity,and satisfying resolutions. It also has some beautiful people and some ugly people. In addition, there are plenty of twists and turns that kept me interested until the end. As I said, "Confessions of a Catholic Cop" is a good read. I recommend it without hesitation.

posted by BeBopElmo on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A gritty, real life police drama...

Confessions of a Catholic Cop is a gritty police novel that centers on NYPD officer Michael Beckett who finds himself in the middle of a highly organized crime spree in the Bronx. He must trust his instincts and his police work to find out who is responsible - and make ...
Confessions of a Catholic Cop is a gritty police novel that centers on NYPD officer Michael Beckett who finds himself in the middle of a highly organized crime spree in the Bronx. He must trust his instincts and his police work to find out who is responsible - and make them pay. The book switches between first and third person narration, which makes it a bit confusing for the reader to keep up with. The setting and descriptive details the author uses are authentic, but seem to be overdone. It leaves the reader trying to focus too hard on the details being described instead of being transported to the scene in their minds. The novel is a straight forward police/crime drama. There are no twists in the plot and there is virtually no suspense. Fans of the TV show Law & Order will appreciate this book for its methodic flow and storytelling. Fitzsimmons has a long history of police work, which gives him the advantage of knowing what really happens as a New York police officer. The reader is given a rare look into the life and mind of a cop and comes out feeling like they have a better understanding and appreciation for the work and struggles that the police force faces every day.

posted by Stephanie_Ward on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Compelling mystery

    I have to be honest; I was a little hesitant about doing this review. I'm more of a history, biography, "top 10 book club" type of girl. When I saw the cover, I tried to get my husband to read it and do the review, I thought it was more his type of book. He told me I, "had agreed to do the review and had an obligation to the author and publisher", and even though I'm stubborn and reluctant to admit this, he was absolutely correct. Let me reiterate, that which has been said a thousand times ...you can't judge a book by its cover! Confessions of a Catholic Cop is a white knuckled, first-rate mystery. Thomas Fitzsimmons, the author and an ex-New York City police officer takes you on a journey through the shadows of the gritty New York Bronx. You meet a wide variety of characters from high powered NY executives to local thugs, and corrupt cops to sketchy bar owners. The story follows an honest Bronx cop, who moonlights as a supporting character on Law and Order, and his very disturbed partner, as they try to solve a string of mysterious arsons. Clue after clue brings them closer to what they suspect is a huge cover-up. The action is non-stop and the mystery propels you deeper and deeper. This book does contain strong language and violence; however, it is necessary to relay an authentic story. In general, this book was a fascinating read and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a compelling mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A gritty, real life police drama...

    Confessions of a Catholic Cop is a gritty police novel that centers on NYPD officer Michael Beckett who finds himself in the middle of a highly organized crime spree in the Bronx. He must trust his instincts and his police work to find out who is responsible - and make them pay. The book switches between first and third person narration, which makes it a bit confusing for the reader to keep up with. The setting and descriptive details the author uses are authentic, but seem to be overdone. It leaves the reader trying to focus too hard on the details being described instead of being transported to the scene in their minds. The novel is a straight forward police/crime drama. There are no twists in the plot and there is virtually no suspense. Fans of the TV show Law & Order will appreciate this book for its methodic flow and storytelling. Fitzsimmons has a long history of police work, which gives him the advantage of knowing what really happens as a New York police officer. The reader is given a rare look into the life and mind of a cop and comes out feeling like they have a better understanding and appreciation for the work and struggles that the police force faces every day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    A Good Read!

    "Confessions of a Catholic Cop" is fast moving, engaging, and entertaining. It's a good read. The characters are easy to relate to and I found myself caring about what happened to them as I turned each page. Thomas Fitzsimmons is a good story teller. This tale is about a New York City street cop, his partner, and their workplace. You don't have to be a New York native like me to appreciate the action in the Big Apple as the main character's zoom along in their patrol car taking care of business. "Confessions" has good guys and bad guys, ethical conflicts, cruelty, sensitivity,and satisfying resolutions. It also has some beautiful people and some ugly people. In addition, there are plenty of twists and turns that kept me interested until the end. As I said, "Confessions of a Catholic Cop" is a good read. I recommend it without hesitation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully gripping drama!!

    From being an actor on a big-time TV show, to cruising the downtrodden streets of the Bronx in search of killers, comes the "Confessions of a Catholic Cop." This story unfolds like a criminal show on TV with it's main character, Michael Beckett, leading the way. He's been with the NYPD for 10 years now and thinks he's in need of a change but circumstances and alot of unexplained drama keeps pulling him back in. Follow his story as he witnesses a horrible tragedy and vows to take on the ones responsible. This journey involves high-rollers with alot of money on the line, greed, jealousy, psychotic friends, territorial rottweilers, and a swweet, but frightened, young lady. Come see how this author puts it all together to create one very high-paced, action-packed drama that is sure to please. This book is really far from my usual choice of what to read, but I can honestly say that I did thoroughly enjoy it. Mr. Fitzsimmons definitely makes this highly suspenseful tale very real to the reader. His writing style draws you right in and you can't hlep but keep turning the pages to keep up with what is going to happen next. It is so genuine, I caught myself gasp out loud at the description of when the mother and child was consumed in a fire. I couldn't help myself. It was like seeing it happen right in front of me. I'm sure this author brings a tremendous amount of his own experiences to his writing and it definitely makes for gripping reading material! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys an action-packed, gripping drama, with mystery, suspense,and even a tinge of romance thrown in. This book was kindly provided to me by it's wonderful author for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Great Read

    I thought this book was going to be just a decent summer read but it's so compelling that once I started it I couldn't put it down. And as a life long New Yorker, I can say Thomas Fitzsimmons got the true City gritty feel. The story's great, the action jolts - what more could you want!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended Real Life Police Story

    The author was a cop in New York's South Bronx. He writes from experience. This is a real page turner. Hardly put this book down until the finish. Really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    PAGE TURNER! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    "Confessions of a Catholic Cop" captured my attention in the first chapter. Being that I am on the other side of the country, it was so interesting to read a book that explained the Bronx policing experience so accurately! Fitzsimmon's writing allows you to connect to the character's, who each resonate authenticity. I especially loved his engaging way of storytelling. I cannot wait for his next novel - clearly he has a long, successful career ahead of him!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Great fast-paced read!

    I loved this book. Very sexy writing. Thomas Fitzsimmons knows how to appeal to female readers. He gets inside womens' heads - and creates some insanely appealable female characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Good Pace & Story Line

    The writing was so strong your senses came alive with the sounds, sights and smells of the South Bronx. As a New Yorker I can attest to the authors ability to transport the reader to the very streets he patrolled, as a member of the NYPD. Mr. Fitzsimmons is a writer that has set-off a Five-Alarmer with this book and I look forward to many more alarms to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    I'm a retired Boston police officer and, for better or worse, I

    I'm a retired Boston police officer and, for better or worse, I really relate to the characters in this novel. The writing is clean, direct, and the pacing kept me turning pages. I recommend this book to police buffs, or anyone who loves a good thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I read this book awhile ago but am only just getting to write a

    I read this book awhile ago but am only just getting to write a review. This is terrific first novel. Great dialogue. Very gritty. Very real. I was afraid it would be another homogenized cop book, but Fitzsimmons gives us his unique characters warts and all. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    A terrible writer, but Fitzsimmons can't be all bad because he h

    A terrible writer, but Fitzsimmons can't be all bad because he has lots of friends willing to give this POS 5 stars.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    AWESOME!!

    Highly entertaining!! Read over the weekend...could not put down! My wife was so impressed that I would not stop reading, "Confessions of a Cathlic Cop", that she recommended the book for her book club of 14 ladies!

    Very exciting story....A MUST READ FOR ALL!

    Thomas, you hit this out of the ball park....thank you again for an excellent read. Can't wait until your next book comes out!

    Dave
    Olympia, WA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    A Thrilling Read for All Book Lovers! A Must Buy!

    "Confessions of a Catholic Cop" is a powerful, page-turning thriller about love, trust and the search for true identity. The story delves into the dark and dangerous streets of New York City's South Bronx, where NYPD cop Michael Beckett and writer Solana Ortiz uncover a trail of corruption that leads to some of the City's most powerful people. Author Thomas Fitzsimmons, a former NYPD cop who worked in the precinct where the book is set, has the unique ability to put you into the storyline, making you feel like you are taking part in the action. His vivid storytelling comes from years of living what he writes - and it makes for an exciting and excellent story. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a thriller, a love story or just loves to read. I can't wait for book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    A must read!

    Thrilling. A great read. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    I confess, it was a thrilling read.

    Fitzsimmons, "Confessions" was a roller coaster ride from start to finish. If you don't put it on your summer reading list you'll deserve to roast in Purgatory, whether you're a
    Catholic or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    A must read!

    Just finished Confessions of a Catholic Cop. Couldn't put it down.
    Fitzsimmons keeps you on the edge all the way. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Women Will Love This Book!

    I loved this book! Fitzsimmons creates some insanely fun female characters - that you won't forget. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    EXCELLENT READ !!

    "Confessions of a Catholic Cop" had my attention from the very first paragraph and had me engrossed until the very last word. The book is filled with twists and turns as well as interesting and varied characters.

    Fitzsimmons tells an outstanding story that will give you a candid insight of what greed can do to the human psyche in some, creating an insatiable appetite for money and lack of even an iota of compassion for others -- in contrast to the fearless determination and courage it takes in others to halt the bloodshed of innocent lives -- an equally insatiable appetite.

    At the same time, the author intermingled wit and humor in addition to a touch of romance into this genuinely enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Tough & Tender

    Thomas Fitzsimmons knows what he's writing about. This book grips the soul of the city and the dialogue burns right off the page - tough, hard and to the point with a rare and tender center. The book is a confession from the heart of a cop who isn't afraid to tell it like it is. I loved the cover - a nice streak of blasphemy, the mix of the gun and the church. Are there any more stories to tell? I'm up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2