Customer Reviews for

Confessions Of A Trauma Junkie

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Being addicted myself, I wish I could write as this author did!

    I would like to Thank Sherry Jones Mayo for putting this incredible book together for all of us out there in Emergency Services trenches of all kinds to read the story of so many of our own lives. I have never had the opportunity to read what I thought I was feeling through my 35 years in the field in the Emergency Services. I know in all our agencies the "F" word in Emergency services is Somethihg that for too long has NOT been taught in our Academy's our schooling or anywhere in most any of our trainings. That F word is "Feelings". Thanks Sherry for allowing us to hear, read and acknowledge what I thought I was going through in my career but could never adequately give a voice to it. You have captured it and given all of our "FEELINGS" a voice in Emegency Services and for that I thank you!! I felt as if I was riding in the same Ambulance along with you and hanging at the same ER. I have already highly recommended this book and it's reading of it to the many classes I have been a part of. I strongly encourage anyone from the field, from any training academy or simply anyone that thinks they are alone in feeling how we do about the last call we were on. You most likely think you are alone in your "FEELINGS" of what you just went through!! YOU are NOT ALONE!!! Thanks Sherry, I have learned a lot from your book and I have learned much about myself and my own personal reactions to what we in the Emergency Services we see in maybe a shift or even just a call. It is way beyond what most people do NOT see in their entire lifetime!!! I look forward to your next book and thanks for giving a voice to my experiences! Read, Learn and listen to what is being said in the stories and chapters within the content of this book and you too will feel as if you need to share this book with others!!! Thanks again Sherry. I had not heard of your writings until someone had told me about your book. If you have others or if there are others in the works please keep us all in the loop! Sincerely and thankfully, Neal Braverman

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Exciting & Enjoyable - Don't miss it!

    "Confessions of a Trauma Junkie" is a compelling and enlightening collection of stories in the life of a medical professional, telling us what goes on at the accident scene, in the ambulance and at the hospital when dealing with a variety of emergency situations. The stories are revealing, personal and touching, which gave me an appreciation of what EMTs and others do for the public many times each day while somehow maintaining their sanity. I especially enjoyed the "Dog in the road" story line, that made me laugh out loud! Buy this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Vignettes of life, injury and death on the run, excellent writing!

    You may never have the opportunity to read a book like this again. This true life documentation is an interesting look into the quality and care presented in the most traumatic incidents. Sometimes sad, sometimes humorous, the first part deals with Sherry Jones Mayo's time served as a paramedic. Vignettes of life, injury and death on the run. As with all traumatic jobs, there must be comic relief, and so there is, the "gallows humor" method of retaining one's sanity in an insane world. I do not use the word "insane" to mean anything degrading, simply as that is how the world appears in chaotic, traumatic incidents of life. You will find all of these in this honest non-fiction book.

    The second part gives the reader insight into who Sherry is, what inspired her, what obstacles she had to overcome in her own life, and where/how the breaking point can suddenly appear. No holds barred, this is again a very honest approach to her life at several stages, her love of family, and how incidents in the ER can impact her concerns for her family. She has seen it all. It is extremely difficult not to interpret what is happening at work with what might be happening to her own family. Separating family and work is definitely not as easy as in other occupations.

    The third part could well be called survival of the staff from the patients in the ER. It is, for the most part, lighter and a definite theme of how to survive the abuse of the patients. Told with tongue firmly planted in cheek, it is a day-to-day list of patience above and beyond when it comes to receiving patients who are not really sick or are just simply demanding. The people who are "too sick" to tend to themselves but can manage well enough to treat the caregivers like servants. Then there are the "regulars", people trying to get drugs by acting out pain and telling the doctors what they need. Here, too, "gallows humor" reigns from necessity.

    The fourth section covers in part living with grief, accepting it, healing, and remembering the positive. I found a personal connection in both getting through grief and, further in this section, the result of delayed grief. With delayed grief, it is an entirely different feeling and can hit at any time, even decades later. It lays buried, waiting until some trigger leaves a person reeling and not understanding why. The content of this section of the book was very helpful to me personally, and I highly recommend it on the merits of this segment especially. Referring to grief, Sherry is not only talking about the need for families of patients, but for those attending to the patients and their families as well.

    Hurricane Katrina brings Crisis Intervention to the forefront and demonstrates just how important this is. So little could be done by the rescue teams and yet they felt the need to have done more. This puts a great burden on these people and consequently on their families. This distinct section is a very important read, explaining a lot of errors and delays that occurred at the time. This portion and the following deal mainly with the very real problems facing even seasoned ER personnel and the need for crisis intervention.

    All told, this book will bring a greater understanding of just how much these very special people are capable of, how caring they are, and why some burn out so soon. I definitely recommend this book on many levels. This is how it is, written faithfully and true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Good Read about Emergency Services Personnel and what they face

    Good Read about Emergency Services Personnel and what they face each day
    “Confessions of a Trauma Junkie” by Sherry Jones Mayo is a tale of life as seen by emergency services personnel. The author has told this tale through the use of multiple emergency services personnel, including herself and her daughter, to shed light on this fraternity of souls and the challenges they face.
    As an Emergency Medical Technician myself, this was a difficult book to read – it evoked many emotions for me as I was able to identify immediately with many of the issues. From Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) following a particularly difficult call, to dealing with personal issues while trying to help everyone else, each story resonated with me on a personal level. Like the ‘Other Side of the Gurney’ “We’re Not All That Tough” when the author passes out while a loved one’s hand is repaired in the ER – it’s funny how we can be superheroes when it’s someone else but not when it’s our family. I had a similar incident with my son when he had a Big Wheel accident at age 3, and was bleeding down his whole face; my neighbor (not a medical professional) had to come outside to calm me down because I couldn’t do anything but cry and scream when I saw him. 
    I wish my family could have read something like this when I started in the emergency services 20 years ago…I think it is a useful guide for helping our loved ones understand why we do this and the sacrifices we make to live our calling.
    Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    © 2013 by Laura Schaumberg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous, Meaningful and Overdue Look Into Emergency Services Worker Experiences

    Sherry Jones Mayo has written a tremendously informative and humorous book about the daily experiences of emergency services personnel, whether paramedics, EMTs, doctors, or nurses. After twenty years in the field, Mayo reveals multiple aspects of the job from caring for people who need emergency care, to experiencing tragic losses, difficult and often humorous patients, and coping with fatigue, emotional breaking points, and personal issues.

    Most books about trauma are written for the victims and their caretakers-so the caretakers (counselors, responders to an emergency, even family members) can help the victims. Although television dramas pay homage to the courage of emergency services workers-especially in the ER-these programs tend to treat the situations as heroic and dramatic rather than showing the actual real effects-the emotional and physical toll-these experiences have on the workers. Mayo provides multiple aspects of how emergency services personnel respond to trauma, most of it becoming their everyday work, but the deaths of children, cases of child abuse, or situations that resonate with their own personal tragic experiences can require immediate counseling and crisis intervention to protect the workers. Burnout is common, but so is the deep feeling of reward when the greatest efforts pay off.

    This book is rich in a variety of experiences ranging from doing emergency care on an airplane to helping overweight people out of their homes, and an emergency services worker experiencing an accident and then seeing things from the patient's side as her co-workers care for her. Mayo shares her own experiences throughout, but she also shares the stories of co-workers, her daughter who was inspired to follow in her mother's footsteps, and numerous other first-person accounts of helping in an emergency.

    While "Confessions of a Trauma Junkie" has numerous telling and moving stories, what I appreciated most was the humor. The humorous passages actually made me better understand how emergency services personnel respond to the most difficult situations, the boredom they have to deal with, and the need for humor as a coping mechanism. The workers also do not always receive the appreciation and respect they deserve. They become rightfully irritated when treated like servants, when they are threatened with lawsuits, or when the lazy try to take advantage of them, refusing even to sit up by themselves because a worker can pick them up. While Mayo's experiences occur in the greater metropolitan Detroit area, and a larger economically and socially challenged population exists there, I imagine emergency services workers need to deal with rude and inconsiderate patients constantly, whether in rural or metropolitan areas.

    Thank you Sherry Jones Mayo, for writing this book and reminding us how much we should appreciate the work of emergency services workers.I know several EMTs and nurses to whom I'll recommend this book wholeheartedly. I trust anyone who reads it will do the same.


    - Tyler R. Tichelaar, Ph.D., author of the award-winning Narrow Lives

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    Thinking About a Career in Emergency Medicine? READ THIS BOOK!!

    I've always had an extreme interest in the field of medicine. And emergency medicine, especially. Needless to say, I was immediately drawn to this book, based only upon the title. I discovered that it totally lived up to everything the title promised.

    Thinking about emergency medicine, you realize that the only "routine " in this field would be the non-routine, ever changing situations. Sherry Jones Mayo has the ability as a writer to draw you into the stories, you feel an affinity for both the workers and the patients. In truth, you do feel as if you are a passenger in the emergency vehicle with her. I can honestly say I felt the rush of adrenalin, the nervousness, the dread, the anxiety, and the humor of each situation. Emotionally, I was draw to each story, feelling drained by some, giggling at others, and actually feeling for every person in each story.

    I couldn't put this book down. Ironically, 2 days after I read it, my elderly father fell at his home. My Mother telephoned me, I rushed to their home, and made the decision to place a 911 call for help. As I watched the paramedics and emt working with my father, I was able to realize what they were feeling, and know how much they wanted to help him and ease my Mom's anxiety. I felt a new respect for these people, and the tenderness and compassionate care they show strangers on a regular basis.

    I have since passed this book on to four other people to read. All of them have enjoyed it tremendously, and agreed that it gives the non-medical person a rare view of the daily world of emergency medical personnel. I would consider this a must read for any one remotely considering entering this field of work, as well as anyone with an interest in medicine and the world of medical treatment. All patients would probably have a new respect for the emergency medical personnel who care for them after reading it.

    I look forward to reading other books written by Sherry Jones Mayo. Her storytelling abilities are excellent, and she has a real grasp of personality, plot and writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1