Customer Reviews for

The Confessions of Max Tivoli

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleased to be the first to review Max Tivoli for B&N

I was fortunate enough to be the narrator for the audio version of 'The Confessions of Max Tivoli', thus I am able to write of this book before it's release. In short, '...Max Tivoli' was a thrill to read aloud. Mr. Greer has a wonderful gift for expressive language and...
I was fortunate enough to be the narrator for the audio version of 'The Confessions of Max Tivoli', thus I am able to write of this book before it's release. In short, '...Max Tivoli' was a thrill to read aloud. Mr. Greer has a wonderful gift for expressive language and his astonishing story seemed to tell itself. I was so taken by this book that I'm planning to reread it...this time quietly...to myself. Thank you, Andrew.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fooled

Upon reading the back of the book, I thought, 'What an interesting idea, I'm sure it will be wonderful'. I was fooled! This book is so boring that it is painful to endure. The lack of dialogue makes the book very bland and tedious. Max Tivoli's life was dull and sad...
Upon reading the back of the book, I thought, 'What an interesting idea, I'm sure it will be wonderful'. I was fooled! This book is so boring that it is painful to endure. The lack of dialogue makes the book very bland and tedious. Max Tivoli's life was dull and sad. He made nothing of himself and even his romance was lame. The book would have been more interesting if the author would have allowed that the character take more chances and develop a more riveting plot. It was so tiring to read the same sob story page after page.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    imagine...

    Imagine: when you are born you come into the world looking like a 70 year old man all wrinkles, loose skin and liver-spotted arms. As you age though, your physical appearance grows more youthful. You get your geriatric body and arthritis over with while you are a child and when you are an old man with all your lifetime of experience, you have a youthful body to enjoy. This is the story of Max Tivoli.<BR/><BR/>The Confessions of Max Tivoli is narrated by the title character Max. It is Max writing his life story down for his son, the love of his life and future doctors to study. Max was born different, old looking, and stumped the doctors of the time (turn of the century) as to what his disease was. The age that Max looked and the age he actually was always seemed to add up to 70. So when he had lived for 50 years, he had the body and looks of a 20 year old man. This is both a blessing and a curse for Max and through reading his life story we find out why.<BR/><BR/>The Confessions of Max Tivoli is a love story....but a distinctly unique one. The opening line says "We are each the love of someone's life" and this is true for Max in several heart breaking ways. Alice is the love of Max's life and he meets her at three different stages of his life. The first time is when he is 17 (but looks to be in his 50's) and Alice is 14. He instantly is taken with her but she wants nothing to do with the 'old' man who lives upstairs. Their paths collide later on though when Alice is in her 30's and they fall in love and marry. Before Alice leaves him shortly after, he leaves her a gift that is born 9 months later in the form of Sammy. Max finds out about his son Sammy when he's an old man (but looks like a child) and goes on a search to find Sammy and Alice. Alice takes her ex-husband in as an orphan child and adopts him. So Max, once the husband and father, becomes the son and brother. At the three different times that Max knows Alice, she doesn't recognize him. He is three different people to her and it's heartbreaking to know he can't tell her the truth.<BR/><BR/>The Confessions of Max Tivoli takes place at the turn of the century San Francisco and incorporates real historical events into the story, for instance the infamous San Francisco Earthquake. The characters are unforgettable and so human. This is an exceptional, strange and beautiful yet heartrending story that I can't wait to read again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Fooled

    Upon reading the back of the book, I thought, 'What an interesting idea, I'm sure it will be wonderful'. I was fooled! This book is so boring that it is painful to endure. The lack of dialogue makes the book very bland and tedious. Max Tivoli's life was dull and sad. He made nothing of himself and even his romance was lame. The book would have been more interesting if the author would have allowed that the character take more chances and develop a more riveting plot. It was so tiring to read the same sob story page after page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Well written, endearing book

    I havent read a book this well written in a long time. Max Tivoli gets another opportunity for true love, and on his quest for Alice, the reader sees the best and the worst of human nature. I loved how everything was woven together, and I love even more the fact that this book has made me think about my own life, about the opportunities we have, whether they are taken or missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Pleased to be the first to review Max Tivoli for B&N

    I was fortunate enough to be the narrator for the audio version of 'The Confessions of Max Tivoli', thus I am able to write of this book before it's release. In short, '...Max Tivoli' was a thrill to read aloud. Mr. Greer has a wonderful gift for expressive language and his astonishing story seemed to tell itself. I was so taken by this book that I'm planning to reread it...this time quietly...to myself. Thank you, Andrew.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Why does this sound so familiar? Oh yeah, F. Scott Fitzgerald d

    Why does this sound so familiar? Oh yeah, F. Scott Fitzgerald did the same thing with Benjamin Button. So much for an original idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    This is my favorite book. I read it twice, cried both times. It'

    This is my favorite book. I read it twice, cried both times. It's beautiful, it's tragic, it's different from anything else I've read. Anyone who has known true love and/or unrequited love will most likely be deeply moved. Side note: every guy I know who has read it LOVED it, and every girl i've known who has read it thought it was just OK. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unforgettable

    I read this book long ago and it still remains one of my favorites. The way its written just lets you escape to the world of the characters and easily picture everything going on. Extremely original and touching, I'd take this story over Benjamin Button any time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    great inventive read!

    I'm surprised by some of the negative comments I've seen here on bn.com. This story is a great idea well executed. Max's body is going the wrong way through time, which gives rise to an array of scenes emotional, poignant, & humorous. Going along for the ride requires the reader to suspend some disbelief, but no more so than listening to a political debate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Similar elements to time travel

    I enjoyed this book. I liked suspending belief that this could happen. I liked the tie in to historical events. It all felt possible to me while reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Disappointing story

    I was disappointed with the book. Countless reviews and bestseller status fooled me into thinking that this story would have been a worthwile read. Yes, the plot was intriguing, but the author didn't do much to hold my attention. With such an extraordinary idea, the writing should not have been so ordinary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    slow starter

    I didn't think I was going to make it through the first 150 pages, but the story came around in the last half and made it a worth while read.If you can get past the overdone metaphors and questions about Alice--you've got it made. In the end I was glad I had stuck with it and really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    Fresh Idea, Excellent Execution

    The concept is lovely, the language is formal but gorgeous. There are some overwrought metaphors throughout, but this flaw is a product of the voice, not the writer. Greer took a risk by weaving his complex plot around the simplest of love stories; the result is heartbreaking. If you are looking for a lovely, engaging, magical read, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    I read it in a day

    What an amazing, fresh book. I *REALLY* Loved it. I started reading to take a break from cleaning...and then 5 hours later....oh don't you love great books???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    great idea that falls flat

    At first glance, the idea of the story of a man who grows younger instead of older, seems very intriguing. However, the story you have in your imagination is better than the author dreamed up. The novel is supposed to be a love story to Alice, but the reader isn't given enough Alice to fall in love with; and Max seems just as flat. I felt I was growing substantially older waiting for this book to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2004

    A Lovely Weave

    Greer writes with beautiful precision as he weaves Max's confession with twists and turns. Max is an original character and whether you believe he is victim or devil at any given moment, he is memorable. Excellent insights into relationships with parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    Disappointing Almost Awful

    Aftering reading: 'his smile was like the core of an apple', I knew that I was in trouble. Poor metaphors, that do not enhance or define, which only obscure, fill this book. This book was meant to impress but the lack a fluid narrative was sad to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    The Lovely Bones, Life of Pi, The Time Traveler's Wife...

    and now, THE CONFESSIONS OF MAX TIVOLI! The formula seems deceptively simple: take a fantastical premise, add one unheralded writer with the unique skill to pull it off, and stir. Pop it in the oven, and presto--out comes a debut breakout bestseller. If only it were that easy. To say Andrew Sean Greer will equal the likes of Alice Sebold, Yann Martel, and Audrey Niffenegger will be left to the bestseller lists. But something tells me that Susie Salmon better leave some space in the hearts and imaginations of readers; the refreshing, the endearing, the incomparable Max Tivoli is coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Some parts were good

    I was disappointed. All of the reviews were really, really positive but the book does suffer from very confusing metaphors and awkward internal conversation. It is more of a diary, with all of a diary's daily, unnoteworthy facts. If you like that kind of novel, good for you. There were some cute phrases and conversations here and there. The fact that Max was growing younger was reiterated WAY too often! Like, every other line. The love story was told like any teenager's first crush- there is really no reason for him to 'love' Alice so much and we never understand it. He just seems awkward, overthought, timid and stalker-ish. Overall, I was thoroughly disappointed. Too much press on this one! Next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    The Perfect Marriage

    My exercise program is based on books. I¿ve listened to hundreds and a fine one can painlessly add extra miles to my walking route. Were I to have traveled non-stop with The Confessions of Max Tivoli, I would now be limping into some Midwest town, preparing to hunt up a bookstore offering more of the same fare my brain and ears had just devoured. Greer¿s book is heartbreakingly good, single sentences stopping me in my tracks. Keeler becomes Max, taking the lines and weaving them into a memorable personality-of-voice as alive as any playwright¿s character brought to life by an actor on film or stage. This is as sweet a marriage of words and vocal expression as ever I¿ve heard; I¿m in awe of the talents of both writer and speaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2