Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Contractor

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    John Cheever Would Love This Book

    John Cheever says that the hallmark of good fiction is when the action on the surface of the narrative is underlined by deeper meaning below the surface. Confessions of a Contractor has that in spades. On the surface, it is a romp through the lives of LA's too-wealthy-to-give-a-crap-about-money set, and as such it holds up hilariously. But Confessions is much more psychologically astute than just that. The novel is really about the unfulfilled needs and desires we all have, but that wealthy people try to fill up with the right tile for the bathroom and a new addition to the guest house. Murphy very cleverly shows that, once the basic human needs of food, shelter and clothing are met, if the more basic human need for love goes unfulfilled, no amount of expensive food, shelter or clothing is going to fill that aching void. A very exciting first novel. I can't wait for more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Fix My House!

    The history of construction all points to one question, according to the narrator of this ingenious novel, '...can that home bring true happiness, and if so, how long will it last before it needs to be renovated again in a different color scheme?' Renovation, in other words, fills an empty space and the renovator, by inference in the rest of this humorous, potent tale, just might be contracting to be the filler of a gaping hole or flaw in the 'home' under the transformational process. So begins Henry Sullivan's tale of his relationships with many filthy rich Los Angeles women who all know each other's dirty secrets but who have been providing Henry and his crew work and intrigue by word of mouth for a very long time. Meet Sally Stein with whom Henry has some great sex but who is a bit jealous of what he's doing with the other woman he's working for. Then there's Rebecca Paulson whose husband hopes that this home renovation process might make his wife happy, that is until Henry begins Derrick Paulson is trying to frame him in order to divorce Rebecca. Not that Derrick is exactly an angel since he's bedding half of Los Angeles' females and is just a rather shady guy, the pot calling the kettle black perhaps? Learning that there's an inexplicable relationship between Rebecca and Sally in the past intrigues Henry. For some reason it reminds him of his romance with Gina, which he describes in a descending scale, from their intimate infatuation to the malicious act she performs to get back at him for what died quite quickly. He's rather stymied by the latter as he supposed Derrick Paulson was behind this particularly threatening act. Henry knows beyond a doubt that he should be running in the opposite direction from any and all of these possessive women, but the fact that he stays finally allows him to know his presence has been a most redeeming act in a surprising but oh so satisfying conclusion. Confessions of a Contractor is a fun romp through the lives of the rich and famous, a sort of bachelor reality show pushing the protagonist into an antagonistic state and then traveling full circle to something richer and finer in the end! Very clever and an unusual, rewarding read! Reviewed by Viviane Crystal on September 3, 2008

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    An inside look into the lives ... and homes ... in LA

    Confessions of a Contractor: a novel, by Richard Murphy, is a solid book in a shiny red jacket that is a pleasure to hold, to read, and to get lost in its pages. The protagonist, a simple man who lives in an apartment and drives his father¿s beat-up pickup truck, shows appropriate yet clear insight into the lives of the families that he works for/with. As he reconstructs their houses, he deconstructs their lives and tweaks their circumstances here and there, as he sees fit, to improve their marriages, their relationships, their lots in life. Until he meets Sally Stein. Sally is the challenge, the opportunity, the reason that he begins to look outside his ordered life and wonder what pieces he has been missing. His work for and with her changes him, and he is caught off guard a little by that. The developments that ensue are thrilling if mundane, and totally believable. Confessions of a Contractor is a book that kept my attention long past my expectations. It drew me in with its frank confessions about renovating a house and renovating a family, and it kept my attention with a well-paced story and engaging characters. Whether the subject is the women overseeing the renovations, their busy or missing husbands, or the contractors themselves, the author peppers the story with unexpected revelations that work on both a personal and a professional level. Whether you¿re considering renovating, wondering how to prepare to meet the contractor, or just intrigued with the world of the uber-rich in LA (and the contractors who work in their homes), this is a book that will keep you reading well past lights-out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    A fun, fantastic read!

    This book was a great read! It was nice to see how the characters developed, and Richard Murphy did a great job of creating so much clarity in the end when the story came together. The book was a modern take on the complicated lives of the wealthy and the people who they encounter and become part of their lives. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    Better than the cover looks....

    Confessions of a Contractor is the debut novel from Richard Murphy just released last month from Penguin. I must admit that my initial impression from the cover shot was that 'Contractor' would be a sexual romp through the desperate housewives of Renovation Lane. I was pleasantly surprised to be proven wrong. Yes there is sex, but that's not the main thrust of the book. Henry is a contractor to the wealthy of Los Angeles. For the most part, he dodges landmines as some of his wealthy women clients do have more than renovations in mind. Henry acts as a sounding board, a shoulder to cry on and reads his clients well. In fact he states that: 'The first thing a woman needs to know about renovating a house or apartment is simple: do not, under any circumstance, sleep with your contractor, no matter what your husband or boyfriend is doing to you or not doing to you' But one summer he takes on two houses at the same time and falls in love with both women owners. The ensuing story is about love and friendship told with a healthy dose of humour. The supporting characters are well drawn and believable. His friend Bill steals the show when they are together. Murphy himself worked in the renovation field before working as a screenwriter. 'Contractor' is told in the first person and is filled with lots of advice and humorous situations that have to be the product of experience. It is a fun,enjoyable read that went deeper than the cover predicted.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    A fun read just right for a weekend getaway

    Like a cold beer on a hot summer day, it's pure enjoyment and finished too quickly. Richard Murphy's vivid descriptions of the home renovation scene made me feel like I should be taking notes since I am starting a home building project myself just now. His personal insights and straightfoward style will make you smile.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Different Genre for me

    First, I must admit that Richard is my cousin's husband. Because I read so much, my parents asked me to read his book. Since I prefer suspense, fantasy, sci-fi and similar genres, I really didn't want to deviate. However, what a pleasant surprise. Richard is a wonderfully creative writer. I truly enjoyed reading this book and escaping into someone else's reality. At first blush, excessive sex comes to mind, however, it is nothing like that. There is sex, but the storyline is not based on it; this is a book about relationships and how they affect life. An easy, pleasant read that I would recommend to everyone. Richard, can't wait to read your next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    Excellent Read

    Cleverly written with great characters that you actually care about. Hurrah for his first novel, I can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Remodel this book, please!

    Boring, wordy, in desperate need of a remodel!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I kept thinking it had to get better....

    It was boring. For a man to have written it without going into any detail of his encounters with the women was very disappointing. He has no problem wth the f bomb though. I think a high school student could write better. I can't believe I wasted my time and money on this stinker!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1