Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Laugh out loud funny

Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl is Susan McCorkindale's hilarious account of ditching the city for the sticks. It's chick lit at its laugh out loud funniest. Don't miss it.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I'd rather read the dictionary

I returned this book after finishing it. I finished it in hopes that the author would get far less annoying, learn to wear boots in the cow pasture, stop spending all of her husband's money on designer purses, stop whining about the lack of Starbucks, stop talking about...
I returned this book after finishing it. I finished it in hopes that the author would get far less annoying, learn to wear boots in the cow pasture, stop spending all of her husband's money on designer purses, stop whining about the lack of Starbucks, stop talking about her boys' peeing and nose-picking habits, and stop overusing the words "tome" and "hinterland." Alas. The memoir was supposed to be funny, but I didn't crack a smile until at least page 50. Her voice was annoying, her informal and overused "This is probably a good time to tell you." showed a serious lack of journalistic maturity, and her "thing" seemed to be little (unnecessary, long, annoying, rarely humorous) footnotes. She took great pride in never adjusting to farm life (at the end of the book they move to a lake and she's excited because there's a Starbucks in town.get over it already) and spending a ton of money. At one point she orders 135 bathing suits to try on in the comfort of her own home, shipping back the 132 she didn't keep. If you have to try on 135 bathing suits to find one or three that you want to keep, you're a) not supposed to be wearing one anyway, b) too stupid to be near water, or c) have no concept of money or reality. The woman behaved like a petulant, airhead 13-year-old for the entire book, during which time she advertises herself as unable to do anything (can't cook, can't discipline her kids, can't drive a truck, can't blow-dry her own hair straight) and proud of it. Whatever floats your boat, Suzie. I got my money back.

posted by ThirdSister on December 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'd rather read the dictionary

    I returned this book after finishing it. I finished it in hopes that the author would get far less annoying, learn to wear boots in the cow pasture, stop spending all of her husband's money on designer purses, stop whining about the lack of Starbucks, stop talking about her boys' peeing and nose-picking habits, and stop overusing the words "tome" and "hinterland." Alas. The memoir was supposed to be funny, but I didn't crack a smile until at least page 50. Her voice was annoying, her informal and overused "This is probably a good time to tell you." showed a serious lack of journalistic maturity, and her "thing" seemed to be little (unnecessary, long, annoying, rarely humorous) footnotes. She took great pride in never adjusting to farm life (at the end of the book they move to a lake and she's excited because there's a Starbucks in town.get over it already) and spending a ton of money. At one point she orders 135 bathing suits to try on in the comfort of her own home, shipping back the 132 she didn't keep. If you have to try on 135 bathing suits to find one or three that you want to keep, you're a) not supposed to be wearing one anyway, b) too stupid to be near water, or c) have no concept of money or reality. The woman behaved like a petulant, airhead 13-year-old for the entire book, during which time she advertises herself as unable to do anything (can't cook, can't discipline her kids, can't drive a truck, can't blow-dry her own hair straight) and proud of it. Whatever floats your boat, Suzie. I got my money back.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    Could not stand her voice

    I wanted to like this book--I thought I would like this book. Unfortunately, Susan McCorkindale is entirely out of touch with the average reader/person. She complains to no end about how hard it is to live in her brother-in-law's house that is "practically a four-star hotel." How annoying it is that the contractors aren't getting their renovations done on time (more items that would cost a FORTUNE). How inconvenient it is to have to spend 2 hours at the DMV--HEY SUSAN, ANYONE WHO HAS EVER MOVED TO A NEW STATE, OR EVEN A NEW HOME, SPENDS TWO HOURS AT THE DMV. AND MOST OF US HAVE JOBS THAT WE HAVE TO TAKE VACATION TIME FROM TO DO IT.

    She is condescending and comes off as a huge snob. I would never, ever recommend this book to ANY LIVING PERSON.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Similar to a mall directory but not as interesting

    Where to start..... I guess I'll start with the author's (I use that term loosely) experience of working in New York. She happily and shamelessly admits to dumping her work onto her staff and goofing off while collecting a large salary (she gave the work to the staff but not the money).

    I can't help but wonder what her former employer thought when they read this. I hope that they gave serious thought to suing her.

    After writing about her days as a high paid slacker she goes on (and on and on) to talk about shopping, lots of shopping.

    In all fairness she also talks about her hair and her figure.

    I was wondering why any publisher would shell out money for this but it was probably financed by a variety of retail establishments. Starbucks (which is mentioned on almost every page) probably paid most of it.

    When she's not talking about shopping and trying (and failing) very hard to be funny she sometimes mentions her dim witted, Playboy addicted husband who she refers to by a number of nicknames as if he was some type of pet.

    Hearing about him isn't as bad as hearing about her spoiled brat sons. Of course it's not their fault they're spoiled. She goes into great detail about the lengths she goes to to spoil them.

    She goes into great detail about everything (e.g. her day spent trying on swimsuits) except life on the farm.

    Having made the transition from city life and a well paid job to rural life (and a not so well paid job) I know how many interesting things there are to write about when making that kind of transition. She doesn't write about any of them.

    She talks in the beginning of the book about how traumatized she was by 911 and then goes on to talk about her sons playing terrorist. Here's a quote from one of the little darlings "I'm a terrorist and I'm going to take you out."

    When she talked about the kids being "tricked out like terrorists" to "pop pigeons" I decided to stop torturing myself and turn the book into mulch which is as close to farm life as it's ever going to get.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Not well written

    I rarely provide reviews or feedback. However, I feel compelled to share that this was one of the few books that I threw away without finishing. It was terrible. I prefer to share books with friends or neighbors or donate to the local library's book sale. Not the case with this book. I usually try to read a book at least halfway through. I expected this book to provide an amusing summer read, but it was so clumsily written that I was forced to abandon it. The writer's attempts to be funny in describing her move from suburban New Jersey to rural Virginia are feeble. The anecdotes are contrived and manipulated. The story line, if there is one, is so disjointed that it's hard to follow. The writer should have stuck with her job in magazine marketing. The bottom line: If you enjoy good writing, don't buy this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Boring

    Recommended by my local bn I found this book boring. It was the same thing page after page. Just about her life going from the city to the country. Her very ill mannered children and spouse who don't do anything to keep the house clean, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Ugh

    Horrible book start to finish. Can't believe I wasted hard earned money on this spoiled snob's rant about moving to the "country"...she belongs in the city, where she is just another nameless face that can't, and shouldn't be heard...

    I thought this would be another lovely look at learning to live off the land and getting back to nature, gardening, wildlife. I could not have been more mistaken! This was so far removed from the normal person's reality, it was a shame harmless trees were destroyed to print it. Shame on the publisher, but lucky for Family Circle to be rid of her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Didn't make it past chapter 3!

    As someone who has grown up in the country and loved it this book is very off base. I could not get into it. Who payed to have this published and to think she has 2! I am glad I got it from my emedia library and did not buy this. Sounds like she needs to go back to the city. All she does it talk about how bad it was to move there, not wear heels and no starbucks. I hope she knows who dumb she sounds in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1