Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Little Black Gown

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Liked it better than the first!

    I loved this book! I enjoyed the back and forth between the characters and the humor weaved into a little mystery. I did not however enjoy the cliffhanger leading to book 3! Reading about it...well i wont say anymore as to spoil it for you ;-) this is a quick, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Book 4 Tally & Larken

    A good read and well worth the time but not quite the page turner like the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Confessions of a Little Black Gown

    I like this couple and their cat and mouse games and lively interplay. Larken and Tally's attraction is almost immediate, but it nonetheless feels natural and in fitting with the story. There is good chemistry between them. The comedy is a bit overdone for my taste, seeming almost slapstick at times, i.e., the yapping dog eating hems and boots; the busybody duchess; the hero and heroine tripping over their feet. It all seems at odds with the serious nature of Dash's predicament and Larkin's grim assignment - as well as several murders taking place. The story is involving, though, and kept me turning the pages to see how it all would play out. I think this series would have benefited from being released three months in a row, like the recent Balogh series. Confessions almost stood alone, but having read the previous book greatly enhanced my enjoyment of it. There are several elements that made it enjoyable on it's own - the primary one being Tally's sense of who Larken is on the inside, despite how he presents himself on the outside. It was enough to make me half wish that the external Larken would stay Larken - that Tally, who dreamed of a dashing adventurer, really would find herself enraptured by a clumsy vicar. Read it in one sitting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I really did enjoy this book. I started reading one of Elizabet

    I really did enjoy this book. I started reading one of Elizabeth Boyle's books and I ended up buying one after the other. They are all very enjoyable reads - written well and entertaining. Luckily the Boyle books are all on my Nook because I kept going back to the other books to see where these characters fit in. He is supposed to be a bumbling vicar and she's supposed to be searching for her 'hero' so that's kind of annoying. I like trying to fit the pieces together from previous stories but you can read these alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Funny

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Just as exciting as twin Felicity story

    Loved this "match" between Tally and Larkin even if Larkin wasn't tall, dark and handsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Good Book

    It was a great historical romance novel and loved the story between Tally and Lord Larken. However, I felt the story did drag on and the Duchess was annoying in this book. If you read Love Letters to a Duke about the duchess, she was different in her book. Though he annoyance was distracting I still enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A continuing blend of fun and adventure, but this follow up to Love Letters has lost its edge

    Newly married Felicity gives her first house party in the country filled with people who aren't who they seem to be. Felicity aims make her mark as a matchmaker, using her chronicles to pair off several of the guests, one of whom is Hollindrake's "cousin", a vicar, "Mr. Ryder", a bumbling, unkempt man whom Tally perceives very differently. He's actually a haunted secret agent, Lord Larken, sent by Temple and Pymm to do away with the newly-freed (by Pippin and Tally) from-prison Dash, who is hidden in the mansion as Aunt Minty and reunited with Pippin. Lurking is the last of a French order of killer women, Aurora, who also is after Dash. The little black gown is actually Aurora's, found in a trunk mix-up by Tally; Tally wears it to unmask the vicar and unleash the handsome rake hiding behind it. A big finale similar to the ballroom scene in Love Letters . . . This time Felicity's dead aim kills the bad gal and frees captives Dash and Larken. But Pippin has arranged Dash's freedom by marrying the very kind Lord Gossett who loves her (and her unborn child). Tally and Larken run off to marry in Gretna Green, but the hearts of Pippin and Dash are broken.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    going for the same end by difrent means

    fitting for what you whant and getting it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Confessions of A Little Black Gown

    Lord Larken has been chosen to find the pirate Dashwell and kill him. The only clue he has is that two Mayfair misses had broken Dashwell out of prison. Lord Larken has gone undercover as the Duke of Hollindrake's cousin, the vicar Milo Ryder. When Talia Langley first sees Milo Ryder, she doesn't see a vicar, but a rake. But Tally and her cousin Pippin don't have time for matchmaking, which is what Tally's sister, the Duchess of Hollindrake is trying to do.

    I loved this book, of course, I don't think I haven't disliked any of Elizabeth Boyle's books. It took me a while to realize that Confession's of a Little Black Gown was the second book in the Bachelor Chronicles which began with Love Letters From A Duke. I really liked that Ms. Boyles had several of the characters from her other books in this one. I can't wait to read Pippin's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    good but not great

    The book before this one, and the one after it are awesome. This one, not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait for the Next One!

    I cannot wait for Pippin's story. Tally's was great but E.B. left you hanging about Pippin's future. I love all the mischief the girls get into. Only they could pull off the stunts that they do. I know it's not out yet, but I am recommending Memoir of a Scandalous Red Dress. It's going to be good I know it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wild Regency romance

    In 1814 the Crown's master spy Lord Larken is assigned to assassinate Dashwell the American pirate who just escaped incarceration. Though he hates the assignment as he and Dashwell were friends before the second war with the colonies erupted; to accomplish his mission, Larken pretends to be a bumbling somewhat reticent vicar, Ryder, a cousin to a duke.

    The Langley sisters Thalia and Felicity (see LOVE LETTERS FROM A DUKE) helped Dashwell escape from prison. Thalia's luggage goes missing, but she receives someone else's trunk containing a little black gown that she puts on. When Thalia and the vicar meet, she rejects the notion this man is shy and clumsy; instead she believes he is hiding behind an image as she sees his gracefulness. He knows she abetted the pirate, but though he wants to arrest her he finds her arrestingly beautiful while she hides Dashwell from Ryder, a man who scares her because she is attracted to what he conceals.

    This is a wild Regency romance in which the War of 1812 has made friends and lovers into enemies. Larken seeks the woman who possesses the black gown because she will enable him to expose Napoleonic agents. However, he ends up with the wrong female due to the luggage mishandling. Filled with spins and twists, the latest Bachelor Chronicles is a terrific amusing historical filled with a warm romance and pot "boyled" intrigue.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3