Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Little Black Gown

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Liked it better than the first!

    I loved this book! I enjoyed the back and forth between the characters and the humor weaved into a little mystery. I did not however enjoy the cliffhanger leading to book 3! Reading about it...well i wont say anymore as to spoil it for you ;-) this is a quick, enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Book 4 Tally & Larken

    A good read and well worth the time but not quite the page turner like the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    There's a lot of spying going on at this little house party! Lor

    There's a lot of spying going on at this little house party! Lord Larken, master spy, is undercover to find an escaped traitor pirate who happens to be his friend. The women in the Langley/Knolles family are scheming to pull off a great escape. And a deadly assassin is trying to tie up loose ends and retrieve a certain sexy black gown. Meanwhile there is the serious business of matchmaking to attend to.

    Larken and Tally made a great couple. They were both very skilled at espionage and just plain sneakiness. However, learning to trust each other was their major hurdle.

    I did think Phillipa gave in way too easily at the end. I hope there's more to that story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    I really did enjoy this book. I started reading one of Elizabet

    I really did enjoy this book. I started reading one of Elizabeth Boyle's books and I ended up buying one after the other. They are all very enjoyable reads - written well and entertaining. Luckily the Boyle books are all on my Nook because I kept going back to the other books to see where these characters fit in. He is supposed to be a bumbling vicar and she's supposed to be searching for her 'hero' so that's kind of annoying. I like trying to fit the pieces together from previous stories but you can read these alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A continuing blend of fun and adventure, but this follow up to Love Letters has lost its edge

    Newly married Felicity gives her first house party in the country filled with people who aren't who they seem to be. Felicity aims make her mark as a matchmaker, using her chronicles to pair off several of the guests, one of whom is Hollindrake's "cousin", a vicar, "Mr. Ryder", a bumbling, unkempt man whom Tally perceives very differently. He's actually a haunted secret agent, Lord Larken, sent by Temple and Pymm to do away with the newly-freed (by Pippin and Tally) from-prison Dash, who is hidden in the mansion as Aunt Minty and reunited with Pippin. Lurking is the last of a French order of killer women, Aurora, who also is after Dash. The little black gown is actually Aurora's, found in a trunk mix-up by Tally; Tally wears it to unmask the vicar and unleash the handsome rake hiding behind it. A big finale similar to the ballroom scene in Love Letters . . . This time Felicity's dead aim kills the bad gal and frees captives Dash and Larken. But Pippin has arranged Dash's freedom by marrying the very kind Lord Gossett who loves her (and her unborn child). Tally and Larken run off to marry in Gretna Green, but the hearts of Pippin and Dash are broken.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    going for the same end by difrent means

    fitting for what you whant and getting it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Confessions of A Little Black Gown

    Lord Larken has been chosen to find the pirate Dashwell and kill him. The only clue he has is that two Mayfair misses had broken Dashwell out of prison. Lord Larken has gone undercover as the Duke of Hollindrake's cousin, the vicar Milo Ryder. When Talia Langley first sees Milo Ryder, she doesn't see a vicar, but a rake. But Tally and her cousin Pippin don't have time for matchmaking, which is what Tally's sister, the Duchess of Hollindrake is trying to do.

    I loved this book, of course, I don't think I haven't disliked any of Elizabeth Boyle's books. It took me a while to realize that Confession's of a Little Black Gown was the second book in the Bachelor Chronicles which began with Love Letters From A Duke. I really liked that Ms. Boyles had several of the characters from her other books in this one. I can't wait to read Pippin's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    good but not great

    The book before this one, and the one after it are awesome. This one, not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2