Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Military Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    Highly recommended...especially for someone married to or getting ready to marry a Marine.

    This book helped me so much. Mollie truly gives an in-depth look into being married to a Marine. I read this book halfway through our deployment and it really was a pick-me-up. It gave me a confidence boost and reminded me that I am not alone in the way I feel. I also love how humorous she keeps the book. Being with a Marine is no easy feat, but there isn't another person in this world that will ever make me more proud. I think this book should be mandatory for all girlfriends, Fiancees and Wives.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Hilarious and helpful

    I read this book in a military wives book club and loved it! Even as a new military wife i could relate. Molly shares her stories in a way that also has helped me make the best out of this lifestyle. I would suggest this for any military wife or girlfriend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read For All Military Wives!!

    This is a must read for any military wife. As a newlywed military wife myself, I found this book extremely helpful to adjusting to the everyday occurrences that military wives face. It covers everything from adjusting to life on base, dealing with being separated from family and friends, pre-deployment preparation, and it discusses the struggles of deployments and how to survive those long months apart from your spouse.

    This is one of the best military wife books that I have read!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Didn't want to put it down!

    It's a great book, easy to read, funny and kept me interested. Although I'm an Army Wife, any spouse of any military branch can read this. However, it didn't really provide me with much new information, it did give me things to think about that hadn't really come to mind before. I certainly enjoyed reading Mollie's experience and will probably pick it up to read again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    A wonderful resource

    This book is an incredible, funny, resourceful book fit for military wives of all ages. It has so many great ideas and stories. I laughed and cried my way through the book and still refer to it often as well as recommend it to all my friends. Looking forward to Mollie's next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    Thought this was a wonderful read. You get the first hand insite to being in the military even when you are not. Actually makes you feel like a military wife. Has good marriage tips also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Humour is the honey that makes the medicine go down. Mollie Gros

    Humour is the honey that makes the medicine go down. Mollie Gross might well be read by the partners of police officers, fire fighters, race car drivers too. Spouses are as much risk-takers as the partners they choose!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    My stomach hurts now...FROM LAUGHING

    This book is incredibly funny! Not only is it funny, but it really reaches to your heart and you cry and laugh more in ten minutes then you thought you would. This book got me through a deployment and I have gifted it to many girls who love it. I am not much of a reader and I could not put this down...Must Read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No.

    I didn't even finish this book, I got pretty far into it and quit. It was just obnoxious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    A book every military wife needs to read!

    This book is great! I am a marine wife and could relate to so much in this book! A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    the best

    This book was funny and kept me very amused thank you to mt daughter and son in law for fighting to keep us safe at home

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I am a military, but military wife or not, this book is funny! I actually laughed out loud several times. Each time, my husband wanted to know what was so funny, so I would read to him and he would be laughing, too. Great read for anyone to understand the military life and what the families go through at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Very Happy! B&N Provided a track #!

    Although i couldnt stand waiting because i was so excited for this book, the wait wasnt bad at all they shipped it asap and i got it with in a reasonable time now im enjoying C.O.A.M.W. Its A great book and easy to get into i love it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Very funny! Couldn't put it down!

    I bought this book after reading the first few pages. I literally laughed out loud. The whole book was great. It was a combination of humor and serious situations that Gross made lighthearted and funny. This is a great book for military wives or girlfriends. She explains a lot of military lingo and some things she dealt with while her husband was away. The bonds she makes with other women is great. It is an inside look at the life of so many. Loved is and recommended it to many! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    Mollie Gross' book

    Mollie Gross,
    I just got a copy of your on June 16th and started it the same day I got it in the mail and It def already got me laughing alot already. I love your book so far!! It's very detailed and exciting! :) I recommend this author for anyone even if you're not involved with anyone in the military. It's good for laughs as well. I am a Marine fiance and it's very uplifting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Hilariously true!

    This book is great! As a previous military wife I could really relate to a lot of what she was saying, even better she made it entertaining and funny! It's refreshing to see someone take an experience like deployment and put a positive spin on it. I've suggested this book to all of my friends who are military wives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    One of the best books I've read in a long time! Molly Gross created a factual, yet funny portrail of the life of the "Silent Ranks" and the things we go through.

    I am a miliarty bratt who grew up knowing one day i'd marry "my daddy". A big, rough and tough Marine!! I did just that. I was married in Oct 2009 only to find out 3 weeks later my husband had orders to Afghanistan. It broke my heart to know i'd be apart from my husband before we really got a chance to be a married couple. Thankfully the orders got cancled a few weeks before he was supposed to leave, and new orders got posted. Its been a roller coater ride for the past few months, but this book has helped me tremendously! Even though I grew up with my dad gone all the time, I didn't realize how it would affect me as an adult when my husband left. I found comfort, humor, sheer stupidity, and good old fashioned fun in reading this book. I laughed till I cried and found it impossible to put down. This book is a MUST for anyone who is considering marrying into the military or or anyone who just needs to see the humor in someone elses experiences.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    Hysterically funny and so true!

    I am married to a Marine and this book really tells the truth about what its like to be a military wife. Tv shows about military families are not nearly as accurate as this book! The stories about Mollie and her friends on base made me laugh out loud. My face actually hurt from smiling. The truth is funnier than fiction!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3