Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Pagan Nun

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Thought-Provoker

    This book makes you think, I had originally bought it because I thought that it was more along the historical fiction lines, while it is a historical fiction book, it might as well be true because not only is it moving (the ending was so tragic it almost made me cry), but more importantly it makes you think about a period of history that is so often forgotten....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A woman's voice carried through the ages...

    Gwynneve, the pagan nun, recounts her life with honesty, humor, loss, joy and fear. She is caught between her pagan upbringing and the Christian faith that is sweeping over her native Ireland. Her words are simple yet laden with complex thoughts and emotions. Her perspective is innocently logical and she clings to it right up until her end. Gwynneve's poignant manuscript is beautifully written and a testament to all the ordinary lives that lived and died during the Dark Ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    Irish treasure

    A very fine read and excellent story portraying the rugged life of a monastic Irish woman. It seems so real to be fiction and I would like to bet it is non fiction in part.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Excellent. Not what I expected. Definately thought-provoking,

    Excellent. Not what I expected. Definately thought-provoking, interesting and complex. It is not the Plot of what happens that will keep you reading. It is the internal process of dear Gwynneve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    The Abiding Wisdom of a Sixth Century Woman I consider Confessio

    The Abiding Wisdom of a Sixth Century Woman
    I consider Confessions of a Pagan Nun to be a wisdom book. It is among the most beautiful books I have ever read. Set in early 6th Century Ireland, approximately 50 years after St. Patrick's Declaration, it is a portrait of the final transition from Pagan to Christian Ireland. A novel, it purports to be the confessions of Gwynneve, long an apprentice to one of the last Druid priests (a master of languages) and now a Catholic nun at the Convent of St. Brigit. She writes of both her past life and her present life, in alternating chapters. For her, having lived her life as a Pagan, and having converted to Christianity more by choice than conscience -- a necessary survival move -- she begins to discover a deep commonality between her old Pagan beliefs and her new Christian beliefs. In the course of this profoundly life-affirming but ultimately tragic novel, what she finally unearths within the bottomless precincts of her own mind, heart, and spirit is a profound womanly wisdom and understanding. The ending made me weep long and hard. There's magic here, in the oldest, best senses -- the magic of life itself, and the healing magic of storytelling, in its ability to powerfully remind us of that fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Interesting

    It's a short novel and a bit difficult to get into, but I feel very rewarding. It's told from the perspective of a woman who was raised Pagan and chooses Christianity, but struggles with her upbringing and current choices. It helps with a bit of perspective about that time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect

    This book's voice is poetic, its point is true, and its historical aspects are fascinating. This book caught my eye in the library, I read it nodding my head, and I have just bought it to add to my permanent bookshelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Poetically haunting

    Captivating w/ an elegantly humane voice. This is a book that all who struggle with the faith of now and that of their ancestors should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Back to our roots

    If you are Irish, Catholic and a woman you will be fascinated by this novel that reads like a non-fiction journal. This story will enlighten you to the religious traditions that existed before the Catholic Church became prominent in Ireland. It is magical, intriguing and speaks of justice vs injustice. This wonderful read will urge you to learn more about your pagan roots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Terrific book!

    I had to keep reminding myself that this book was fiction-- not an ancient artifact discovered in some long-forgotten Irish nook or cranny. If you are intrigued by all things medieval, Ireland, philosophy, religion, women's history, or great story-telling, this is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2001

    Intensely Beautiful and Powerful

    This book appeals to the mind and the heart. It's an escape that takes you somewhere enriching, somewhere that makes you think and feel. It's set in the Dark Ages of Ireland and written as though a woman's journal of her struggles with human suffering and religious doubt. There's a lot here. It's a short book, but a lot happens, from passionate love to loss and revelation. I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1