Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Public Speaker

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Enjoyed and appreciated, would recommend

    It was recommended to me and I enjoyed it....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Very Useful book.

    There are a lot of books on public speaking so that you will not be boring. Why are those books so boring? I think I will write a book on how to write books that are not boring about public speaking. Unfortunately, Scott Berkun's book beat me to it. His book is NOT boring. The book is very readable and interesting. Most books on public speaking are written by professional speakers who have no idea what you and I go through when we suddenly have to give a talk to the local Rotary Club. Scott does know. He book is intensely practical for the everyday run-of-the-mill guy who has to talk to a Rotary Club. His advice has turned my speech tomorrow from an "oh my God what am I gonna do?" into a joyous and fun event. Best I should review the book today. Maybe the day after my speech I would have a different view. So Read This Book now so you will be ready when you have to prepare a speech for your Rotary Club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Witty, conversational guide to making public presentations

    Futurist and best-selling author Scott Berkun knows all about public presentations. He speaks often at high-tech conferences and other pressurized gatherings. His easy-going, colloquial approach and unpretentious, folksy advice make this an quick, entertaining and useful read. Although about half of what he says is not new, the book is memorable because of his candor about the self-consciousness and awkwardness that most people experience when speaking in public. Berkun convinces you that anyone can excel at public speaking. He offers many techniques to help with the most difficult aspect: being yourself. getAbstract recommends this amusing guide to anyone who has to get up and talk to a roomful of strangers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Must Read- Esp for Newbies & Reluctant Public Speakers!

    Confessions of a Public Speaker by Scott Berkun

    This is the first book I have read and reviewed for O'Reilly Publishing house, and it is a definite read for any person who does any type of public speaking. Berkun starts the book with a story, and continues to provide personal stories through out the book which makes the book a great, fast read. Berkun also provides personal reflection as to what the audience expects or doesn't expect, and what is remembered and not remembered. Berkun also helps put public speaking into perspective with, "..... start with the realization that no (one) has died from giving a bad presentation." Pg 15 of ePub along with Ian Tyson's quote,"the body's reaction to fear and excitement is the same... so it becomes a mental decision: am I afraid or am I excited?" pg 20.

    Berkun provides various tips and tricks, at least what has worked for him. Berkun also lists issues that speakers may not think of: using a count down timer, wear a collar and tuck the microphone cord under the shirt so that it doesn't get accidentally yanked off. A thorough appendix covers almost every imaginable horrific event; being heckled, your time slot has just been cut to 1/4th the time, etc.

    Overall I recommend this book to people who are new to public speaking or who continually state, "I hate public speaking." In fact I believe this book should be a recommended read for public speaking classes. The book is written in a casual format, he does use colorful words and scenarios, and what I find the most amusing, refers the reader to the movie Animal House as having two speeches which should be studied by all public speakers pg 162.

    I received this book for free from O'Reilly publishing house in return for reading the book and providing an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On Effective Public Speaking

    Confessions of a Public Speaker (Scott Berkun, O'Reilly Media, Oct 2009. 240 pages, ISBN: 978-0-596-80199-1) is a book on how to improve your public speaking. Scott, who is a professional speaker (as well as a writer) has collated his extensive experience of public speaking into this delightful book.

    Instead of a dry book having bulleted contents and checklist, this book is woven together by a series of interesting anecdotes. The book begins with an inflight conversation, where Scott is asked, "When ... giving a lecture, do you imagine everyone in the room naked?" setting the tone for what is to follow.

    Each chapter of the book focuses on various tips and tricks that a speaker should know. One of the underlying message is about preparation and practice - nothing else matters.

    There is an interesting chapter on how much speakers are paid and on what basis. There is another chapter dealing with the nuances of being on television. A third one talks about how to be a good teacher, based on his experience learning stick shift (manual gear) driving, taught by his brother.

    The most hilarious chapter is You can't do worse than this, which houses a collection of goof-ups by various public speakers.

    Like his The Myths of Innovation, this book by Scott Berkum is also a very interesting read. Perhaps it could have been shortened a bit, but then unlike speeches, books are not "time-boxed".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for those who've done a little public speaking . . . or a lot

    For a book on public speaking, this is a very entertaining, fun, enjoyable read. It's written by someone who does this for a living, learned things the hard way, and has a lot of good stories to tell. I daresay you might even like this if you had no interest in public speaking at all. Nonetheless, the author has some excellent ideas and advice for those who need to give a presentation here and there, and for those who do it a lot and still have room for improvement. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Great read!

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1