Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Scary Mommy: An Honest and Irreverent Look at Motherhood: The Good, The Bad, and the Scary

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and ac

I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and actually read a book anymore. However, something about Confessions of a Scary Mommy grabbed ahold of me and I couldn't put it down. In the course of a day, I read the entire book from cover to cover...it re...
I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and actually read a book anymore. However, something about Confessions of a Scary Mommy grabbed ahold of me and I couldn't put it down. In the course of a day, I read the entire book from cover to cover...it really is that good. Jill Smokler's approach to motherhood is honest, refreshing, and will have you racing to the next page. What I really love about this book is it's ability to say "yes, parenting is hard, but it is so very worth it."

posted by FrancescaB on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was so disappointedvwith this book. I was hoping for a funny and insightful read about the challenges of motherhood. Instead, it read like a blog. The writing was choppy, disjointed and at points a bit rambling. There were a few humorous parts but overall she went ...
I was so disappointedvwith this book. I was hoping for a funny and insightful read about the challenges of motherhood. Instead, it read like a blog. The writing was choppy, disjointed and at points a bit rambling. There were a few humorous parts but overall she went for the obvious laugh and it was not very insightful.

In short, I was sorry I bought this book.

posted by 6370310 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Sometimes what a mom really needs to hear is that not all the ot

    Sometimes what a mom really needs to hear is that not all the other moms out there are part of this culture of "one upsmanship", that there are those that don't buy into the sorority of phoneys. The laughter in this book is cathartic, uplifting, cheeky, funny, foul-mouthed and fist pumping good FUN!!! It builds a sense of solidarity in a profession that is rife with stress, snot, thanklessness, joy and pain. After all this is the hardest, starriest, job you'll ever love.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Here are two must buys for any baby shower: The book "Confe

    Here are two must buys for any baby shower: The book "Confessions of a Scary Mommy" and a big box of diapers

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Hilarious take on motherhood! Love her writing style and humor.

    Hilarious take on motherhood! Love her writing style and humor. My kind of mother!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Not worth the money

    I have to say, after reading the reviews and the sample, I had to buy it immediately as it looked like something I could relate to. At first I found it funny and relateable , plus it sort of validated some of the things I've struggled with silently as a mother. However, after the first few chapters, I was disappointed. I felt like she did go for the obvious laugh but at the cost of sounding hateful and resentful, not to mention repetative. I had to force myself to get through it just to not make the money I spent a complete waste.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Funny

    Loved the mommy confessions!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Hilarious!

    Love, love, love this book. Laughed the whole way through. Mostly because about 90% of it applied to me. Although, I am quite embarassed to admit that! Definitely worth the read for any "real" mommy out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Disappointed

    I was so disappointedvwith this book. I was hoping for a funny and insightful read about the challenges of motherhood. Instead, it read like a blog. The writing was choppy, disjointed and at points a bit rambling. There were a few humorous parts but overall she went for the obvious laugh and it was not very insightful.

    In short, I was sorry I bought this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Best book for moms

    I finally finished the book after hiding in my room so i could read in peace amd quiet. Such a phenomenal book! I finally feel like a normal mom, with everyday wants and needs. I have recommended this book several times....even while i was one page 3 for the longest time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Fun

    Fun read, very human

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Helps me laugh at the "Mommy Guilt"

    I greatly enjoyed the confessions that this author and the anonymous contributors used in this book. While I could relate to a few of them, most of them made me feel like I wasn't doing that bad of a job at parenting. After reading this book I shared it with my mother; she said that the confession about flipping her teenage daughter off once the front door had closed was particularly understandable for her. All in all, a good read and worth the money if you can step back and laugh at your own imperfections, just don't expect any life-changing parenting advice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    LOL Funny

    Being a mom of two,this book made me laugh out loud at times when reading. It is a fast read and light-hearted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Mommy must read!

    Absolutely hilarious! All moms should definately read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Simply amazing

    This book is a must own. I wish i would have had something like this to read when i was a first time mom. So many points i can see as myself. I will be getting this for future moms as baby shower gifts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    MK

    Res five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Fun Read

    I had fun reading this book. It was witty and made me laugh out loud a few times. Jill says the things everyone thinks but may not necessarily say out loud. Something to help take the pressure off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Loved it!

    This book was so funny! It hit home on many different occassions. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Hey

    Awesmoe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    SUCKS!

    I thought this book was going to be funny and it was but not that funny my husband makes me laugh at parenthood more. It is basically a few comments from other moms thtnare funny at the beginning of each chaper and thts it the rest is stupid the rest of the chapter is just the one lady talking about her experience what she went through and thts it, its just a blogg basicly I really wish. Hadn't spent money on it not even worth $5 much less $10 and wish I had read the reviews.first I see.lots of ppl thought the same thing as me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    As a stay at home mom, I needed a good laugh. I absolutely love this book. So much honesty and quirky comments are held within. I look forward to reading many more of Jill Smokler's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Absolutely hilarious!

    Makes me and all of my miserable mommy fails feel completely ok! A must read for all moms and soon to be moms!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5