BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Scary Mommy: An Honest and Irreverent Look at Motherhood: The Good, The Bad, and the Scary

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and ac

I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and actually read a book anymore. However, something about Confessions of a Scary Mommy grabbed ahold of me and I couldn't put it down. In the course of a day, I read the entire book from cover to cover...it re...
I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and actually read a book anymore. However, something about Confessions of a Scary Mommy grabbed ahold of me and I couldn't put it down. In the course of a day, I read the entire book from cover to cover...it really is that good. Jill Smokler's approach to motherhood is honest, refreshing, and will have you racing to the next page. What I really love about this book is it's ability to say "yes, parenting is hard, but it is so very worth it."

posted by FrancescaB on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I was so disappointedvwith this book. I was hoping for a funny and insightful read about the challenges of motherhood. Instead, it read like a blog. The writing was choppy, disjointed and at points a bit rambling. There were a few humorous parts but overall she went ...
I was so disappointedvwith this book. I was hoping for a funny and insightful read about the challenges of motherhood. Instead, it read like a blog. The writing was choppy, disjointed and at points a bit rambling. There were a few humorous parts but overall she went for the obvious laugh and it was not very insightful.

In short, I was sorry I bought this book.

posted by 6370310 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and ac

    I'm a busy mom like most and rarely make time to sit down and actually read a book anymore. However, something about Confessions of a Scary Mommy grabbed ahold of me and I couldn't put it down. In the course of a day, I read the entire book from cover to cover...it really is that good. Jill Smokler's approach to motherhood is honest, refreshing, and will have you racing to the next page. What I really love about this book is it's ability to say "yes, parenting is hard, but it is so very worth it."

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Amazing read for all mothers

    This book is such an amazing read for all mothers everywhere! I plan on including a copy in all my future baby shower gifts so that when the crappy times hit, the new mother can read this and know that she is NOT alone! I really could have used it these last few years since becoming a SAHM but alas it was not there. Now it is, and everytime i feel like a horrible mom i will re-read it to remind myself that i am doing just fine.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Diet coke coming out your nose, laugh out loud funny, this book

    Diet coke coming out your nose, laugh out loud funny, this book is the ultimate Mommy bible! This should be the book they include in that diaper bag full of stuff you get from the OB-GYN or hospital when you are pregnant!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Not just for mothers! As a working husband and father of 2 you


    Not just for mothers! As a working husband and father of 2 young boys -this was a great read and a good insight into what moms are thinking and going thru daily! also extremely funny!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    In her book, Confessions of a Scary Mommy, Jill Smokler says all

    In her book, Confessions of a Scary Mommy, Jill Smokler says all of the things mothers are already feeling but don't have the guts to admit publicly. Also, don't read this while sipping on your favorite drink because when you laugh at the many revelations you'll end up snorting it across the room. Consider yourself warned!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    My co-workers thought I was crying but I was laughing!

    I made my husband stop reading his Nook and listen to parts of this because I was laughing so loud in bed I just had to share! THIS IS A MUST for all moms! It shows that we all have hard times in all aspects of this journey. Husbands, body image, loving your child, making friends. It is a GREAT Mother's Day present - mom's of all ages because you remember those days regardless of how old your kids are - you now have grandkids! I am taking a group of my friends to her book signing as a girly day! IT IS A MUST for all moms if she is in your area!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    This book is my new must-give gift for all new moms. It will be

    This book is my new must-give gift for all new moms. It will be tied to the top of every shower gift I give! Funny, honest, real.. and did I say funny? This book is hilarious and quite refreshing. It's about time someone told it like it is!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Buy this book!!!

    Yes, this book is funny. Really, really funny. But, above everything else, I found it to be hugely reassuring and comforting. There are other moms like me?? Reading this was like sitting down to coffee with my best friend. (If my best friend made me laugh my ass off and feel better about myself.) Confessions of a Scary Mommy just plain made me happy. What more can you ask for from a book?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Best book for moms!

    This book is AMAZING! It made me laugh, it made me cry, but most of all, it made me feel like I wasn't alone. This is a MUST read for any mom. This book is extremely honest and heartfelt; it tells it like it is and doesn't glamourize motherhood like everyone does. This book gives you the good, the bad, and the ugly of being a mom and should be revered as a mom "bible". We are all doing the best we can and this book points this fact out; we moms are awesome!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    I loved this book! It's a wickedly funny and insightful reminde

    I loved this book! It's a wickedly funny and insightful reminder to all of us mommies to lighten up and ditch the idealized image of motherhood we can never meet. With tongue and cheek humor and refreshing candor, Jill Smokler encourages us to trust our instincts and stop being so hard on ourselves. It's welcome and refreshing advice for new and veteran moms alike!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    LOVE this book. Reading it helps get me through life's scary mom

    LOVE this book. Reading it helps get me through life's scary moments as a mom. It encourages us to step back, take a breath, and make it through motherhood. Best of all, it reminds me that it's OK to not be Supermom. I'm not alone. And that thought is enough to make me want to cry the happy mommy tears.
    I want to buy a copy for every mom in my baby group. The Scary Mommy Manifesto alone makes this a MUST read for motherhood.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great book!

    I will be giving this book to my sisters and my mother for Mother's Day!! Great book to the mothers in my family!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    An authentic look at motherhood

    Confessions of a Scary Mommy says what we all wish we had the guts to say out loud. It’s a book that makes you laugh, nod your head in agreement and more importantly – it makes you feel less alone when you have those days that are less than stellar as a parent. This book is a refreshingly honest and funny take on this life we’re all living - the highs as well as the lows. It removes the need to be perfect and allows for you to find comfort in being the best version of yourself knowing that your kids will love you and know that they are loved - even if you don't plan the perfect birthday party or make them the perfect meal each and every evening. As she says, they will thrive because of and sometimes even in spite of you - and that's ok.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Very Enjoyable!

    Excellent book that is funny and real. I read it in one sitting and enjoyed every minute of it. Wish I had read it when I was a first time mom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    This is a real and really funny reminder that we moms are not al

    This is a real and really funny reminder that we moms are not alone on this journey. Jill's stories are hysterical and easy to relate to--there's no judgment here. Just many laughs and some poignant moments as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Confessions of a Scary Mommy is Jill Smoker's blog come to life.

    Confessions of a Scary Mommy is Jill Smoker's blog come to life. Real words from her, along with real confessions from real women. Nothing suger-coated. Because we all know motherhood isn't just chubby baby thighs and intoxicating new-baby scent. It's diaper blowouts. It's whining. It's boogers. It's time-outs. It's hell, at times. But it's always always always worth it.

    Listen, none of us are perfect. So why can't we just admit it? Jill does just that, making us all feel like we are *normal* to have feelings of frustration and inadequacy when it comes to parenting.

    I HIGHLY recommend this book for all mothers!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    An honest portrayal of motherhood. Quick and easy to read and y

    An honest portrayal of motherhood. Quick and easy to read and you won't put it down and you will always want to go back! I couldn't stop laughing. Just went out to barnes and noble and bought books to share with my friends and family. Even if you are single you will appreciate this book. A must read! Kudos to the author!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    This book is simply funny. It's the kind of book that makes you

    This book is simply funny. It's the kind of book that makes you laugh out loud. She just puts into print the stories and thoughts that other moms have shared with their closest friends but wouldn't necessarily admit to in a room full of judging strangers. This is ABSOLUTELY a great book to include in any baby shower gift. Kudos for her honest look at motherhood!!!! I would love to sit down and share a glass of wine with Jill Smokler!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Anon

    Laugh out loud funny from the first page to the last!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    I wish this book had been around when I first had children! It i

    I wish this book had been around when I first had children! It is honest. It is funny! But above all it is REAL. I laughed so hard at some of the chapters that my husband even wanted to read it. It is a great reminder that the ideal mother we all create in our heads does not exist. There is nothing wrong with doing the best you can and laughing about the rest!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4