Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(770)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(237)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you loved Bridget you'll love Becca

Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if...
Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if you're a woman, you have to read this book! It'll make you laugh out load and you won't be able to put it down, unless there's a 50% off sale at Harrod's, hehe, so I strongly urge you to pick up this book at your local Barnes and Noble, mine was 20% so in a sense I was actually saving money, hehe, maybe get a reg. mocha frap w/ whip cream and choc. oh but must watch diet.. V. bad, but the novel is V.v. good

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The ABC of Bad Chick Lit

Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quan...
Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quantum physics. I mean, it is one thing to write a light romantic comedy with delicious, albeit predictable plot twists and happy endings. But it is quite another to intoxicate oneself on nail polish remover and discharge a brochure on the modern day, fiscally retarded frivolous female using the writing sophistication of a remedial third grader, which is exactly what Kinsella has done here. If you want to know the gist of this story it is as follows: Single girl likes shopping. Single girl maxes out credit cards. Single girl accidentally uncovers scandal at local bank that honestly, a mountain goat would have found suspect but for some reason the whole of London's financial sector is apparently bowled over by the revelation. Single girl becomes famous, lands super high paying job, is no longer in debt, and randomly starts dating the wealthiest man in England so she's no longer single.
I know. Let that sink in a second. Now electrocute yourself because if you're anything like me your brain is flat lining, and move on with your day and far, far away from this book.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 78
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    If you loved Bridget you'll love Becca

    Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if you're a woman, you have to read this book! It'll make you laugh out load and you won't be able to put it down, unless there's a 50% off sale at Harrod's, hehe, so I strongly urge you to pick up this book at your local Barnes and Noble, mine was 20% so in a sense I was actually saving money, hehe, maybe get a reg. mocha frap w/ whip cream and choc. oh but must watch diet.. V. bad, but the novel is V.v. good

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The ABC of Bad Chick Lit

    Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quantum physics. I mean, it is one thing to write a light romantic comedy with delicious, albeit predictable plot twists and happy endings. But it is quite another to intoxicate oneself on nail polish remover and discharge a brochure on the modern day, fiscally retarded frivolous female using the writing sophistication of a remedial third grader, which is exactly what Kinsella has done here. If you want to know the gist of this story it is as follows: Single girl likes shopping. Single girl maxes out credit cards. Single girl accidentally uncovers scandal at local bank that honestly, a mountain goat would have found suspect but for some reason the whole of London's financial sector is apparently bowled over by the revelation. Single girl becomes famous, lands super high paying job, is no longer in debt, and randomly starts dating the wealthiest man in England so she's no longer single.
    I know. Let that sink in a second. Now electrocute yourself because if you're anything like me your brain is flat lining, and move on with your day and far, far away from this book.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    so so cute

    i really loved this book. the characters r all so fun and just an easy fast read. they gelled very well and reading very easy to fall into.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Fun and Entertaining

    this was the first book i read from the author but once i did i absolutely fell in love with the entire series. Loved Becky's quirky personality

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    What a Delightful, Hilarious Read!!!

    I started it last night and stayed up till 3 a.m. to finish this book! I really enjoyed this book ~~ it was funny, lighthearted and cute! I laughed out loud in some places and found myself shaking my head in other places. Rebecca is a girl who overdraws her bank account and maxes out her Visa card. I am not a big shopper (unless you call shopping for books a shopping spree ~~ then I am!) of clothes but it was funny just to hear her describe her clothes like she is posing for Vogue or Cosmo or even 17. Her justification for buying things are hilarious and the scene where she was trying to make curry made me laugh so hard! (I'm a cook and that scene just cracks me up because I've done the same thing she did!) Sophie took a character riddled with anxieties and insecurities and made her so likeable ~~ you can't help but laugh at some of her excuses. She has a vivid imagination which really carries the book through. I can see why some of the critics didn't care for this book ~~ it does sound like something from a fashion magazine, but Sophie is a good, clean writer. I really enjoyed this book and would like to read more of hers. Her sense of humor is a lot like mine and it is a refreshing read! I recommend it for a light, easy reading and if you're looking for humor, this book has it all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! It's super fun and even acts like a self-help

    I loved this book! It's super fun and even acts like a self-help book at times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good...difficult writing style.

    I liked the book, but for some reason, I just couldn't get into her writing style. I've got the rest of the series that I plan on reading and hope that I can swallow the writing style to really get into the plot.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutlely Entertaining!

    I absoulutely enjoyed this book. I found it very entertaining and Ms Kinsella's witty style kept me laughing! I plan to read all of the shopaholic series. For me it was a welcome escape from a long day!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Could be interesting

    But I hated the main character. She has no redeeming value and her only purpose in the book is to see how many other characters she can offend.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hysterical Quick Read

    If you are looking for a quick, funny and romantic read for summertime or really anytime, this is the perfect book. I found myself laughing outloud nearly every page and i really came to love Becky and her problems. This book has a little bit of everything from romance, fashion, humor, and family, but my favorite part was Becky's incredible sense of style. For anybody who loves fashion, be sure to pick this book up... you won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    Super fun

    This is a quick, fun read that doesn't require much attention but will definitely keep you entertained and laughing. You may find yourself wondering if people like the main character really exist, but it won't matter because it's just that entertaining. And if you love to shop like I do, you'll appreciate the comedy even more! )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    A Nice Light Read

    It's funny the previous post mentioned Bridgett Jones, because that's exactly who I picture as Rebecca and of course Hugh Grant as Luke. Having not read a book in years (I usually stick to newspapers and magazines - short attention span) I decided to give it a try. I didn't want anything too deep, nothing with violence, drugs or the mandatory black dress and sex that every romance novel describes in great detail. I must 'confess', it was the fun pink book cover and script that got my attention. The first couple chapters had me thinking 'oh come on' quite a bit, but once I got into the whole British thing and pictured Renee Zellweger playing the part, I really had fun with it. That's the way I would describe the book - fun. After I finished, I read ...Takes Manhattan which was equally as fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Summary: Rebecca Bloomwood is a conundrum.  She is a journalist

    Summary:
    Rebecca Bloomwood is a conundrum.  She is a journalist at Successful Savings, a financial magazine, yet in her personal life, Becky can’t stop shopping.  With overdue VISA bills (and several others), Becky has accumulated significant debt.  As she tries to cut back and get things in order, will she be able to resist the latest styles in the shop windows?




    My Thoughts:
    This is a fun, quick read in which I often found myself quietly laughing at the antics of Rebecca.  She has such a distinct, witty voice which is very entertaining to read.  She processes things with her humorous internal banter, and then she comes up with some fantastic, far-fetched scenario that is completely ridiculous, but amusing, nonetheless.




    I loved the irony of her working at a financial magazine, yet her personal finances are out of control.  She ignores her bills, and then to make herself feel better about the debt she’s in, she goes out and buys something for herself.  Just something small…




    And then she rationalizes her purchases as “investments”.




    Her colorful imagination and blind optimism will keep you glued to the page to see what she does next.




    In the end, this is a story about growing up and becoming a mature, responsible adult.  Rebecca has to face reality, just like all of us eventually have to.  This story shows us not to ignore our finances (or whatever you are scared of).  Rather, by facing the real world, only then do we truly grow up.




    Just a word of warning: this book does occasionally use offensive words.  It’s not too often, but I just wanted to give you a heads up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    This book is

    This booooooooook is boooooooooooomb

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    I've never wanted to smack a main character more!

    I read the book in a constant state of "what is WRONG with this girl???" Never once did I want her to succeed. I don't remember ever reading a book where I wished the main character would not live happily ever after. I don't feel like she ever really matured throughout the storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Easy Read, Irritating Main Character

    Sohpie Kinsella is a witty writer, but unfortunatly her main character in this short novel is so irritating, a friend of mine was willing to pay me money to stop reading. The only reason why I finished this book is because I am stubbron and hate leaving things unfinished.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Somewhat Annoying

    I didn't enjoy this book as much as the other reviewers. I found Rebecca to be somewhat annoying after awhile, but the ending was satisfying to me. Sophie Kinsella has a lightweight writing style that kept me interested even though I was losing patience with Rebecca. I guess I don't have the patience for self-centered 25 year olds (even though I was one a very long time ago!). I was looking for some fluff to read and that's what I got.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    High expectations, disappointed at the end.

    This book was ok...an easy and quick read. I just couldn't get really into it. Becky is a weak, shallow character, and following her shopping escapades made me want to slap her across the face and tell her to get a grip. I didn't find the humor I expected, either. Was disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Funny and Witty - better than the movie

    I didn't know the movie was a mix between the first book and the second. I was only half way through the first book when I watched the movie. I then finished the first book and loved it so much better than the movie! T

    The book itself if witty and funny. You're reading as if you are listening to her inner thoughts. It can get a little annoying after awhile but just put the book down and come back to it later. Overall it's a cute book and an easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simply charming.

    Sophie Kinsella creates the most charming characters that will have you laughing throughout the entire novel. Even though there were a few slow bits, I couldn't wait to dive into the imaginative mind of Rebecca Bloomwood time and time again. This novel was a fun read that easily took my mind off of my own problems and allowed me to explore the girly world of glamour. I recommend the Shopaholic books to any girl or woman who loves to laugh, shop, or both.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 78