Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(781)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(238)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you loved Bridget you'll love Becca

Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if...
Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if you're a woman, you have to read this book! It'll make you laugh out load and you won't be able to put it down, unless there's a 50% off sale at Harrod's, hehe, so I strongly urge you to pick up this book at your local Barnes and Noble, mine was 20% so in a sense I was actually saving money, hehe, maybe get a reg. mocha frap w/ whip cream and choc. oh but must watch diet.. V. bad, but the novel is V.v. good

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

The ABC of Bad Chick Lit

Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quan...
Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quantum physics. I mean, it is one thing to write a light romantic comedy with delicious, albeit predictable plot twists and happy endings. But it is quite another to intoxicate oneself on nail polish remover and discharge a brochure on the modern day, fiscally retarded frivolous female using the writing sophistication of a remedial third grader, which is exactly what Kinsella has done here. If you want to know the gist of this story it is as follows: Single girl likes shopping. Single girl maxes out credit cards. Single girl accidentally uncovers scandal at local bank that honestly, a mountain goat would have found suspect but for some reason the whole of London's financial sector is apparently bowled over by the revelation. Single girl becomes famous, lands super high paying job, is no longer in debt, and randomly starts dating the wealthiest man in England so she's no longer single.
I know. Let that sink in a second. Now electrocute yourself because if you're anything like me your brain is flat lining, and move on with your day and far, far away from this book.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    I've never wanted to smack a main character more!

    I read the book in a constant state of "what is WRONG with this girl???" Never once did I want her to succeed. I don't remember ever reading a book where I wished the main character would not live happily ever after. I don't feel like she ever really matured throughout the storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    totally disappointed

    I thought I'd read it before seeing the movie. had already read Remember Me by Kinsella and liked it. I skimmed most of this book, I couldn't believe how lame it was and that they made a movie out of it. I recently listened to the one she wrote about lies and that was way better and should have been the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Better characters and plot lines to be found elsewhere

    In preparation for my surgery recovery, I sent my husband out with a list of titles that would keep me busy for the next few weeks. A beach read, a suspense novel, you know, a few GOOD books. I was hopeful that this book would fulfill my need for a fun chick flick kinda read. FAR FROM IT! I absolutely hated this character. Instead of feeling sorry for her 'cute' little shopping antics and complete self involvement - I wanted to strangle her. How can the reader be expected to forgive such ridiculous behavior??!! Its somehow endearing to throw away your credit card bill hoping it goes away? Its funny to make fun of the people trying to collect your absurdly not necessary debt? And WHY does her slate get wiped clean in the end? She has done NOTHING to redeem herself the entire book. She makes things right accidentally. Even the scenes where the author was trying for comedy fell completely flat! The plot was totally predictable as well. Oh... she's going to get some good freelance jobs to get her out of trouble. Oh... she gets the millionaire guy in the end cuz his girlfriend leaves. I actually wanted her to fail. I read the entire book hoping at the end she would fall on her face for being such a poor excuse of a human being. I can't believe this book has a series!!! Let me guess... in the next book she marries Luke Brandon or the other millionaire she just 'happens' to know and she can buy all kinds of incredibly overpriced things she doesn't need. I did not identify with this character. I did not want this character to win. If that was Ms Kinsella's goal then job well done. For the rest of you looking for a fun read keepomg in line with the Bridget Jones of the world. Avoid this book. It should be left on the shelf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    if they had a rating system that went into negatives this would be the book to get it.

    I love to read, I read all sorts of books, and I would rather jab out my eyes with over priced high heeled shoes than read this book again. I am not even sure this can be considered a novel, it was more like a series of demented shopping lists linked by mind numbing whining about debt cause by the buying of the things on the shopping lists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2004

    One of the worst books I¿ve ever read

    I found absolutely nothing humorous about this book. I won¿t bother summarizing the plot, simply because there wasn¿t much of a plot. When I read a book, I want a heroine that¿s likeable and at least somewhat intelligent. Becky is neither of those things. What she is, is self-centered, immature, and irresponsible. I spent the entire book wanting to shake her sense into her. At the *very end* she finally begin to grow a brain, but that¿s a long time for the reader to have to wait, and frankly by that time I hated her too much to care what happened to her. I would have given the book zero stars if that had been an option.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    headache

    Although every woman i meet seems to enjoy this novel, i cannot help but secretly loathe it. i was very hopeful that this would be a classic chick novel, but once i began the book, i found myself stressed out over becky's stupidity. she never seems to learn to spend money correctly, and continues to spend more and more money. she is basically hopeless and gave me a huge headache because her situation barely ever imrpoved and when it did it was because she got a boyfriend. what kind of literature is this?! in the end, it's the kind of book that is not enjoyable, even if it has a cute concept that attracts a large female audience. skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Avoid at all costs!

    Man, I have never been so glad that I couldn't relate to a character in my life! I'm only 23 but if I were ever anything like Rebecca I would hope that my family would stage an intervention. And I don't even mean about her financial problems. She is a terrible human being. She is self-absorbed, cruel and materialistic. She keeps moaning about how she 'deserves' a better job and more money and a boyfriend. Well, then get off your duff and do something (honestly) about it. She lies on her resume, is rude to customers and is suprised when she is fired. Not at any point in the book do you root for her, and why would you? She throws out her bills, doesn't retun phone calls and comes up with the LAMEST excuses. At no point is there any evidence of her 'strengthening as she weakens' as the back of the book claims. In the end you realize she is just flat out stupid and vapid. I can't believe there are three books in this series. There outta be a law!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    Engaging But Pathetic

    I guess the only consolation this book has is that Sophie Kinsella poses no threat to previously successful contemporary English writers like Nick Hornby or Helen Fielding. Reading this novel was like reading a comic book with no humor, it is unbelievable how the entire plot revolved around a conniving, scheming, and materialistic heroine. In addition to this, what was truly revolting was the fact that Rebeccca Bloomwood, the moron that she is, was able to get away with all the lies she pitifully spread about the truth behind her lunatic ways. I can't believe Sophie Kinsella justified a fibber and even tried to make humor out of it! This book, I have to conclude, is a sorry disappointment. And please, the slogan on the front page ('Going broke was never this much fun') is not suitable at all. The book, in its entirety, failed to provide the enjoyment is seems to promise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3