Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1548 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(781)

4 Star

(398)

3 Star

(238)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

If you loved Bridget you'll love Becca

Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if...
Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if you're a woman, you have to read this book! It'll make you laugh out load and you won't be able to put it down, unless there's a 50% off sale at Harrod's, hehe, so I strongly urge you to pick up this book at your local Barnes and Noble, mine was 20% so in a sense I was actually saving money, hehe, maybe get a reg. mocha frap w/ whip cream and choc. oh but must watch diet.. V. bad, but the novel is V.v. good

posted by Anonymous on April 8, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

The ABC of Bad Chick Lit

Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quan...
Asinine, Brainless, Clichéd. It's not that I'm surprised; the title is enough to send my cortex into a debilitating palsy. But honestly, even as far as chick lit goes, this book makes an instruction manual for how to buckle a seat belt look like a dissertation on quantum physics. I mean, it is one thing to write a light romantic comedy with delicious, albeit predictable plot twists and happy endings. But it is quite another to intoxicate oneself on nail polish remover and discharge a brochure on the modern day, fiscally retarded frivolous female using the writing sophistication of a remedial third grader, which is exactly what Kinsella has done here. If you want to know the gist of this story it is as follows: Single girl likes shopping. Single girl maxes out credit cards. Single girl accidentally uncovers scandal at local bank that honestly, a mountain goat would have found suspect but for some reason the whole of London's financial sector is apparently bowled over by the revelation. Single girl becomes famous, lands super high paying job, is no longer in debt, and randomly starts dating the wealthiest man in England so she's no longer single.
I know. Let that sink in a second. Now electrocute yourself because if you're anything like me your brain is flat lining, and move on with your day and far, far away from this book.

posted by ReadingQueen12-17 on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 781 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    If you loved Bridget you'll love Becca

    Tuesdays with Morrie was a coping with death self-help book in disguise...Bridget Jones's Diary was a relationship self-help book in diguise...and Confessions of a Shopaholic is a financial self-help book in disguise. If you love shopping, you have to read this book, if you're a woman, you have to read this book! It'll make you laugh out load and you won't be able to put it down, unless there's a 50% off sale at Harrod's, hehe, so I strongly urge you to pick up this book at your local Barnes and Noble, mine was 20% so in a sense I was actually saving money, hehe, maybe get a reg. mocha frap w/ whip cream and choc. oh but must watch diet.. V. bad, but the novel is V.v. good

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    onfessions of A Shopaholic is a cute and witty story about somet

    onfessions of A Shopaholic is a cute and witty story about something more of us would probably care to admit to. The allure of tempting eye-candy all around us in whatever your particular weakness is (in Rebecca's case FASHION) and the ease of charging it to a credit card. It's panic time when the bills come in and Rebecca knows how to creatively dodge the bill collectors. Throw in a little romantic comedy and you are hooked on Rebecca's story. I really enjoyed it and want to read Sophia Kinsella's other books. I really enjoyed this book, it was hard to believe someone could be so addicted to shopping, it was entertaining. he interplay of characters is what makes the book enjoyable, from Becky's roommate, to Luke, to the bank manager, to Becky's parents. They are real people and that makes the story enjoyable to me. The writing is also clever and overrides the obnoxiousness that Becky occasionally engenders. The first book in the series is a good start and makes a good foundation, leaving room for growth. If you're looking for a light read, give it a try!  

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    so so cute

    i really loved this book. the characters r all so fun and just an easy fast read. they gelled very well and reading very easy to fall into.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! It's super fun and even acts like a self-help

    I loved this book! It's super fun and even acts like a self-help book at times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutlely Entertaining!

    I absoulutely enjoyed this book. I found it very entertaining and Ms Kinsella's witty style kept me laughing! I plan to read all of the shopaholic series. For me it was a welcome escape from a long day!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hysterical Quick Read

    If you are looking for a quick, funny and romantic read for summertime or really anytime, this is the perfect book. I found myself laughing outloud nearly every page and i really came to love Becky and her problems. This book has a little bit of everything from romance, fashion, humor, and family, but my favorite part was Becky's incredible sense of style. For anybody who loves fashion, be sure to pick this book up... you won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    This book is

    This booooooooook is boooooooooooomb

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Confessions of a Shopholic is a hit

    Confessions of a Shopholic is a true girlie book. It is a modern day novel that women of today's generation can truly relate to. It has some funny parts that you will find yourself laughing at. It makes you wonder how your own shopping habits are?.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    confessions of a shopaholic review very good book

    OK so I started this book because I wanted to see the movie-but needed to read the book first. And it is a good read! It is a little confusing since it takes place in London and I don't know the money difference so I didn't really know the prices or any of that but all in all it was a great and easy read! I was so looking forward to reading the rest of the set but when I read the teasers to them I was slightly disappointed. They felt like the same book just with small changes-like she goes to America in book 2 she gets married, she finds her long lost sister, and has a baby. I just can't seem to read the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    A Must Read

    Hillarious knock your socks off reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    Great read

    From the second you open the book, you are sucked in to the hillarious thoughts of Rebbeca Bloomwood. I couldn't put the book down. I absolutley hated finishing it, I just wanted the story to continue!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    Great Read

    This book was better than I expected. I actually bought it at an airport to have something to read on the plane...and ever since i couldn't put the book down. Definite easy read and would recommend to any teenager/young adult.<BR/><BR/>I'm definitely going to continue reading the Shopaholic series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    I 3 THIS BOOK

    I have read it like 5 times because it is soo good i recommended it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Great Book!

    I'm not a big reader but I just loved this book. It was so funny. I couldn't put it down. I've read two of her other books too and they are just as funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Never thought confessing would be so much fun!

    This is one of the most entertaining books I have ever read. My heart was pounding fast through some parts of it and towards the end I basically devoured the book. It is definitely a page turner! I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series and more of Sophie's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Best Book I Ever Read

    I had a laugh out time reading this book. This is the first book in a long time I finished.Becky characters' sence of humor is so sarcastic in the best way possible. The plot is set up in such a perfect way.If you like shopping and laughing you should read this delightful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book is gret. sophie kinsella writes like it has happened to her before. it's just something you can't put down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Great Book

    This Book was so cool I read it and never wanted it to end thats why I made my mom buy the rest of the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    Confessions of a Shopaholic review

    I loved this book!! Truly funny, sensational, and a definate good read that you won't be able to put down! Truly hilarious!! Take my advice: You MUST read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Loved it!

    This book made me laugh out loud, the rest of the series is just as great too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 781 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 40