Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Street Addict

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Squaring the Discrepancies

The book is a great read. However, is it always truthful? Case in point, the gut wrenching market sell off that almost destroyed Cramer Berkowitz in the fall of 1998. In the book Cramer describes how his wife, the ¿Trading Goddess,¿ held steady and bought and bought ...
The book is a great read. However, is it always truthful? Case in point, the gut wrenching market sell off that almost destroyed Cramer Berkowitz in the fall of 1998. In the book Cramer describes how his wife, the ¿Trading Goddess,¿ held steady and bought and bought again as the market tanked on October 8, while he and Berkowitz wanted to sell. He describes theStreet.com piece he posted just after noon on that date, telling readers to get out, despite his wife¿s counseling to stay the course.

What did the post actually say? Referring to the crash of 1987, here¿s an excerpt (www.thestreet.com/_tscs/comment/wrong/32200.html):

¿Same thing now. Same wife saying get out. Same ugliness like you would not believe. And it was before the crash.¿

I have no idea what to make of this significant discrepancy.

posted by Anonymous on August 26, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

confessions of a so- so book

this book is not very infomative

posted by Anonymous on May 29, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cramer is making Mad Money

    When you listen (or read) Cramer you are going to learn. His new book is great for
    Getting Back To Even. I'm a fan because he is helping me make money in the market.
    kd47

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A honest view of Jim Cramer in his own words

    I am really impressed with this book, in fact so impressed I read it twice. I would love to see a book from his wife as she seems to be as smart as Jim (maybe smarter).

    The book not only taught me a bit about the stock market it taught me a lot about how manipulated we all are by big business.

    The stuff about the starting his own .com was funny and scary. I like that he isnt shy about admitting to his own mess ups (of which there are a few).

    A very good read, even if you have no real interest in the stock market this is a good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Genesis of a "Mad Money" Man

    This is a very absorbing read, and explains in a narrative timeline how Jim Cramer went from being a kid to running millions of Wall Street investment money. He tells us about how he met his wife (referred to in the book as The Trading Goddess, about what he felt was his lowest time at Cramer Berkowitz, the hedge fund he started, and how he decided it was time to walk away. <BR/><BR/>By the way...i love the cover image...it is reminiscent of the intake photos taken when one is admitted to rehab (or a mugshot).<BR/><BR/>If you want to know what led Jim Cramer to become the founder of Cramerica, and why he says "there's always a bull market somewhere..." then read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    Experience a Wall Street Trading Desk!!!!

    i found the book both insightful, truthful and eye opening! if you ever wanted to experience working on a real wall street trading desk, this is the book to read. if no one else writes the truth about the stress of running a hedgefund, at least jim cramer did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Good read!

    I have watched Jim Cramer on TV for years, but this book shows a whole different side of him. I am interested in the stock market and found out how "insiders" to work very fascinating. It is an honest look at how stock traders work. I recommend it to anyone interested in how things work on Wall St.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    how this book changed my life

    i picked up this book at borders one afternoon. 2 hours later i was 1/4 of the way through the book and i couldn't put it down. this is the best book i have ever read about the market and how to make it. cramer is the master and i love his style. i recommend this book to anyone and everyone who is interested in the market or how to run a business. buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    Trading on the Inside

    Love him or hate him this is classic Jim Cramer as only Jim could, or would, tell. This is the inside world of a Hedge Fund manager. Enter the world where the only rules in the game are both top and consistent performance. Jim tells his life story by sharing his experience on the street and how it affected his life and relationships with other people. View the up close and inside personal perspective of Wall Street for better or worse. This is not a 'how to' book for trading. One will not learn the inside tricks for trading and trading styles. If the needs of the individual are for details on short sales or swing trades look elsewhere. Reading this book was fun and eye opening. The experiences were captivating which often made it frequently very tough to put the book down. It was fun to see how a Super Bull on Wall Street handled success and failure. There are lessons to be learned about life, focus and what degree of dedication is essential to be at the top. The prices of success are well illustrated. This is a great book in of itself and even better for anyone who has ever mused about becoming a Stock Broker or desired to know what life can be like on Wall Street. This was just a fun and informative read. One of the, many, aspects I liked best was that Jim was never afraid to call his own mistakes. This detail was especially refreshing when one considers his criticism of others. Can't get enough of Jim's radio or TV shows? Want to know if Wall Street would be a good place for you? Then you NEED Confessions of a Street Addict!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Excitement

    As a professional trader I found this book to be quite exciting. Cramer is a love him or hate him character, but his ability to tell a good story is evident here. A great read. The thrills of watching his ups and downs were real for me, and the reader is able to empathize with his trading tensions. Signed, Mark Wolfinger, author of THE SHORT BOOK ON OPTIONS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    NEED IT NOW, CAN'T WAIT

    Please send the book soon, I don't know if I can wait to the release date.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1