Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Video Vixen

Average Rating 4
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Moving

"Confessions." is such an amazing story. I think it was very courageous of Karrine Steffans to share her struggles; this story needed to be known. Karrine tells in "Confession..." how she started off like anybody body else except to an abusive mother and for the most pa...
"Confessions." is such an amazing story. I think it was very courageous of Karrine Steffans to share her struggles; this story needed to be known. Karrine tells in "Confession..." how she started off like anybody body else except to an abusive mother and for the most part absent father. She ran away and to make money to support herself. She meets rapper Kool G Rap while stripping and her life just becomes a roller coaster of hardships. Her story has really opened my eyes. I like so many girls my age (15 yrs) dream of being rich and famous. Going to lavish parties, wearing designer shoes and clothes, the whole bit. But what "Confessions." taught me that having those aspirations are good but at what price? One chapter called "I Choose Life" was especially moving because Karrine turned to God in her time of despair to get her life back on the right track, which made me realize I need to be more in tune with my faith and so should everyone else. "Confession." was not only a good story to read but it also talks about celebrities we love and sometime envy. I learned how people who seem to have everything material wise, are empty emotionally and unhappy. To conclude, Confessions of a Video Vixen is a good story about trials, tribulations and hardships and could really inspire people like parts of the book did me.

posted by aj95 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I Truly Pity Karrine

I've always wanted to read this book, but I was too chicken to buy it until now.

What can I say about it? Well I feel very sorry for the life Karrine had to live. Physical, mental, and emotional abuse to the point of having to run away is the worst thing that can ha...
I've always wanted to read this book, but I was too chicken to buy it until now.

What can I say about it? Well I feel very sorry for the life Karrine had to live. Physical, mental, and emotional abuse to the point of having to run away is the worst thing that can happen to a person IMO, but this is not why I pity her.

Back to the book itself. The writing was choppy and sometimes confusing. It felt like I was reading something that a fourth grader wrote. Things were repeated over and over like she had to remind the reader of what just happened. That got annoying.

Now to the reason why I pity Karrine Steffans. Two words: child abuser! How in God's name was this woman blessed with such a beautiful child to only abandon him for months at a time while she pursued a life of sex, drugs, and hip hop?

Plus I can't stand needy women who always have their hands out for men to help them when they could (if they truly wanted to) pull themselves out and get on with their life. I almost felt like Karrine felt entitled to the money, cars, and homes that those rappers, NBA stars, and music moguls paid for.

What exactly had she done to earn all of that? Nothing substantial I can tell you that.

I don't recommend this book. It's shallow and vapid and while Steffans says she's writing it for those young women who want to get into the business I can't help, but feel like she's only doing this to deter future competition.

Hey Karrine your hayday has come and gone! Time to wrap it up and go home to your child!

posted by Tina-Bee on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    HOPE SHE MADE MONEY OFF THIS BOOK

    I felt for her since she was young and didn't have a good upbringing...but as she indulges herself in the hollywood life, I'm sorry to say that she knew right from wrong, and she ended up using sex to get things she desired.....I'm glad to know that she straightened her life out for now, and hope she stays on the right track for her childs' sake. Glad I bought it on the bargain shelf, the only thing a teenager can really learn from this book is when she snuck out to meet boys at a young age and told her story of how she was first raped by friends of a friend. This would have frightened me enough not to want to have sex with anyone, but she used her body and sexyiness to whooh men and get extravegant gifts, before she realized they all used her.....like I said, glad she found god and changed her life. I would not recommend this book, as I quickly was glad when I got to the last page. I hate not finishing a book once I start.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    wow

    With all the hype and attention this book received, I decided to buy it for myself and find out what it was all about. It was a quick read, I read the book in less than 4 hours. Although, I expected much more details, it was very insightful. You learn much about her character and her lack of self-esteem and where it all stems from. In this novel, you will also see that she is just another woman who lacks depth and confidence in herself. She describes her sex life with many celebrities and how she felt "loved" by them. Regardless of the dirt that was described in the novel, it is a very interesting read because it sheds light on her feelings as well as the disgusting men she has dealt with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Given as a gift

    Bought as a gift for my younger sister, who is not at all into reading but loves music. She enjoyed the book and kept referring to how it started out with a story about Karrine Steffans life. I haven't read it yet myself, but if it got my non-reader sister reading, I imagine it has to be a good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, A MUST HAVE!

    THIS BOOK GAVE ME A BETTER UNDERSTANDING AS TO WHY MS. STEFFANS DID THE THINGS SHE DID. SHE HAD A ROUGH CHILDHOOD AND I COULD FEEL HER PAIN. SHE WAS JUST LOOKING FOR LOVE IN ALL THE WRONG PLACES. YOUNG LADIES, PLEASE DO NOT FOLLOW IN HER FOOTSTEPS. THIS IS A READ THAT CAN TEACH YOU WHAT COULD HAPPEN IF YOU SELL YOURSELF SHORT!! THERE ARE BETTER THINGS YOU CAN DO TO GET AHEAD!! TAKE HEED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    LOVED it!

    i have been meaning to read this book for years, since it came out. She was very honest in this book, honest with herself about the life she led. I dont agree with anything she did but respect her honestly & loved the glimpse into her "hollywood" world. The book can read a little choppy & the tone is kind of like a girlfriend talking to you matter of factly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Sad story

    This was such a sad book. She didnt know what love was and let herself be passed around from man to man. It was an eye opener to see what happens when young women dont have someone that loves them and guides them to know their worth. Not sure why the guys she was with were upset about this book. She doesnt say much and protects most of them. This is about what she did to stay paid and in the circle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    SHE DEF. LET IT ALL OUT!

    I read this book awhile back and I dont feel like it was a waste of money. It did what I think it was intended to do and that is: make money, entertain, and let out some secrets. Karrine went into detail about her life and what she has done in her past. I could not let my business out like she did but theres nothing wrong with reading about others. If you want to be enterained and surprised then you should read this book! I know alot of ppl hate her and it may ruined some lives for becuase of her publishing this book but hey we should all think about our actions because we never know whosae going to put us in there book lol. Anyways it could teach ppl stpes not to take to get what you want if you dont want a bad rep and it could make ppl mad so if your the type to get upset about snitching or gossip dont buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Shocking Tell All

    Better than I had expected. Karrine had a hard life and wasn't ashamed to reveal anything; the good and the bad. This shocking tell all includes some big name celebrities that all had a degree of separation from Miss Steffans. This book shows how your mistakes can eventually lead you to making better choices if you take the time to look at yourself and go in the other direction; the road less traveled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    They should re-title this book to "Confessions of a Video Ho"

    After reading this book, my personal opinion about Ms. Steffans is that she was nothing but a high priced Ho to Hip-Hop royalty. I will admit that I thoroughly enjoyed reading her story and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to read some good dirt on the celebrities she had indiscretions with publicly and privately. The thing that I especially enjoyed was her throwing everyone from Jay-Z to P. Diddy under the proverbial bus. She truly let everyone know what sleazy slime bags they really are. Which in the Hip-Hop community, it is really no surprise.

    The thing that bothered me the most is that she dedicated this book to her son Naiim. I firmly believe that once he is old enough and gets a chance to read his mother's memoirs, he will definitely need some serious counseling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    A tell all, but a sad one.

    The better half of the book is about how her self esteem became as low as it did and caused her to be in the situations she was in. It was very hard to read at times. I never expected the book to touch me in the way in which it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Confession of a Vidoe Vixen

    I read this book straight through in 2 days, I didn't want to put it down because it was so interesting with the stars she was sleeping with. My mouth drop almost every chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    Good Read for Hip Hop Fan's

    I purchased this book in March while visting America.
    I found it an intresting read with a lot of insite into the world of hip hop videos, plus alot about certian Movie stars and Music artists!
    If you have an intrest in hip hop or just want to read about famous stars and what they get up to behind closed doors than have a look.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    it was good!!!

    ¿The Confessions of a Video Vixen¿ by Karrine Steffans is an exciting autobiography of her life. She was a woman that took many risks and I am a man that lives life knowing that we, as humans, only live once. I like to try out knew things like gigantic roller coasters or participating in prestigious competitions. Karrine likes to do things like drink while popping pills and receive attention from the rich and famous. I believe that anyone can become capable to do anything that they apply their mind to and Karrine wanted to be an actress and she wanted to be a sexy, beautiful, ¿Video Vixen.¿ The author of this book has written a story of her life, which has been composed into an autobiography also know to be a memoir. A memoir is a personal narrative about your life and an experience that you have encountered that changed you or your beliefs. Karrine¿s memoir explains her life and how she had to grow up and mature but she had to learn the hard way how to live a healthy, stable, clean life style. In her adolescent years Karrine grew up in a home with her mother and grandmother. Her mom was very selfish and even sometimes abusive towards Karrine. I can understand how hard it was for Karrine to grow up without a loving mother because in the book she explains in detail what she actually went through. Luckily, my mother was able to provide a loving home for me to grow up in and my heart goes out to young teenagers that have had to mature in an unloving home, I am thankful for the life I am living. Her grandmother was more like a mom to her than her real mom because her grandmother was very loving and kind toward her. She had a great relationship with her and mourned for her when they had to be separated. Karrine, her two younger sisters, and her mom moved to the United States and that was when she started to hang out in the streets getting her self into trouble. Once she was a little older she started to dance in the strip clubs and make a name for her self in a bad way. She then began to sleep with a lot of wealthy and powerful men to get what she wanted weather it was a car or a couch Karrine made sure she did what she had to do to get what she wanted from any man. I think that she had a dangerous weakness back in her days of striping which was the men that thought she was beautiful. This book was fun to read and kept my attention throughout the whole book except for two of the chapters. I just wanted to shake some since into her or shake the book as if it were her while reading those two chapters. Other than that I was amazed at the progress Karrine Steffans made in her life in order for her and her son to live civilly. Read the book and find out who she was doing and what she was doing with them because there were numerous celebrities that she had been with sexually in order to further her career. I personally do not think that a woman should use sex to further their career because they will not receive the respect that they will want. Men will not treat them with respect because that did not earn it, having sex with somebody will not earn you respect. I believe that a person should give respect to get respect. Overall the ¿Confessions of a Video Vixen¿ by Karrine Steffans was enjoyable and I liked the fact that she was able to open up to the public about her personal life. I am sure their are young women out in the world that have read this book and it may have opened their eyes what could happen to them in the future. I wonder what it would be like if I used sex to further my career, would I be looked at the same way a woman would? I think if I did use sex to further my career I would probably not write a biography about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    It was good quick reading!

    I enjoyed her writing, however it was simple on a junior/high school level.It was very entertaining to read some of the dirt from the music industry and hollywood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I don't understand why the men in this story ar put down in such a bad way.I feel only Kool G Rap deserves it.not the others.C'mon.any hot blooded male will take advantage of a hot woman who is basically throwing herself at him..that's what these guys did...She says that she she was used and discarded, whereas she was doing the same things...e.g: - She was involved with Ja when she knew his girl was pregnant with his second kid...most other men she slept with have had serious women in their lives...although the men did wrong, it is not Karrine's place to judge..she allowed herself to be taken advantage of.She did not once think of the women who were the wives of the men she slept around with. when u know a woman is coming on to you for your money it ain't wrong for you to play her back.Its either play or be played.all the men opted to play her and she deserved it..I feel for her kid who will be at the butt end of his mom's actions when he grows up.it will haunt him and i don't even wanna think how she is going to explain her behaviour to him.The book itself was pretty interesting though cos' we get a good look at what's happening in the music industry and its real nasty..great atmosphere for single people to be in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    FINALLY!

    THE NAKED TRUTH! WAY TO GO KARRINE! Some hate her right off the top not even looking into the core matter. They fail at realizing that there are SO, SO, SO many out there like her, SERIOUSLY hurting, empty and abused and searching down a dark and morbid road for love. But who voices it? Who's got the courage to make it known? My God! Nobody would tell the complete truth! It's, to them, 'too graphic and loose'! Now others see that, minus love and correct guidance, just how terrible things can get. Yes, some express the pain through promiscuous sex, but others through endless drugs, and sometimes fatally abusive relationships, and worst yet, denial! This industry has been praised for too long and our young women and men coming up in today's society are FULLY deceived by the bling and swing. When will the truth be confronted? When will people stop being passive and ignorant? I pray for this young woman constantly that she would one day TRULY encounter Love. There's no second guessing once you've found Him*.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    she bein real

    Ever dreamed to live the life of a video girl? Well in Karrine Steffans novel Confessions Of A Video Vixen she tells all. She tells about the parties, the drugs, the sex, and the pain in living the life of a video girl. Sometimes living this glamorous life that we see on TV comes with more pain and regret than the actual joy we think it has. Karrien Steffans story starts off when she was a little girl she was abused by her mother and she was exiled by most of her family and she felt like she wasn¿t worth nothing. She lived in a life full of upsets and downfall and was searching for a way out. She always wanted to be like the girls on TV. Hanging with all the rappers, actors and stars. She dreamed of the perfect video girl life. She dreamed of finding love and family in this life. But what she didn¿t know is that her dream of finding love in that life was unreasonable and only temporary. And that when she thinks she is staring over and getting things on the path to success in this new life she brings her self back to the pain and abuse she had when she was a little girl because people can only help her so much but its up to her to figure out how she wants to live and when to decided that¿s its enough. To make this book more interesting the author goes from what she did to what she should have done. She lets us get in her head into what happened and what could of happened. The authors point of view in this book is first person. It is very important and it helps readers understand more of the story. It also helps us imagine things because we see it as if we are there .Her choice in writing in first person really lets us capture the true meaning behind the life of a video girl. We fell her pain, regret and go through everything she goes through as if it was us living that kind of life. I loved this book it is a great book inside the life of a video girl. It lets me see things in a different way. When I see all the pretty girls on TV and wonder how you end up in a video and stuff like that I wonder. But reading this book shows me that sometimes the perfect life you dream for could be the worst thing for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    She's telling it like it its!

    Why are some reviewers really mad at Karrine Steffans? Because she was the only 'hoe' to the stars or she was the one who talked? This book is not only a confirmation of what an abused woman can put herself through without proper intervention but tells what I've thought about the hip hop industry in the past 10--15 years how much misogyny runs rampant! It proves that much of the degragation of women in this industry isnt 'just entertainment'. The stars that Ms Steffans has catered to have just as many serious issues as she does. The only thing is, people seem willing to worship them and hold them up as 'role models' in spite of this. Its almost too easy to hate on Karrine just because she splashes cold water in our faces when it comes to revealing the dark sides of these married and attached celebs, who should have been faithful to their partners in the 1st place. Wake up & dont shoot the messenger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    Just A High Priced Whore

    Karrine should be ashamed of herself. I don't understand how this book is supposed to help young girls not get in the 'game' or see what the 'game' is consisted of. As far as I'm concerned, This book is all about revenge another way for her to make some quick cash. All Karrine did was degrade herself and made herself look like a high priced WHORE! FOOL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Reccommended if you're willing to see the lesson

    This book definatley has sex, drugs and videos. What it also has a hard and sad beggining. Karrine dishes about her tantalizing life but also lets you into the events of her childhood that brought her to the self destructive path she chose. Many may chose to see this as a raunchy sex filled biography, but I truly believe it has a message and a moral. It is not easy to be honest with oneself when living such an emotional rollercoaster, much less about extra personal details in one's life to millions of strangers, Karrine has done that and I do believe she has done it to deterr the young women of today from falling into the glamorous trap of show business. I commend her honesty to herself and the reading audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5