Customer Reviews for

Confessions of a Video Vixen

Average Rating 4
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Moving

"Confessions." is such an amazing story. I think it was very courageous of Karrine Steffans to share her struggles; this story needed to be known. Karrine tells in "Confession..." how she started off like anybody body else except to an abusive mother and for the most pa...
"Confessions." is such an amazing story. I think it was very courageous of Karrine Steffans to share her struggles; this story needed to be known. Karrine tells in "Confession..." how she started off like anybody body else except to an abusive mother and for the most part absent father. She ran away and to make money to support herself. She meets rapper Kool G Rap while stripping and her life just becomes a roller coaster of hardships. Her story has really opened my eyes. I like so many girls my age (15 yrs) dream of being rich and famous. Going to lavish parties, wearing designer shoes and clothes, the whole bit. But what "Confessions." taught me that having those aspirations are good but at what price? One chapter called "I Choose Life" was especially moving because Karrine turned to God in her time of despair to get her life back on the right track, which made me realize I need to be more in tune with my faith and so should everyone else. "Confession." was not only a good story to read but it also talks about celebrities we love and sometime envy. I learned how people who seem to have everything material wise, are empty emotionally and unhappy. To conclude, Confessions of a Video Vixen is a good story about trials, tribulations and hardships and could really inspire people like parts of the book did me.

posted by aj95 on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I Truly Pity Karrine

I've always wanted to read this book, but I was too chicken to buy it until now.

What can I say about it? Well I feel very sorry for the life Karrine had to live. Physical, mental, and emotional abuse to the point of having to run away is the worst thing that can ha...
I've always wanted to read this book, but I was too chicken to buy it until now.

What can I say about it? Well I feel very sorry for the life Karrine had to live. Physical, mental, and emotional abuse to the point of having to run away is the worst thing that can happen to a person IMO, but this is not why I pity her.

Back to the book itself. The writing was choppy and sometimes confusing. It felt like I was reading something that a fourth grader wrote. Things were repeated over and over like she had to remind the reader of what just happened. That got annoying.

Now to the reason why I pity Karrine Steffans. Two words: child abuser! How in God's name was this woman blessed with such a beautiful child to only abandon him for months at a time while she pursued a life of sex, drugs, and hip hop?

Plus I can't stand needy women who always have their hands out for men to help them when they could (if they truly wanted to) pull themselves out and get on with their life. I almost felt like Karrine felt entitled to the money, cars, and homes that those rappers, NBA stars, and music moguls paid for.

What exactly had she done to earn all of that? Nothing substantial I can tell you that.

I don't recommend this book. It's shallow and vapid and while Steffans says she's writing it for those young women who want to get into the business I can't help, but feel like she's only doing this to deter future competition.

Hey Karrine your hayday has come and gone! Time to wrap it up and go home to your child!

posted by Tina-Bee on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Moving

    "Confessions." is such an amazing story. I think it was very courageous of Karrine Steffans to share her struggles; this story needed to be known. Karrine tells in "Confession..." how she started off like anybody body else except to an abusive mother and for the most part absent father. She ran away and to make money to support herself. She meets rapper Kool G Rap while stripping and her life just becomes a roller coaster of hardships. Her story has really opened my eyes. I like so many girls my age (15 yrs) dream of being rich and famous. Going to lavish parties, wearing designer shoes and clothes, the whole bit. But what "Confessions." taught me that having those aspirations are good but at what price? One chapter called "I Choose Life" was especially moving because Karrine turned to God in her time of despair to get her life back on the right track, which made me realize I need to be more in tune with my faith and so should everyone else. "Confession." was not only a good story to read but it also talks about celebrities we love and sometime envy. I learned how people who seem to have everything material wise, are empty emotionally and unhappy. To conclude, Confessions of a Video Vixen is a good story about trials, tribulations and hardships and could really inspire people like parts of the book did me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Loved It!!!

    This was about more than I expected. I fell in love with this one and now im reading her next book "the vuxen diaries" Both of these books are amazing & i dont say that about too many books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Ugh!!

    Don't waste ur money ..is all I'm going to say

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Love it

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Great book

    I loved the book. It was definitly a page turner.. The 2nd book wasnt as good as this, it was just okay. But this book was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Umm

    Wow thats all i can really say.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Ariel ballard

    Great way on giving me the details on th guys never knew gurl;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great tell all

    But the dedication is ro her son !! Unbelievable.. but overall 5 STARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Heartshattered

    Orbas guardian angel stood in the corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Blanca from s

    Blanca why u cryin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Orba

    (I d to go somewhere.) She sits on the railing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Honest!

    I think Ms. Steffans is a brave and honest woman. Who among us are willing to share our life stories that shows our not so-good deeds. I don't think I am at that point to be so open.

    To the men who hate that she told her story, get over it! This lady is not obligated to keep your cheating a secret.

    JKM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Couldn't Put the Book Down!

    I bought and read this book all within a few hours. I literally could not put it down! Very detailed and confessing! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Queen bee

    Women r upset they didnt do it first with guts and make money! Never the less 40 something partners a 1 woman still aint right, brains and beauty needed quick money,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Hime

    I read this book twice and it was very good. Regardless of what peopke say about you, you came out strong. I loved it looking forward to reading your other materials.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    If you know anything about the streets you will love this book

    It took me a while but i finally read this book please belive the hype.. she tells it all from her abusive childhood to her abusive motherhood and marriage and how she had to learn how to adapt to the streets to survive, and it wa the oldest trick in the book as she would describe it. By going into detail how she made her quick come up in the industry its a hustlers book real talk..and it the end of the book you can only respect it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    MUST READ!!! If your at all interested in pure entertainment.

    I was hooked. Started and finished this book in one day, I was surprised how disgusting I found Karrine to be, but yet how absolutely interested in her life I was! I was both shocked, and intrigued by her story. Gives me a whole new outlook on the hip hop industry! Definitely a fun and decent summer day read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Like a train wreck..it's hard to look away

    I went into this book with an open mind....I found myself unable to stop reading however feeling sick to my stomach at the same time. Her life is sad and empty...I suppose with a start the way she had one can only assume she'd be nothing more than a whore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Enlightening

    I am so amazed about what goes on in the lives of the rich and famous. The media would have us believe that the glamours life is what people should aspire to. Her story just proves looks can be deceiving. This woman has gone through a lot then most people and has come out on the other side. Many people never make it to the other side. Well they do but not the side I'm talking about. This book was a good read. About the objection of her naming names. Well if you did nothing to be ashamed of then you would not have to be concerned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hungry for more!

    I just finished Karrine Steffan's book, Confessions of a Video Vixen. I'm looking forward to The Vixen Diaries, which I ordered and should be here tomorrow. Karrine's style of truth-sharing is similar to mine, which is refreshing for me as a tell-all author. However, she held back on releasing any details that would hint to the true identity of the character she named "Papa." I have a character in my story that wished to be anonymous, so I gave her an alias as well, but I shared the details of our affair; in my opinion, I shared more of my protected character than Karrine shared about "Papa."

    However, I enjoyed her story; I pray to meet Karrine and get my books autographed. After hearing her version of life with Kook G Rap, I am so grateful that I've never purchased any of his albums. Karrine's Confessions is about a 200 page book; short but full of so much shocking details. As a reader, I can see that many of her memories have been forgotten, due to trauma and drug usage; but Karrine captured enough to paint a vivid picture of her battles! I look forward to her future works! She has inspired me to want to pick up the pace, in helping other young women tell/write/publish their battle stories! Remember, every life is a story that needs to be told!

    Kevin R. Johnson, aka: Kevin 6X, author of Psychological War: The Battles of a Young BlackMan, available at www.bn.com, www.kevin6x.com.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7