Customer Reviews for

Confessions of an Economic Hit Man

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

How could anyone give this less than five stars?

This book is a fantastic read - fast-pasted, adventurous, informative, and courageous. I wish this was required reading for people of all ages to learn about the corruption and greed that fuels the international banking system and U.S. 'corporatocracy,' and what we can ...
This book is a fantastic read - fast-pasted, adventurous, informative, and courageous. I wish this was required reading for people of all ages to learn about the corruption and greed that fuels the international banking system and U.S. 'corporatocracy,' and what we can do as citizens of the world to help create a better future. Sometimes Perkins beats himself up a bit, but I think that's understandable given the role he played in supporting this system. In all, I found it to be a highly enjoyable and enlightening book.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What confessions?

If John Perkins wants us to believe he has written a confessional, I didn't find much that he confessed. He also wants us to believe he has written an explosive expose. But I didn't find either bombs or blast. According to Perkins there is a huge (non)conspiracy wi...
If John Perkins wants us to believe he has written a confessional, I didn't find much that he confessed. He also wants us to believe he has written an explosive expose. But I didn't find either bombs or blast. According to Perkins there is a huge (non)conspiracy within the U.S.government, operating through large international corporations and the World Bank, to create the appearance of economic incentives to build large infrastructure projects for foreign governments. The trick is to convince the foreign government that the project(s) will create a sufficient return on investment, but in reality, the projects will never perform well enough to ever repay the vast loans. But rather than call the loans, the U.S, like a mafia don, calls for favors instead. That enables the U.S. to build an empire without holding the actual ground of the countries conquered. If the foreign government fails to cooperate, then 'jackals' are sent to either gain the desired cooperation, or overthrow the government by whatever means necessary, including assassinating world leaders. And if that fails, the U.S. Army will make the final arrangements by conquering the hapless country, and installing a puppet government. Of course Perkins offers no direct evidence of any of this, other than to allude to the history of Central and South America, and the current events (and Halliburton) in Iraq. What I found remarkable about the book was Perkins' desire to portray himself as a reluctant victim. He admits that he understood completely that he was the initial 'hit man,' albeit through the economic subterfuge built into his proposals. Then after thirty-some years of doing their bidding, cashing in, and looking for more, he finally found his conscience, and wrote this book in spite of the threats against him should he do so. And now, at age 60, he wants us to believe he has finally awakened to the humanity of the world; that he finally 'gets it.' Though I might be less skeptical had he not accumulated and kept so much wealth that he now resides in one of the most affluent places in America. And that his new-found values motivated him, not to give to charity, but to write a for-profit book. I happen to agree that the U.S. government is becoming ever more beholden to international corporations. I just don't find that notion particularly new.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    Confessions of an economic hit man

    Excellent, very informative and an eye opener

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Confessions of An Economic Hit Man is filled with action on ever

    Confessions of An Economic Hit Man is filled with action on every page.  It is extremely fast paced, and hard to put down.  It gives insight on the greed and corruption that consumes the international banking system.  I would highly recommend this book for those who enjoy reading about about scandals within the U.S. government.     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    This book is incredible. As a young adult i can attest to the fa

    This book is incredible. As a young adult i can attest to the fact that a majority of people are not aware of the corruption and greed that fuels the American economy. Although Perkins has a habit of throwing himself a pity party, the book is filled with gripping stories of his travels and meetings with some very important people. Ultimately, I found this book to be a page turner and very insightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Confessions of an Economic Hit Man is so unbelievable that it¿s

    Confessions of an Economic Hit Man is so unbelievable that it’s entirely believable. An economic hit man? A guy dashing around the world and inflating loan estimates in order to leave countries in debt to the US? Wielding economic influence in order to build a reserve of countries who have no choice but defend us? Helping a country build themselves up only to take advantage of them? No way! But like I said, it’s so unbelievable that it’s believable.
    I saw this listed as a recommended book by the Tattered Cover, so I knew it had to at least be decent without even reading the jacket. At first, I was a little unsure about where the book was going because the author, John Perkins, was groaning about his privileged upbringing and high-powered connections, so I thought, “Oh, he’s one of those guys.” BUT, because he at least recognized that he had said privileges, I knew he was off to a good start.. And I’m glad I stuck it out because I learned a lot and the author had the good sense to show remorse later on. You know, after  he figured out all of the awful things that occurred in part due to his actions (but not after spending years battling his conscience and raking in millions).




    Regardless, the book is extremely intriguing. He spends a lot of time blaming (while accepting his part in it) the “corporatocracy” for how it is ruining lives worldwide. He’s anti-Reagan and pro-Carter, which is evident in his explanations of the Panama Canal and oil dependence. Some of what he talks about (assassinations, the Panama Canal treaties, OPEC, etc.) are so sensational that I spent hours researching the conflicts he brought up. But it’s definitely worth it.




    Anyone interested in international relations, the economy or democracy should read Confessions of an Economic Hit Man. Even if you don’t agree with the author, the issues that he brings up are very pertinent to today’s current events. I spent a lot of time doing my own research based on things that were mentioned in the book, and I can honestly say that I have a better understanding of how the international economy works now than I did before. And even if you aren’t inspired to share the knowledge, it’s information that you cannot un-know and ignore. So, go learn something!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Eye opener but...

    It was definitely an eye opener to some of the secretive things that are going on without the public's knowledge. But are shrouded with the cloak of 'for the greater good.' It's a definite read for everyone. You just have to skip over the 'self blaming' parts here and there, and the self promoting of Mr. Perkins' own non-profit organizations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Confessions of an Economic Hit Man

    This book is very interesting although there are many criticisms about it. I like how it illustrates the government using the truth and not just the usual lies that we always hear. Many of the events in the book seem a bit exaggerated so it makes it hard to believe that they all actually happened. I think that it is great that although he was threatened and offered money NOT to write this book, he was able to complete the novel and it turned out to be a success.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    The Sad Fact

    Some of the reviews for this book are as absurd as they claim the book to be. The sad thing is that people don't want to believe that this country is unfairly put up on a pedestal. It sucks to find out that the government you worship unconditionally may be screwing the rest of the world over. It's one mans' account and should be taken as that. Stop crying you conservative babies and remove your lips from Bush's bush long enough to think outside what the adminitsrtaion has been telling us forever. 'Dissent is the highest form of patriotism.' -Thomas Jefferson How about questioning the government more, and authors less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Subtract a Star if You Live in a Red State...

    Reading the previous reviews, I was impressed by the wide variety of emotions stirred by this book. As for myself, I was taken by the premise: the US Government uses the World Bank and International Monetary Fund to 'enslave' third-world countries by loaning money to pay US construction companies to improve infrastructure. When the desired economic effect never materializes (which is always, since the initial economic projections were inflated anyway), the loan is defaulted and as a result the country's government falls under the control of the US Government. Those who oppose this system inevitably suffer fatal 'accidents' or have their country invaded by the US military. It sounds like an Oliver Stone movie, but Perkins backs it up with enough data and research to make it plausible. Reading about real historical events in this perspective was very interesting, the best part of the book in fact. My problems with the book were much the same as the reviewers who preceded me. Like a Financial Forrest Gump, Perkins appears in too many world-changing events and meets (secretly) with too many powerful world leaders and shadowy rebel leaders. I have a strong feeling many of the events were dramatized, exaggerated, or completely fictionalized to enhance the story. The terms 'Economic Hit Man' and 'Jackal' are just too unwieldy or plain laughable for me to believe that they were really used in the context provided. Frankly, the whole story reeks with that particularly egotistical narcissistic stench that pervades the self-important Baby Boomer generation. I still recommend this book just for its historical perspective, but don't expect greatness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    What Everyone Doesn't Know

    I was most amazed by the whole story to each individual instance. The fact that there is such an organized system to the EHM lifestyle is both deeply disturbing and tragically pathetic all at once. I find it hard to comprehend such a well developed system to trap countries into life-long debt that will serve as leverage for a global empire. This book opened my eyes to a variety of situations and events that I had no idea even exsisted, much less were all started by a greedy organization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    critical for every concerned human.

    This book is amazing as far as letting us think critically.You don't have to take him at his word or even believe him,but it is damn time to find the answers to the chaos in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Courage & Inspiration for Our Times

    I have just finished reading Confessions of an Economic Hitman by John Perkins. I am so very appreciative of his courage and honesty in publishing this very important book for our times. I have been involved in his incredible organization, Dream Change, and been inspired by John, his vision and all his books for many years. Having said that, this latest of his books emanates a power all its own. I have recommended it to my family, friends, colleagues and to some of the independent booksellers here in Canada to add to their list of `must haves¿ if they have not already done so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2