BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I know it's really long, but please take the time to read:)

Kay, so these are the best books i have ever read in my entire life, and i've read ALOT of books:) Whenever i try to compare any other book to these books it makes the other book seem small, unimportant and not worth my time to have even a passing thought about them in ...
Kay, so these are the best books i have ever read in my entire life, and i've read ALOT of books:) Whenever i try to compare any other book to these books it makes the other book seem small, unimportant and not worth my time to have even a passing thought about them in the presense of these wonderful character changing stories. My journey with Richard and Kahlan has been filled with smiles, tears and heartfelt feelings and i am sad to see it end. These books have meaning beyond measure and feel more important than anything i have ever experienced. These books took me to new heights of excitement and life as i shared everything i had through words and paper and embraced everything they had through the book as well. I feel Terry Goodkind just used a book as a tool, a passageway to the stunning force of life. These books were SO much more than a mere ocupation of my time. I rate these books with a rate off the scale not because of the amazing story, but through the feelings they represented and the meaning they stood for. I shout out to everyone not because of the touching characters, or the skill the writer has, but for the meaningful base of this story and everything they stood for. I shout out because of the importantness of everything this story, this LIFE shares with the reader. These books are so much bigger than a STORY to experience, they are a LIFE to live with pride and love. This story didn't dig deeper in my heart than anyone ever has with the amazing romance,excitement, plot, and everything else amazing it possesses, it taught me to open up and be proud with the powerful meaning just behind the beautiful cover. I don't know how to better explain this to you so i guess you're just gonna have to come close, brace yourself, and open the cover to catch a glimpse of what this story holds dear inside:) read these books, and experience the otherworldly embrace of life.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Goodkind wrote himself into a corner and thus a formulaic ending

Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats ...
Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats enemies by using his mind, ends up just unleashing magic to solve the situation.

It's a major disappointment to fans who have paid for his last 5 books (all mediocre at best) to see how Goodkind took the ultiamte in lazy approach to neatly wrap up all the threads while still leaving himself room to write in a new series in the Darksword model.

Only the first half of the book, where Richard still didn't have his gift, was readable. The entire 2nd half was just Goodkind rushing through all the necessary set pieces to wrap up all the loose ends like Shota vs. Six, the pristine ungifted, the Order, and the chimes all together.

Anyone who has read more than a few books could have seen the ending coming from a mile away.

Borrow this book from a library. Read it, then return the book in digust.

Hopefully, disappointing sales will prompt Goodkind to put a little effort into his writing in the future, but I assume his royalties from the TV series will keep him lazy and happy for a long time.

posted by Plato90s on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    Goodkind wrote himself into a corner and thus a formulaic ending

    Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats enemies by using his mind, ends up just unleashing magic to solve the situation.<BR/><BR/>It's a major disappointment to fans who have paid for his last 5 books (all mediocre at best) to see how Goodkind took the ultiamte in lazy approach to neatly wrap up all the threads while still leaving himself room to write in a new series in the Darksword model.<BR/><BR/>Only the first half of the book, where Richard still didn't have his gift, was readable. The entire 2nd half was just Goodkind rushing through all the necessary set pieces to wrap up all the loose ends like Shota vs. Six, the pristine ungifted, the Order, and the chimes all together.<BR/><BR/>Anyone who has read more than a few books could have seen the ending coming from a mile away.<BR/><BR/>Borrow this book from a library. Read it, then return the book in digust.<BR/><BR/>Hopefully, disappointing sales will prompt Goodkind to put a little effort into his writing in the future, but I assume his royalties from the TV series will keep him lazy and happy for a long time.

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Author knows no other plots

    The plot in each of these books revolves around richard or khalan being held captive. This book doesnt deviate from the same plot although more of the characters are being held captive. TG knows no other plot. What a boring series. Had I known this series was all about being imprisoned I wouldnt have started reading this. And the long winded preachings at such unrealistic situations is tiring. Go read Wheel of Time, TG has a lot to learn from it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Terrible end to such a promising series

    For years Goodkind has been sabotaging the SoT series by replacing character and plot with some crass and unsubtle life philosophy. `Confessor¿ is a terrible book. The writing is crude and given to endlessly repetitive rants. Static, two-dimensional characters and woven together so loosely, that Goodkind has to tie the threads off in increasingly erratic ways as the story thrashes around in its death throes. `The beast¿ - made much off in previous books - is destroyed so quickly and easily, I had to reread the paragraph to grasp its significance. Six is similarly dispatched and the biggest villain of the lot dies in a way that brings new meaning to the word `anticlimax¿. Goodkind has a very bad habit of using magic mumbo-jumbo to qualify implausible and unreasonably favourable events and doesn¿t hesitate to warp the reality of the story in his self-interest. After hundreds of pages of rambling conversation with the author, endlessly and obviously repeated over and over again, the last threads are cut and the reader is presented with an ugly tapestry so full of knots and holes it looks like it was woven by a monkey with no thumbs. It should never have been published and probably wouldn¿t have been, if it were not the last book in the unfathomably popular Sword of Truth Series. It¿s true that Goodkind¿s the boss, but a novel should be about the writing and the reader. Goodkind could repeat the phrase: ¿you¿re a sucker for buying this book.¿ 30,000 times - it¿s his right, but it wouldn¿t BE right. If he wants to talk about humanity and wisdom and making the most of our time on earth, he should write a newsletter and give me back the 8 hours of my life I wasted with `Chainfire¿. Although, as I understand it that would be a violation of Wizard¿s Rule #648: `No refunds, chumps.¿

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Oops

    Go read the wheel of time, its worlds better. Unless you like reading about 50+ fictional rape scenes...then this is the series for you. I wish i had stopped after book 1.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Could not finish reading it, it was so bad

    I have read many hundreds of books in my life. Of all of those, only two have I stopped in the middle of and had no interest whatsoever in reading to completion. Terry Goodkind’s Confessor is the second. Mr. Goodkind must have been extremely depressed when he wrote this book, which makes Confessor rather difficult to read. He drug out too many problems over too long a time with a quick fix at the end for everything. There are issues the main characters faced that existed for 3 or 4 books (I lost track exactly)! Then, of course, there are the philosophy lessons. Obviously the author’s main reason for writing the last several books in the series was to impart upon the world his religious and philosophical views. Five pages of philosophy lecture? Give me a break. I loved Wizard’s First Rule, in fact it is one of my favorite books of all time. Terry Goodkind lost his way towards the end I am afraid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    VERY disappointing..

    I ended up being extremely dissatisfied with this particular final book of the collection. I stumbled upon Wizards first Rule a long time ago in a tiny second hand bookshop and had been instantly hooked on it. The initial few books have been extraordinary. I don't know what went down after Faith of the Fallen. I really feel like Terry Goodkind made the decision which he didn't need to create a grasping tale. The subsequent couple of books were rehash of the items we currently learned.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    WOULD HAVE RATHER STUCK MY HEAD IN LIME

    The last few books were starting to really upset me and the books were getting thinner and taking less time to read. Should have been my first clue that Mr. Goodkind was running out of steam. I started reading this series when it first came out when I was 15. Half my life of reading ended in a disappointment worse than ending my marriage engagement. What a total waste. I should have stopped at faith of the fallen cause that's where I started to really lose my interest but kept reading cause the impact of the first book gave me such chills as only a teen today might feel after reading the twilight series.....another useless waste of good trees. But being older and wiser I've moved on. I have to ask, though. "Mr. Goodkind, what was that all about and why would you let obviously non-appriciative readers of your books ruin the first so badly in screen form that I watched the first five minutes of "Legend of the Seeker" to know that it was utter dung. Anyone who sees it and then wants to read the book Wizard's First Rule will feel cheated and lied to. For everyone out there who just loved the tv crap you obviously aren't an admirer of the written word. The last few books of this series were a total let down. But for Wizard's First Rule, Stone of Tears, Blood of the Fold, Temple of the Winds, and Soul of the Fire, those in the first part of the series, will forever remain close to my heart. I recommend getting an ingrown toenail pulled out than force anyone to read past Faith of the Fallen.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    terry. What's wrong with you?

    my advice to anyone who is looking for a GREAT book. read the first one, 'Wizards First Rule', and pretend it's the only one. it's one of the greatest books ever written, as far as fantasy is concerned. to terry, read '.......first rule' again, then try and explain what happen with the rest of them. you slowly destroyed my favorite character.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1