Customer Reviews for

Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome finish to the story started in Wizard's First Rule

Perhaps many people were let down in the reading of the series because they misunderstood the reason for the books. I can't disagree there. I thought I was getting into something very different, but in the end I came to understand and I found it edifying, though perhaps...
Perhaps many people were let down in the reading of the series because they misunderstood the reason for the books. I can't disagree there. I thought I was getting into something very different, but in the end I came to understand and I found it edifying, though perhaps confusing (but probably not confused).

Perhaps some were let down by the thickness of the philosophy, perhaps others by the values of the philosophy. I can't blame these readers, because it sure was difficult for me to read some parts. But I did read all of them.

The books, as it turns out, are about the spirit of man. They indicate that given the courage to do what you feel is right, you have to do it. And being wily helps. And while education may help as well, some things can be learned only by intuition and if you don't have that, you're a machine that someone else molds. The world could do with fewer organic machines. And in this book, Richard eradicates these machines in a very surprising way.

And the books show how well loved and influential a man can be in any of the situations that Richard had found himself in. In this book, taunting Jagang, he keeps the final match's score even until the last period, and demonstrates Jagang the Just's justice, which even incites a battle amidst the siege. Still no one knows Richard's real name.

And this book very well ties the world of dragons and magic to our own. And it even describes at least two of the covers of the books in this series, as a nice touch.

If you have suffered through all the previous books--and were able to read them fully--you probably have what it takes to finish this series, and you will probably be satisfied. And it may even be a good book to begin the series with in order to better understand the reason behind the storytelling.

If you didn't like the rest of the Sword of Truth, you probably won't enjoy this book either. Personally, I was frustrated in the reading of some of the books, such as Soul of the Fire and Faith of the Fallen, but in my estimation, each of all 12 (including Debt of Bones) progresses the story and has something of a lesson to learn.

posted by d-f-schmidt on August 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Goodkind wrote himself into a corner and thus a formulaic ending

Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats ...
Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats enemies by using his mind, ends up just unleashing magic to solve the situation.

It's a major disappointment to fans who have paid for his last 5 books (all mediocre at best) to see how Goodkind took the ultiamte in lazy approach to neatly wrap up all the threads while still leaving himself room to write in a new series in the Darksword model.

Only the first half of the book, where Richard still didn't have his gift, was readable. The entire 2nd half was just Goodkind rushing through all the necessary set pieces to wrap up all the loose ends like Shota vs. Six, the pristine ungifted, the Order, and the chimes all together.

Anyone who has read more than a few books could have seen the ending coming from a mile away.

Borrow this book from a library. Read it, then return the book in digust.

Hopefully, disappointing sales will prompt Goodkind to put a little effort into his writing in the future, but I assume his royalties from the TV series will keep him lazy and happy for a long time.

posted by Plato90s on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    Ending...Not So Great

    It seems like more than half of the series was just so so. I honestly thought that the ending of Confessor was going to have more of a dramatic ending. It seemed like Terry Goodkind just got bored and decided to make an ending that is so boring! It's just a few steps away from having the Creator come down and sovle all the problems then and there. But other than that, it's pretty good.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Let Down

    I was very let down by the ending of the entire series. I agree that anyone interested in reading The Sword of Truth should read 'Wizards First Rule' and stop there. Confessor has its good bits, but I skimmed through to read the parts I thought I would like and they weren't much. After all that Kahlan went through from Book one I was a little upset to find that everyone had forgotten all about it in three whole books?!?! And the girl did go through a lot! I just didn't think it was fair (And why the whole Nicci part? It's as if T,G was conflicted about whom Richard should REALLY end up with). There didn't seem to be enough emotion coming from characters, just a lot of explaining and convincing. Right after I finished Confessor I picked up Wizards first Rule again and the charaters (the style of writing even) just seemed so different. I wish I had stopped at the first one. Well, all in all, they weren't that bad. They were entertaining.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Read this just so you can complete the series.

    This completes the downward spiral of what started as a very entertaining series. I kept waiting for that last burst of energy but it never came.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    It would have been a better book if it was edited

    I have read all the sword of truth books and although it to had a good conclusion, Mr. Goodkind could have cut some of the anti religion and anti communism speeches. The dialogue of the character was dragging because of this. Several themes were repeated over and over again. At least Mr. Goodkind knows when to end a series (several other authors should take note).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    Mostly Good

    There are some very good things about this book. Lots of action lots of things from various parts of the series tie together. The conclusion is, overall, a pretty good wrapup. I got the feeling, though, that because he's been so successful, Mr Goodkind's publisher gave him a little too much free rein. Too much pontificating, too many long, boring sections that needed editing, and a few far-fetched plot elements make this an uneven book, though most of it was very good. Overall, a good series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    'Word Merchant'

    The story is really good but Mr. Goodkind repeats himself over and over and over. One third of this book was top notch when he was into the story. The rest of it, well was hash and re-hash.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Great beginning -- greatly dissappointing ending

    The first few books were great. I couldn't wait to read the next one. But it seems like the author wrote the first book, sold a bunch, wrote another, sold a bunch more, and then allowed his ego to grow into arrogance. As the series goes on, each book is a little less engossing than the last, and the author's ego is clearly hurting the quality. He endlessly rants and raves and inserts his personal views into the stories, then spends pages and pages and pages repeating them over and over and over. I got it the first time ... no need to tell me 100 more times. Like saying them to the readers enough times will ever get us to buy his views, or that terrible ending. The publisher needs to keep the firt 6 books, then have a real author finish the series, one who cares about the readers - at least enough to understand that it's the readers who buy the books - and making them feel like idiots doesn't win you fans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Confessor

    The second half of this series was not as good as the first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    book went down hill.

    It is worth reading only to find out the ending. I must say the ending was very rushed. He must had to finish the book quickly. I'm sorry to see the two world ending. To have the world that believes in a creator to have a world without an after life, or miracles (magic). And the other world to have both, makes absolutely no sense. The beginning book of the series made me expect more from this author. Terry Goodkind was a very good author. He should not let his prejudice, or (anger) change the magic of his writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    swiss chees ending

    I've read all the SoT series and have to say the end was pretty lame. Too much preaching about the differences between, basically, socialism and demorcracy. What about richards and kahlans confessor son? For all they go through the ending was pretty unsatisfying. Caras and general meifferts wedding... really? Who cares? I felt really bad for Nicci and the lack of justice. what a letdown. With how much I loved Richard and Kahlan and what they went through I just didn't feel the end did them any justice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Disappointing Ending

    I started reading this series almost 12 years ago and have followed it ever since. 'I even have a Giclee print of the cover of Soul of the Fire'. All that being said I was extremely disappointed with the ending of this book. It was a bit too simple and very anti-climactic. I was also upset by the very negative depiction of faith in general. Mr. Goodkind raises some thought provoking points about the pitfalls of blind faith especially when it is fueled by hate disguised as religious devotion, but in the end turns his argument to a broad condemnation of all faith as ignorance without much weight behind his arguments. As a counterpoint, I would argue that faith has often empowered people to live their lives to the fullest, not detracted from their actions like a millstone around the neck. Was the faith of Mother Teresa such a millstone? If you are a long time fan of the series you will likely be disappointed by the last 100 pages or so, but will likely enjoy the rest of the book. To me it was as disappointing as the ending of The Pillars of Creation, the only other book in the series that I am not a big fan of.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Wonderful series, below average ending

    From the beginning of this series I was spellbound. But, by the end of this Final book, the spell was broken and not even Richard Rahl could bring me back from the depths of my disappointment, not even with the Boxes of Orden, or the Sword of Truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Goodkind is an excellent author and storyteller. I have been reading this series for about seven years now, and I can say that reading his books always leaves me exhausted, a sure sign that I've enjoyed a book. However, I'm afraid that Mr. Goodkind lost me a little in the end of this saga. It seemed to me that he is so caught up inside his own world that he lost sight of the audience. The book was good, but struck me more as philosophy than storytelling. I miss the intelligent excitement from the first book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Ending let down

    While I have enjoyed the entire series, the ending to the series was very anticlimatic. Here we are at the end of everything and then it just ends. I was very disappointed in the way it just ended so fast.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    An interesting end to the sword of truth series, After reading it I was a bit let down by the quick way in which it was concluded. The book built up 500 pages of good writing and the conclusion was just a little rushed. I dont know if it was the editor's fault (but I'm sure it might have been they do tend to butcher work to keep it down to size) It skipped a whole lot of narrative like suddenly the character was already there at the location after being miles away and about to travel. That works for movies but for books it's a bit of a cop out, I like the details that makes books interesting. All in all I liked the sword of truth series it was well written and engaging but I feel this last book shouldn't have been so rushed at the end. If your looking for a whole lot of things to be revealed or completed you'll be disappointed some plot lines were totally skipped. All in all it felt like the average ending of a blockbuster movie with a few tidbits thrown in for emotional response. Judge for yourself :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2